Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Could not stay there for one night. Money waisted

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: I really don't know if I like anything about the hotel.
Cons: Relocate the hotel.
Location: Good for shopping and sight seeing of old Cape Town.
The hotel reception is good, but the lift is old and can hardly take two people. The rooms are old and I don't consider it as an hotel but a brotel. Finally could not get refund from Expedia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location, But Over Priced

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Staff
Location: Great location on Green Market Square where there is an open market. Restaurants, transit, on and off bus and city center attractions close by.
We stayed at an Airbnb across the Green Market Square from the Tudor. For $60 US we got a full kitchen, living room, dining room, bath and bedroom. Very clean and bright. We tried to cancel our stay at the Tudor and extend our stay at our Airbnb, but the Tudor wanted 50% to cancel so we walked across the square and checked into the Tudor at $80.00 US per night for a reasonably sized older room. The staff, especially Zueillie and Velma were very helpful and accommodating. Thanks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary Alberta

Right in The Middle

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The staff were amazing, especially the front desk lady. The breakfast wash excelkent and plentyful. The bartender was very knowledgeable.
Cons: Being it was an old hotel, some of the amenities are getting a little run diwn. I think it adds to the character and charm, but others may not.
Location: You can walk to all the restsurants, bars, tours, the on an off buss. Clise the the museums, company gardens, everywhere.
Great historical hotel in the middle of everything. It is a half block of Long Street. The hotel is very old and retains it character. If you want gkass and brass, this hotel is not for you. If you want genuine historical experience, then stay here. The is a very old lift that has doors that open on both sides. Very nicely decorated with a bar and breakfast room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Japan

安心出来る便利なホテル

Posted Aug 2, 2016
ツアーの案内など丁寧に説明していただき、また、路上強盗に遭い困りましたが、対応良くしていただき安心しました。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Heilbronn

Älteres Hotel im Stadtzentrum

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Zentrale Lage
Cons: Service am Buffet
Location: Stadtzentrum, alles gut erreichbar
Gute zentrale Lage, aber schon etwas älter. Beim Frühstücksbuffet ist Geduld gefragt, aber alle sehr freundlich. Für gehobene Ansprüche nicht zum empfehlen, aber als günstiges Hotel für wenige Nächte ist es in Ordnung.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Nice stay in the very center of Cape Town

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Furniture, location, food, price, staff.
Cons: Bathrooms.
Location: The very center of cape town. Long street is up close, Have walked to the Magic Theater.
Stayed in the Tudor Hotel in May '16. The place is in walking distance from the railroad station and from the bus terminal. The furniture is nice, the rooms are quiet, the food at the breakfast is perfect. The only complaint could be that the bathroom in my room didn't look 100% clean and tidy. That is a reason to have 4 out of 5 for hotel facilities. I've done the hike to the table mountain on my last day and the staff allowed to change and get a shower after my check out with no charge, which was a nice thing to do. The hotel has some history dating back to 18 th century, though at it's present state is a remodelled and new and is only stylized to look old. The hotel is worth the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and close to everything.

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Old world charm
Cons: Possibly cleaning service but could have been something overlooked that day.
Location: Excellant location, just around the corner from bus that gave us excess to so many places. Craft markets a few meters away, and food emporium..
The whole experience was pleasing, staff friendly and helpful, and food for breakfast was very good. There was a ceiling leak in the bathroom which was repaired whilst we were out during the day. (it's an old hotel)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wilderness

Good Situation

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Situation, convenient for touring the city. Very comfortable
Cons: Reception - not friendly enough and no initiative in trying to find out about sight seeing requirements
Location: Well situated for Table Mountain, City Tour, V&A, Signal Hill, Kloof Neck, castle, district 6, Bo kaap,
Well situated, very comfortable with great beakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Strategically located.

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: very charming and friendly staff.
Cons: shut the bathroom windows.
Location: everything in walking distance. next to Green Market.
Only issue was the bathroom window wouldn't close and the pigeons were hanging out on the ledge. other than that, was perfect.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Dingy Sheets and soiled carpet.

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: Receptionist and kitchen staff.
Cons: Cleaner linen, towels, and maintenance of the interior and exterior.
Location: African market place close.
This hotel has changed a great deal since I last visited in 2012. The sheets and towels were not clean. They appeared to have a dirty, dingy, look to them. The carpet in the room was ragged and soiled. The tiles in the hallway were cracked. There was no air-conditioning in the room. This hotel has changed and I will not be staying there when I return to Cape Town. Totally disgusting. The only complement was the front desk receptionist and the kitchen staff. A minus one rating.