Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lost its way

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Stayed at this hotel in February , rated it 4/5 now can only give it 2 that's for location, still nice hotel , recent refurbishment poorly done senior management need retraining lost there way ,( one person doing the job of seven , seven doing a one man job shambles , plastic glasses around pool area were not up to standard badly stained ,look else were for the moment
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Lots to do on historic wine farm

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Good family activities - Segway tour and Eagle encounters are awesome. These are contracted out and you pay direct to the Segway or Eagle people.
Cons: Senior management need to get in there and make sure things get done properly.
Location: Lovely comfortable facilities within easy drive of Stellenbosch.
Lovely hotel in great location let down by lack of attention to detail by management. The maids and waiters are lovely people, very friendly and would do anything for you. Service is slow. But management should not let towels run out by pool two days in a row in peak season. No one is checking room refresh and turn down service. Completely random as to whether room would be serviced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best hotel I have stayed in anywhere in the world.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: EVERYTHING - utterly wonderful experience - gorgeous rooms, divine beds and bedding, massive luxurious bathrooms....cant fault it
Cons: nothing
Location: There is so much to do ON the property that you do not need to leave for a few days. Wine tasting, the spa, eating, cycling, walking
I cannot describe how outstanding this hotel is - it is an absolute MUST for any visitor to South Africa. And don't just visit the hotel - it has enormous grounds, with restaurants, a bakery, wonderful raptor rescue, and glorious walking trails.,,,not to mention the inclusion of the best breakfast on the planet. Truly, truly outstanding experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

The Stellenbosch wine estate hotel with everything

Posted Sep 26, 2016
We chose Spier because friends had previously stayed and recommended it, and with so many wine estates to choose from it seemed to offer good value for money. Staff and food were great (and the wine!) The grounds could do with a little more attention as we noticed a few dead plants in the accommodation area. Housekeeping staff could do with a little more training, just to ensure consistency, eg some days we had face cloths other days we didn't, so a few small details. Overall I would recommend Spier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Namibia

Lovely child friendly place

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and spacious.
Cons: You constantly need to login for the wi-fi - not convenient
We really enjoyed our stay. Our children loved the kids room - if your children are happy, you are happy. We were overwhelmed by the friendliness of staff - everyone, no matter where - hotel, restaurant, securities were all just so friendly!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Very average hotel - service was impersonal, room was shabby, dinner was poor. Not at all what I expected from a hotel in the wine lands
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
The hotel was great! The room was very clean & comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Joep, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we strive to achieve reviews as yours - this motivates the team so much. We do hope you will visit us again. Warm regards Joep Schoof General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Great hotel room. Front desk seems a bit too busy for the number of guests that it must handle though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Stay

Posted Mar 26, 2016
We had a great time! Our daughters loved the kids club! Beautiful, clean, friendly staff, nice food, perfect location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elie, Scotland

Beautiful grounds with lots to see and do

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: So many things t do
Cons: Nothing
Had a lovely time going walks, a nice run, a Segway Adventure which was brilliant. Wine tasting was great and overall what a fab place. Would not hesitate to return.