Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Best hotel I have stayed in anywhere in the world.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: EVERYTHING - utterly wonderful experience - gorgeous rooms, divine beds and bedding, massive luxurious bathrooms....cant fault it
Cons: nothing
Location: There is so much to do ON the property that you do not need to leave for a few days. Wine tasting, the spa, eating, cycling, walking
I cannot describe how outstanding this hotel is - it is an absolute MUST for any visitor to South Africa. And don't just visit the hotel - it has enormous grounds, with restaurants, a bakery, wonderful raptor rescue, and glorious walking trails.,,,not to mention the inclusion of the best breakfast on the planet. Truly, truly outstanding experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, England

The Stellenbosch wine estate hotel with everything

Posted Sep 26, 2016
We chose Spier because friends had previously stayed and recommended it, and with so many wine estates to choose from it seemed to offer good value for money. Staff and food were great (and the wine!) The grounds could do with a little more attention as we noticed a few dead plants in the accommodation area. Housekeeping staff could do with a little more training, just to ensure consistency, eg some days we had face cloths other days we didn't, so a few small details. Overall I would recommend Spier.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Namibia

Lovely child friendly place

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and spacious.
Cons: You constantly need to login for the wi-fi - not convenient
We really enjoyed our stay. Our children loved the kids room - if your children are happy, you are happy. We were overwhelmed by the friendliness of staff - everyone, no matter where - hotel, restaurant, securities were all just so friendly!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Very average hotel - service was impersonal, room was shabby, dinner was poor. Not at all what I expected from a hotel in the wine lands
4 out of 5
by Olli from Virginia Beach, VA

Great Getaway

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Spier hotel complex was a beautiful, self-contained property with a river, some farm animals, raptor recovery sanctuary, vineyards, & great for wine tasting. Room with a fireplace was comfortable, quiet and with a great bed.
5 out of 5
by LIz from Cape Town & Uk

Perfect place for a quiet winter break

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely break in the winelands, food and wine delicious and staff so helpful, pleasant, polite and attentive
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
The hotel was great! The room was very clean & comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Joep, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we strive to achieve reviews as yours - this motivates the team so much. We do hope you will visit us again. Warm regards Joep Schoof General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure
5 out of 5
by Gunjan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spier hotel. South africa

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
Great two day stay. Had a nice wine tasting on site. Rooms were great. Had a great time
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback as this really motivates the team. We do hope to welcome you back to Spier on your next trip. Warm regards, Joep Schoof General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure
5 out of 5
by Hanjo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels