Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jessie from London

Great room with stunning view and great location

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
The owner Katrin, was great and very welcoming. She organised my transfer from/to the airport and was very responsive to emails. She was very welcoming and super friendly and left some milk/coffee/muffins and fruit ready for breakfast the next day. The room itself was amazing. Being at the top of a hill, the view of the city and table mountain was spectacular. The room had all needed amenities including free wifi, TV, bathtub and shower, kitchenette, balcony etc. The bed was also very comfortable. The guest house is walking distance (around 10 mins) from Long street with all its shops and cafes. I would definitely go back there. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Guest house in town

Posted May 23, 2016
Excellent in town location but on VERY steep hill. No wifi in room. Dogs barking constant
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pimville, Soweto

Quite Heaven

Posted Jan 9, 2016 on Hotels
Loved it. Katrin was very helpful and hands on, so are her staff, friendly too. Room was very clean, with daily housekeeping. Breakfast was efficient, I like the idea of upfront bfast -nice. Neighbourhood is festive yet quiet, but beautiful surroundings overall. Unfortunately I had poor wifi, which can be improved. Also, no provision of soap which was odd, but I always come prepared so I didn't die. And no satellite channels, maybe that will improve. And I would've liked more water. Also the bathroom light makes a terrible noise when switched on. Honestly, I'd visit again and again and again. It's gorgeous. I'd recommend this place for business and leisure purposes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent accommodation during Cape Town visit.

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Our experience at Upperbloem was outstanding. We contacted Katrin before our arrival to see about coming in a day earlier, and she was happy to oblige, coordinate airport transfer services, etc. She had excellent recommendations during our stay and the room was very comfortable well-stocked. Laundry service was very convenient, efficient, and reasonably priced. As other commenters noted, Upperbloem is at the top of a very steep hill, so we used a taxi service when returning home each evening. The excellent views made walking up and down hills and taking taxis worth it! It was a great location in a historic neighborhood and we found it easy to get around by walking, taking taxis, and the Hop On Hop off bus. When we return to Cape Town, we'll gladly return to Upperbloem for another terrific experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close in and economical

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Great walkable location near the center of town. I will definitely return here!
5 out of 5
by Samantha from Seattle, Washington, USA

Cute little place!

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely incredible view, the manager lives on-site and has a very friendly large dog. It says no breakfast served, but she had some cereal, milk, juice, muffins, coffee and tea in the room so we wouldn't have to stress about breakfast the first morning. Very close to all the popular downtown spots. Good for any ages. Great little place. 10/10 would go back again.
4 out of 5
by SavvyFairre from Zambia

Lovely view, big climb, comfy stay!

Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels
Very comfortable and friendly B & B with an incredible view, a delicious included breakfast and a very steep climb! Proprietor very helpful. Rooms all abut the main kitchen area, so can be a bit noisy. Beautiful balcony with views of mountain and water. WiFi in common areas. Pool and maid service.
1 out of 5
by Praneeth

Not a hotel its a guest house

Posted Dec 20, 2012 on Hotels
The way it was advertised in the site is a hotel it is just a house with some rooms.There is no air conditioning surroundings are not healthy.Not a safe area.We got a room with a bed and a fan thats all.I better suggest this should be adverstised more like a guest house rather than a hotel
3 out of 5
by Jonathan from Oxford, UK

good could have been great.

Posted May 28, 2012
Pros: pool.
Cons: dog mess
Location: good walking into the city - uphill battle on the way back
they have a large guard dog that messes in the garden area. i requested that the dog mess be removed but this did not happen. The smell when cooking on the bbq was not nice. also this is a quiet guest-house so if you want to stay up past 11 talking / having a drink this is not the place to go. room was clean, breakfast was good and short walk to main streets.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Charming hotel in Malay district

Posted Apr 11, 2011 on Hotels
Beautifully located, small (5 rooms) hotel in the Malay quarters of Cape Town. Prices very reasonable. Rooms clean and tastefully furnished. Breakfast self serve of good western standard (no full English breakfast but more than enough to make you happy). Friendly staff. Hotel is close to city centre and Long street, but the walk to the hotel from long street is very steep. Consider taking a taxi home (cost about R30) if you are not so fit. Area seemed safe (by South African standards) but consider to take a taxi home after sunset. Beautiful surroundings in the Malay quarters and a nice view from the hotel balcony. We are overall very pleased and can recommend this hotel which is guaranteed value for money.