Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Accra, Ghana

Tudor Hotel needs to try much harder...

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: it was a walking distance to the Cape Town Convention Centre
Cons: keep the bathroom tiles clean with a strong detergent. Bathroom tiles had an unpleasant build up of black moss/mildew
Location: nice traditional artefacts at Green Market Square
1) I made and confirmed prior arrangements with the hotel's front desk to be picked up from the airport. I waited for close to 45minutes at the Airport and then finally gave up and picked a taxi to Tudor Hotel. 2) The entrance to the hotel was barely noticeable and I barely managed to squeeze my luggage through. 3) A portion of my wooden room floor was cracked and at night I saw a cockroach walking around my bedside lamp. 4) Wi-Fi was very unstable 5) Air-condition never worked - didn't really need it anyway 6) Bathroom was so small I could barely turn without having my body touch the walls that had a build up of mildew...a strong detergent can clean up those messy tiles 7) The water kettle in the room had a broken lid that fell right into the bathroom basin when I emptied its contents 8) Each time I stepped out of the hotel there were suspicious looking characters that made me feel unsafe 9) My initial booking was for a late check out but I was in such a hurry to leave that I changed my flight to a 12.20pm flight to Jo'burg 10. I needed a round-pin adaptor to charge my phone I had to wait till the next morning to purchase one from the shops since Tudor Hotel did not have a working adaptor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Ok hotel downtown

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: Very good breakfast available
Cons: Wifi is very iffy and you need to get vouchers to be able to use it. The problem is that the voucher is only good for about 2 hours of use.
Location: Good location, near shopping areas and plenty of restaurants.
The hotel is in a good location and the installation is good and staff is helpful, but you can smell cigarettes smoke coming from the other rooms all day long and it's hard to get internet connection, you need a voucher for the wifi, which is only good for a short time, so you have to keep on going back to the front desk to ask for more. Very annoying.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Africa

Ancient Hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was excellent and the staff was very friendly and easy to talk to
Cons: Reduce toilet height, shower needs extra panels to stop flooding floor, brighter lighting at hotel entrance, better soundproofing between rooms, towel
Location: The hotel is close to a market and some eateries like KFC, Burger King and a supermarket. Its about 400m from the CTICC
I was attending a conference at the CTICC. I found it disturbing that I could here the activities of other guests, especially when walking along the passage to my room. I found the toilet was installed too high and the shower always flooded the floor because an extra panel or shower curtain had not been installed. The towels were too old and torn. The lighting in the street leading to the hotel was too dark and made me feel uneasy walking up to the hotel at night. However, the hotel staff were pleasant and breakfast was delicious.
3 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
for Families
by Holger from Hamburg

Super Lage

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
Schönes altes Hotel mitten in der City. Gediegenes Ambiente, freundliches Personal, guter Preis. Da es ein altes Hotel ist, sollte man auch kompromissbereit sein. Wir waren 5 Tage hier und würden jederzeit wieder hierher kommen.
5 out of 5
for Personal Event
by Lylie from windhoek

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice little hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Smelly rooms and absent internet

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Nothing
The room stink with cigarette smoke. Internet is 200MB/day and never available. It would cost R200/day to get decent internet. Add that to your budget and get a decent hotel. STAY AWAY from this place if you want to have a nice stay.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hübsches Hotel mitten in der City

Posted May 22, 2015
Wir waren in Kapstadt um die Stadt und das Umland kennen zu Lernen. Durch die Lage des Hotels waren wir sofort in der Lage jedes unserer Ziele in nu zu erreichen. Bei touren außerhalb der Stadt ( safaris,townships, Shark diving) war das Hotelpersonal uns bei den Buchungen vor Ort sofort behilflich. Ohne wenn und aber ein sehr gastfreudliches Haus.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Location

Posted May 16, 2015
Budget option right on Greenmarket Square the Tudor is stumbling distance from Long Street - so a great CBD location. The hotel is old but everything was in working order other than during load shedding. The room was comfortable, shower strong and the staff were happy to rearrange the cable network on request. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels