Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and close to everything.

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Old world charm
Cons: Possibly cleaning service but could have been something overlooked that day.
Location: Excellant location, just around the corner from bus that gave us excess to so many places. Craft markets a few meters away, and food emporium..
The whole experience was pleasing, staff friendly and helpful, and food for breakfast was very good. There was a ceiling leak in the bathroom which was repaired whilst we were out during the day. (it's an old hotel)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilderness

Good Situation

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Situation, convenient for touring the city. Very comfortable
Cons: Reception - not friendly enough and no initiative in trying to find out about sight seeing requirements
Location: Well situated for Table Mountain, City Tour, V&A, Signal Hill, Kloof Neck, castle, district 6, Bo kaap,
Well situated, very comfortable with great beakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Strategically located.

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: very charming and friendly staff.
Cons: shut the bathroom windows.
Location: everything in walking distance. next to Green Market.
Only issue was the bathroom window wouldn't close and the pigeons were hanging out on the ledge. other than that, was perfect.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Dingy Sheets and soiled carpet.

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: Receptionist and kitchen staff.
Cons: Cleaner linen, towels, and maintenance of the interior and exterior.
Location: African market place close.
This hotel has changed a great deal since I last visited in 2012. The sheets and towels were not clean. They appeared to have a dirty, dingy, look to them. The carpet in the room was ragged and soiled. The tiles in the hallway were cracked. There was no air-conditioning in the room. This hotel has changed and I will not be staying there when I return to Cape Town. Totally disgusting. The only complement was the front desk receptionist and the kitchen staff. A minus one rating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Schweiz

Gutes Mittelklasse Hotel in zentraler Lage

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: Der Service, das Team und die Lage
Cons: Die Bettwäsche sollte täglich gewechselt werden, inkl. Kopfkissen Bezug. Frühstück könnte reichhaltiger sein, z.B. mit Brötchen und mehr Aufschnitt.
Location: Sehr zentral und idealer Ausgangspunkt für Unternehmungen
Die Lage des Hotels ist super! Der Service und das Team auch, sehr zuvorkommend und immer hilfsbereit. Nur mit der Hygiene bei den Bezügen der Kopfkissen. Sie waren nicht sauber! Ich habe es gemeldet. Und im Bad war an den Kacheln sehr viel Schimmel. Abgesehen davon war das Zimmer dennoch sehr sauber.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Perfect location with a 20min walk to most places

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Perfect location between Long Street and Greenmarket Square. Fantastic resturants neaby. 10-15mins walk to the best museums (District 6 & Slavery).
Great to support a privately owned hotel with excellent staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Accra, Ghana

Tudor Hotel needs to try much harder...

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: it was a walking distance to the Cape Town Convention Centre
Cons: keep the bathroom tiles clean with a strong detergent. Bathroom tiles had an unpleasant build up of black moss/mildew
Location: nice traditional artefacts at Green Market Square
1) I made and confirmed prior arrangements with the hotel's front desk to be picked up from the airport. I waited for close to 45minutes at the Airport and then finally gave up and picked a taxi to Tudor Hotel. 2) The entrance to the hotel was barely noticeable and I barely managed to squeeze my luggage through. 3) A portion of my wooden room floor was cracked and at night I saw a cockroach walking around my bedside lamp. 4) Wi-Fi was very unstable 5) Air-condition never worked - didn't really need it anyway 6) Bathroom was so small I could barely turn without having my body touch the walls that had a build up of mildew...a strong detergent can clean up those messy tiles 7) The water kettle in the room had a broken lid that fell right into the bathroom basin when I emptied its contents 8) Each time I stepped out of the hotel there were suspicious looking characters that made me feel unsafe 9) My initial booking was for a late check out but I was in such a hurry to leave that I changed my flight to a 12.20pm flight to Jo'burg 10. I needed a round-pin adaptor to charge my phone I had to wait till the next morning to purchase one from the shops since Tudor Hotel did not have a working adaptor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Ok hotel downtown

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: Very good breakfast available
Cons: Wifi is very iffy and you need to get vouchers to be able to use it. The problem is that the voucher is only good for about 2 hours of use.
Location: Good location, near shopping areas and plenty of restaurants.
The hotel is in a good location and the installation is good and staff is helpful, but you can smell cigarettes smoke coming from the other rooms all day long and it's hard to get internet connection, you need a voucher for the wifi, which is only good for a short time, so you have to keep on going back to the front desk to ask for more. Very annoying.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Africa

Ancient Hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was excellent and the staff was very friendly and easy to talk to
Cons: Reduce toilet height, shower needs extra panels to stop flooding floor, brighter lighting at hotel entrance, better soundproofing between rooms, towel
Location: The hotel is close to a market and some eateries like KFC, Burger King and a supermarket. Its about 400m from the CTICC
I was attending a conference at the CTICC. I found it disturbing that I could here the activities of other guests, especially when walking along the passage to my room. I found the toilet was installed too high and the shower always flooded the floor because an extra panel or shower curtain had not been installed. The towels were too old and torn. The lighting in the street leading to the hotel was too dark and made me feel uneasy walking up to the hotel at night. However, the hotel staff were pleasant and breakfast was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Luis from Sao Paulo

Uma boa opção no centro de Cape Town

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Positivo: - Café da manhã ótimo e atendimento muito bom, equipe muito simpática! - Localização perfeita para uma primeira viagem à Cape Town. - Wifi funciona bem. Negativo: - pedimos cama de casal e tivemos duas single juntas, que eram desniveladas, não era confortável. - janela do banheiro não fechava, e ficava muito frio. parte elétrica do quarto precisa de ajustes: fios soltando ao lado da cama, prontos para dar um choque. Isso foi negativo mas não comprometeu a estadia de uma forma geral.