Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, England

The Stellenbosch wine estate hotel with everything

Posted Sep 26, 2016
We chose Spier because friends had previously stayed and recommended it, and with so many wine estates to choose from it seemed to offer good value for money. Staff and food were great (and the wine!) The grounds could do with a little more attention as we noticed a few dead plants in the accommodation area. Housekeeping staff could do with a little more training, just to ensure consistency, eg some days we had face cloths other days we didn't, so a few small details. Overall I would recommend Spier.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Namibia

Lovely child friendly place

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and spacious.
Cons: You constantly need to login for the wi-fi - not convenient
We really enjoyed our stay. Our children loved the kids room - if your children are happy, you are happy. We were overwhelmed by the friendliness of staff - everyone, no matter where - hotel, restaurant, securities were all just so friendly!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Very average hotel - service was impersonal, room was shabby, dinner was poor. Not at all what I expected from a hotel in the wine lands
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
The hotel was great! The room was very clean & comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Joep, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we strive to achieve reviews as yours - this motivates the team so much. We do hope you will visit us again. Warm regards Joep Schoof General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure
5 out of 5
by Hanjo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Spier Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for the rating of your stay at Spier hotel, we sincerely appreciate the 4 stars you have given us. We hope that you will visit us again. Warm regards, Joep Schoof General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure
5 out of 5
by Hoshil

We'll be going back to the Spier...

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
What a wonderful stay, just an amazing experience. Plenty to do, from wine tasting, relaxing by pool side to the birds of prey show. Special shout out to the breakfast staff, espcially Marian!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Spier Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay with us, we will ensure that Marian is made aware of your shout out. We do hope that your travels bring you to Spier Hotel again. Warm regards Joep Schoof General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ostererlebnis

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
familienorientierte Event-Gastronomie
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Spier Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your brief review - we sincerely appreciate your feedback. Warm regards, Joep Schoof General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure
5 out of 5
by Jeanett from Charlottenlund

Skønt vinferie for hele familien

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Boede to nætter på Spier - to børn og to voksne. Stedet bød på så mange dejlige ting for børnene at det var en fornøjelse at være der med dem. Ren afslapning for de voksne. Vil til enhver tid vende tilbage. Eneste lille minus er at man ikke skal forvente at se så meget til selve vinproduktionen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Spier Hotel, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review of Spier Hotel, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed you 2 night family stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Cape Winelands visit. Warm regards Joep Schoof General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure
4 out of 5
by Marc from London

Excellent overall - recommend!

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for 2 nights as a family of 6. Signature rooms are excellent - spacious and really comfortable. Lots to do here for all ages - staff attentive and friendly and wine flowing! Definitely recommend.