Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

A must!!

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: None!
Location: Wonderful wineries and fantastic drives
Brilliant..this hotel is a must! The owners take great pride in welcoming and continuing to make you feel special. The food is delicious and the meal at night was fantastic!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lost its way

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Stayed at this hotel in February , rated it 4/5 now can only give it 2 that's for location, still nice hotel , recent refurbishment poorly done senior management need retraining lost there way ,( one person doing the job of seven , seven doing a one man job shambles , plastic glasses around pool area were not up to standard badly stained ,look else were for the moment
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Lots to do on historic wine farm

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Good family activities - Segway tour and Eagle encounters are awesome. These are contracted out and you pay direct to the Segway or Eagle people.
Cons: Senior management need to get in there and make sure things get done properly.
Location: Lovely comfortable facilities within easy drive of Stellenbosch.
Lovely hotel in great location let down by lack of attention to detail by management. The maids and waiters are lovely people, very friendly and would do anything for you. Service is slow. But management should not let towels run out by pool two days in a row in peak season. No one is checking room refresh and turn down service. Completely random as to whether room would be serviced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An Amazing Place

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
This is an extensive property, with a working eco farm and winery. Amazing art collection, delicious wines, and so many activities to explore all a short walk from the room. I would highly recommend this as your base for exploring Stellenbosch. Looking forward to visiting again...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely atmosphere in this Winery setting.

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed staying at The Spier, this was my 3rd visit. Very friendly staff and good quality food. Although room was a good size and the bed was comfortable the desk and seating was not particularly comfortable. The wifi was OK but not brilliant for downloading much beyond e-mails, large files were very slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best hotel I have stayed in anywhere in the world.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: EVERYTHING - utterly wonderful experience - gorgeous rooms, divine beds and bedding, massive luxurious bathrooms....cant fault it
Cons: nothing
Location: There is so much to do ON the property that you do not need to leave for a few days. Wine tasting, the spa, eating, cycling, walking
I cannot describe how outstanding this hotel is - it is an absolute MUST for any visitor to South Africa. And don't just visit the hotel - it has enormous grounds, with restaurants, a bakery, wonderful raptor rescue, and glorious walking trails.,,,not to mention the inclusion of the best breakfast on the planet. Truly, truly outstanding experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

The Stellenbosch wine estate hotel with everything

Posted Sep 26, 2016
We chose Spier because friends had previously stayed and recommended it, and with so many wine estates to choose from it seemed to offer good value for money. Staff and food were great (and the wine!) The grounds could do with a little more attention as we noticed a few dead plants in the accommodation area. Housekeeping staff could do with a little more training, just to ensure consistency, eg some days we had face cloths other days we didn't, so a few small details. Overall I would recommend Spier.