Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Guest house in town

Posted May 23, 2016
Excellent in town location but on VERY steep hill. No wifi in room. Dogs barking constant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent accommodation during Cape Town visit.

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Our experience at Upperbloem was outstanding. We contacted Katrin before our arrival to see about coming in a day earlier, and she was happy to oblige, coordinate airport transfer services, etc. She had excellent recommendations during our stay and the room was very comfortable well-stocked. Laundry service was very convenient, efficient, and reasonably priced. As other commenters noted, Upperbloem is at the top of a very steep hill, so we used a taxi service when returning home each evening. The excellent views made walking up and down hills and taking taxis worth it! It was a great location in a historic neighborhood and we found it easy to get around by walking, taking taxis, and the Hop On Hop off bus. When we return to Cape Town, we'll gladly return to Upperbloem for another terrific experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close in and economical

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Great walkable location near the center of town. I will definitely return here!
3 out of 5
by Jonathan from Oxford, UK

good could have been great.

Posted May 28, 2012
Pros: pool.
Cons: dog mess
Location: good walking into the city - uphill battle on the way back
they have a large guard dog that messes in the garden area. i requested that the dog mess be removed but this did not happen. The smell when cooking on the bbq was not nice. also this is a quiet guest-house so if you want to stay up past 11 talking / having a drink this is not the place to go. room was clean, breakfast was good and short walk to main streets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Clean and trendy

Posted Aug 5, 2010
A little apprehensive of the location on arrival, as the residential area was a little run down. The guest house however, is not. We booked a small double, and arrived to find that our accommodation contained a double bed; private safe; wardrobes; tv (though only 5 channels); hifi; kitchenette including kettle, caffetiere (& tea and coffee); fridge, hob, and sink; table and chairs; sofa; patio; and bathroom with large bathtub and walk-in shower. The room, with silver high-spec finishings, was spotless. The shared kitchen was stocked with bread, croissants, pastries, cheeses, preserves, fruit and drinks, to be consumed any time, and again, was very clean. Only a 5 minute walk to Long street, however we felt the need to take a taxi back at night at a cost of approx R30, for safety reasons, and the fact that the property is atop a very steep hill. Hospitality was great. Overall, impressed with the accommodation. Tip; during our stay, no taxi driver knew of the accommodation, so ensure that you have the full address (and maybe even a map to guide them there if need be).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Abhängig vom Zimmer: Traumaussicht auf die Stadt und den Tafelberg. Großzügiger, eigener Balkon und funktionale Küche. Sehr freundliche und unkomplizierte Leitung (Katrin) und tolles Serviceteam. Sehr empfehlenswerte Unterkunft!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tolles Stadt-Guesthouse mit sehr netter Besitzerin

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Lage, schnelle Anbindung zu allen wichtigen Sehenswürdigkeiten
Cons: Nein
Location: Boo Kaap
Wir waren für 3 Nächte bei Katrin. Wir wurden sehr herzlich und nett empfangen. Sie zeigte uns direkt unser Apartment / Stadtblick / Meerblick. Das Apartment ist sehr groß und sehr sauber. Wir fanden im Kühlschrank sogar alles nötige für das erste Frühstück. Zudem fragte Sie ob wir denn gerne ein Gläschen Wein trinken wollen, wir erhielten direkt eine ganze Flasche. Außerdem hat jedes Apartment sein eigenes Handy, welches wir mitnehmen konnten um vor Ort Restaurant Reservierungen vorzunehmen oder auch mal Katrin anzurufen wenn was unklar war. TOP Service, sehr nette und zuvorkommende Besitzerin. Vielen Dank für die tollen 3 Tage. Wir kommen auf jeden Fall wieder.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super Lage, nette Gastgeberin, sporadischer Raum

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Wir waren zwei Nächte bei Kathrin. Sie war sehr nett. Das Zimmer ist sehr sporadisch eingerichtet, aber sauber.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from München

Wundervolles Multiview Appartment

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: Phantastische Multiview Veranda mit blick auf Stadt , Hafen und Tafelberg., Sehr entspannt und nette Betreuung.
Cons: nein
Location: Bo Kaap Viertel Fussnähe zur Long Street mit Nachtleben
Es gibt verschiedene Appartments. wir hatten das Multiviewappartment mit einem phantastischen blick auf die Stadt und den Tafelberg. Die Veranda ist sehr groß. das zimmer ist sehr sauber und selbst das Bad, das klein aber sehr schön ist, hat einen hervorragenden blick auf den Tafelberg. Die Lage ist im bo Kaap viertel. Sehr zentrumsnah und doch etwas erhaben. Katrin, die Vermieterin ist sehr nett und erleichtert einem den Aufenthalt durch tolle Tipps und Unterstützung wie z.B. Boarding Pass Ausdrucken, local Handy, Restauranttipps. Alles zusammen eine sehr runde Sache.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Munich

Great location with increadible views

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Great location, 10 minutes walking distance to the city center (Long Street with all the night life). Nice, spacious room, nice terrace with a pool and incredible city view. Katrin, the owner, is an incredibly nice and cooperative person, can help you arrange the transportation, rent a car and has lots of tips on where to eat out etc.