Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, New Zealand

Beautifully presented, comfortable, great service!

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Beautiful, comfortable rooms, great location, and great service.
I had a week long stay in a garden room - it was comfortable, beautifully decorated and presented and most importantly clean. The Walden House is in a very inviting setting with beautiful gardens and all of the home comforts you could want. The staff are very friendly and helpful, arranging transport and tours with no problem. The airport transfer was great with a very helpful friendly driver. The Walden house really is in a great location, just out of the CBD it is still central Cape Town, close to table mountain with lots of lovely cafes 2 minutes walk away, and a short taxi ride to the V & A Waterfront (50-60ZAR). I had arrived early/mid morning so had arranged to drop my bags off - when I arrived my room was ready which after 30 hours of flying I was so incredibly appreciative of. The breakfasts are lovely with plenty of options. I used the laundry service which was well priced and great. Thanks for making me feel so welcome - If I am back in Cape Town I will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by Olivia from Baltimore

Amazing

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
One of the best places I've ever stayed.
5 out of 5
by Raymond

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A pleasant stay in Cape Town

Posted Jan 16, 2016 on Hotels
A charming Victorian building with pool, modern rooms and bathrooms. Excellent breakfast was included.
4 out of 5
by Alan

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly and helpfull staff with a good breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great start to our vacation.

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
Great Service! They helped us find our way around town and arranged a local car rental which delivered the car to the Walden House. They also arranged taxi service. The Walden House was quaint and pleasant and the breakfast was superb. We loved the fresh Protea flowers in the room at the table and in the common areas.
4 out of 5
by Lindsay

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay, very comfortable and centrally located. Only downside was people outside my room at 5am chatting.
5 out of 5
by Kirsten

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Simon from Tayport

Period style in Cape Town

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
Really pleasant stay at the Walden House. Friendly helpful staff, great breakfasts with ample choice, and comfortably furnished rooms within a colonial style building. Nice and secure, it's in a convenient position for town - a short cab ride and equally close to the table mountain cable car. We enjoyed our stay here and found the Wakden House to be of excellent value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wolverley

Superb hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Great location (Kloof), near to plenty of good restaurants. Pleasant garden, and balcony. Good pool. Secure parking
Cons: Very little
Location: See other comments
Staff friendly and efficient Breakfast excellent, though service could sometimes be slow