Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Excellent as Always

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing, perfect.
I must admit to being biased as this is our sixth stay at Spier Hotel, though that in itself is a strong recommendation. From the moment we drove up, having flown in from Singapore that morning, we felt completely at home. The greeting from the porters and the front desk was so welcoming and all details of our stay were correctly recorded, including the spa experience for my wife and three daughters that had been booked in advance. We requested a booking at a retaurant in Stellenbosh and had a couple of other questions for the frot desk during our stay and they always got back to us quickly. The rooms are so big and airy and excellently furnished and the doors to an interconnecting room for the family and the extra bed for the second room were open and prepared. Breakfast is always the highlight of the stay for me and it did not let me down. Special kudos to Bridget in the dining area and Jackson, who manages to make the visit to the 'egg station' so wonderful with his ever cheerful greeting and happy wilingness to meet all of our family's needs for eggs cooked in different ways. We had one lunch at the Eight Restaurant and would recommend for the food and the ambiance as tables are set out under the trees. We stayed for four nights and were sad to move on, even though it as to the rest of our holiday. We look forward to returning on our next visit to Cape Town, hopefully later this year.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nairobi

Nice Hotel with lots of onsight activities

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Location -and the fact there is so much going on at the hotel itself
Cons: the bathrooms are very dated!
Location: So many wineries in the area!
Overall very pleasant, Food was good and the staff are very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Lindsey, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we are pleased that you enjoyed the wineries in the surrounding areas too. We are updating all our rooms and this will address your concern with your bathroom. The refurbishments will begin shortly. We hope that you will visit us again to see the differences. Warm regards, Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the Spier Leisure Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fire alarm battery was low and kept bleeping.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Despite calling about the low battery it took nearly 2 hours before they removed it at midnight. They did replace this the next day. Poor maintenance. This should not have happened.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

A must!!

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: None!
Location: Wonderful wineries and fantastic drives
Brilliant..this hotel is a must! The owners take great pride in welcoming and continuing to make you feel special. The food is delicious and the meal at night was fantastic!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lost its way

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Stayed at this hotel in February , rated it 4/5 now can only give it 2 that's for location, still nice hotel , recent refurbishment poorly done senior management need retraining lost there way ,( one person doing the job of seven , seven doing a one man job shambles , plastic glasses around pool area were not up to standard badly stained ,look else were for the moment
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

FRIENDLY , KID FRIENDLY HOTEL

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
GREAT, FRIENDLY STAFF ESPECIALLY THE BREAKFAST MANAGER BRIDGETTE. ON LAST NIGHT, WE HAD NO HOT WATER BUT THE STAFF WERE ABLE TO ARRANGE ANOTHER ROOM THE FOLLOWING MORNING TO SHOWER.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and will ensure that Bridgette is made aware of your praise. It is pleasing to read that the team assisted you with your hot water we apologise that this happened. We look forward to welcoming you back to Spier on your next holiday. Warm regards Lindsey Wallace PA to the Spier Leisure Management Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very chilled winelands experience

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great getaway in the cape winelands with the kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we love it that the children enjoy themselves in the gardens and the kidsclub. We do hope that you had a chance to relax with a glass of wine while they played. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Spier. Warm regards, Lindsey Wallace PA to the Spier Leisure Management Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Lots to do on historic wine farm

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Good family activities - Segway tour and Eagle encounters are awesome. These are contracted out and you pay direct to the Segway or Eagle people.
Cons: Senior management need to get in there and make sure things get done properly.
Location: Lovely comfortable facilities within easy drive of Stellenbosch.
Lovely hotel in great location let down by lack of attention to detail by management. The maids and waiters are lovely people, very friendly and would do anything for you. Service is slow. But management should not let towels run out by pool two days in a row in peak season. No one is checking room refresh and turn down service. Completely random as to whether room would be serviced.
3 out of 5
by Colleen

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable stay. Room was very close to hotel restaurant and the African music night's music was quite loud on the bathroom side. The room is neat and clean and bedding very comfortable and coffee and tea available in the room. The hairdryer did not fit into any of the wallplugs (or there was no adapter). The room service was excellent with a golf car on beck and call to take us anywhere on the grounds if we did not feel like walking. The window frames are in need some maintenance work. The hotel is very old. Overall I had a nice comfortable stay and with all the restaurants, tasting room, health spa and amphitheater on site and routes to run and walk there is plenty to do. For the price though I do think there is strong competition in the Franschoek/Stellenbosch/Paarl area which are less touristy and very beautiful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Solo weekend break, beautiful hotel, service mixed

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
Good location, beautiful room, comfy beds. Food in the main hotel restaurant was delightful, beautifully presented and cooked. Service at the Hoghouse restaurant was very poor. Had to wait 35 mins before being given a menu and asked if I wanted a drink. The staff at the restaurant during the day on a Monday seemed untrained, with little idea about Customer Service. So if you want to stay here for the environment and location I can highly recommend it. If high levels of staff service are important to you, I would book elsewhere.