Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Mavis from North Carolina USA

Looking forward to visit Tudor Hotel again

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was a pleasant one. I enjoyed the room as well as the staff who was very helpful to all my needs. I especially love the buffet breakfast that was offered every morning. It was a great way to start your day. This hotel had the best breakfast buffet I have seen in any hotel. The only negative thing about the hotel is I did not like their WiFi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Nice stay in the very center of Cape Town

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Furniture, location, food, price, staff.
Cons: Bathrooms.
Location: The very center of cape town. Long street is up close, Have walked to the Magic Theater.
Stayed in the Tudor Hotel in May '16. The place is in walking distance from the railroad station and from the bus terminal. The furniture is nice, the rooms are quiet, the food at the breakfast is perfect. The only complaint could be that the bathroom in my room didn't look 100% clean and tidy. That is a reason to have 4 out of 5 for hotel facilities. I've done the hike to the table mountain on my last day and the staff allowed to change and get a shower after my check out with no charge, which was a nice thing to do. The hotel has some history dating back to 18 th century, though at it's present state is a remodelled and new and is only stylized to look old. The hotel is worth the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and close to everything.

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Old world charm
Cons: Possibly cleaning service but could have been something overlooked that day.
Location: Excellant location, just around the corner from bus that gave us excess to so many places. Craft markets a few meters away, and food emporium..
The whole experience was pleasing, staff friendly and helpful, and food for breakfast was very good. There was a ceiling leak in the bathroom which was repaired whilst we were out during the day. (it's an old hotel)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilderness

Good Situation

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Situation, convenient for touring the city. Very comfortable
Cons: Reception - not friendly enough and no initiative in trying to find out about sight seeing requirements
Location: Well situated for Table Mountain, City Tour, V&A, Signal Hill, Kloof Neck, castle, district 6, Bo kaap,
Well situated, very comfortable with great beakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Live like King Henry VIII in Cape Town

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Be transported back to a Tudorian house in the heart of Greenmarket Square! Comfortable triple room with a nice view of the church and Table Mountain...not a bad view to wake up to! Breakfast was standard and sufficient, room was cool and clean, service was attentive and appreciative...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Strategically located.

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: very charming and friendly staff.
Cons: shut the bathroom windows.
Location: everything in walking distance. next to Green Market.
Only issue was the bathroom window wouldn't close and the pigeons were hanging out on the ledge. other than that, was perfect.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Dingy Sheets and soiled carpet.

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: Receptionist and kitchen staff.
Cons: Cleaner linen, towels, and maintenance of the interior and exterior.
Location: African market place close.
This hotel has changed a great deal since I last visited in 2012. The sheets and towels were not clean. They appeared to have a dirty, dingy, look to them. The carpet in the room was ragged and soiled. The tiles in the hallway were cracked. There was no air-conditioning in the room. This hotel has changed and I will not be staying there when I return to Cape Town. Totally disgusting. The only complement was the front desk receptionist and the kitchen staff. A minus one rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Perfect location with a 20min walk to most places

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Perfect location between Long Street and Greenmarket Square. Fantastic resturants neaby. 10-15mins walk to the best museums (District 6 & Slavery).
Great to support a privately owned hotel with excellent staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Accra, Ghana

Tudor Hotel needs to try much harder...

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: it was a walking distance to the Cape Town Convention Centre
Cons: keep the bathroom tiles clean with a strong detergent. Bathroom tiles had an unpleasant build up of black moss/mildew
Location: nice traditional artefacts at Green Market Square
1) I made and confirmed prior arrangements with the hotel's front desk to be picked up from the airport. I waited for close to 45minutes at the Airport and then finally gave up and picked a taxi to Tudor Hotel. 2) The entrance to the hotel was barely noticeable and I barely managed to squeeze my luggage through. 3) A portion of my wooden room floor was cracked and at night I saw a cockroach walking around my bedside lamp. 4) Wi-Fi was very unstable 5) Air-condition never worked - didn't really need it anyway 6) Bathroom was so small I could barely turn without having my body touch the walls that had a build up of mildew...a strong detergent can clean up those messy tiles 7) The water kettle in the room had a broken lid that fell right into the bathroom basin when I emptied its contents 8) Each time I stepped out of the hotel there were suspicious looking characters that made me feel unsafe 9) My initial booking was for a late check out but I was in such a hurry to leave that I changed my flight to a 12.20pm flight to Jo'burg 10. I needed a round-pin adaptor to charge my phone I had to wait till the next morning to purchase one from the shops since Tudor Hotel did not have a working adaptor.