Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Jessie from London

Great room with stunning view and great location

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
The owner Katrin, was great and very welcoming. She organised my transfer from/to the airport and was very responsive to emails. She was very welcoming and super friendly and left some milk/coffee/muffins and fruit ready for breakfast the next day. The room itself was amazing. Being at the top of a hill, the view of the city and table mountain was spectacular. The room had all needed amenities including free wifi, TV, bathtub and shower, kitchenette, balcony etc. The bed was also very comfortable. The guest house is walking distance (around 10 mins) from Long street with all its shops and cafes. I would definitely go back there. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Guest house in town

Posted May 23, 2016
Excellent in town location but on VERY steep hill. No wifi in room. Dogs barking constant
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Abhängig vom Zimmer: Traumaussicht auf die Stadt und den Tafelberg. Großzügiger, eigener Balkon und funktionale Küche. Sehr freundliche und unkomplizierte Leitung (Katrin) und tolles Serviceteam. Sehr empfehlenswerte Unterkunft!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tolles Stadt-Guesthouse mit sehr netter Besitzerin

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Lage, schnelle Anbindung zu allen wichtigen Sehenswürdigkeiten
Cons: Nein
Location: Boo Kaap
Wir waren für 3 Nächte bei Katrin. Wir wurden sehr herzlich und nett empfangen. Sie zeigte uns direkt unser Apartment / Stadtblick / Meerblick. Das Apartment ist sehr groß und sehr sauber. Wir fanden im Kühlschrank sogar alles nötige für das erste Frühstück. Zudem fragte Sie ob wir denn gerne ein Gläschen Wein trinken wollen, wir erhielten direkt eine ganze Flasche. Außerdem hat jedes Apartment sein eigenes Handy, welches wir mitnehmen konnten um vor Ort Restaurant Reservierungen vorzunehmen oder auch mal Katrin anzurufen wenn was unklar war. TOP Service, sehr nette und zuvorkommende Besitzerin. Vielen Dank für die tollen 3 Tage. Wir kommen auf jeden Fall wieder.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pimville, Soweto

Quite Heaven

Posted Jan 9, 2016 on Hotels
Loved it. Katrin was very helpful and hands on, so are her staff, friendly too. Room was very clean, with daily housekeeping. Breakfast was efficient, I like the idea of upfront bfast -nice. Neighbourhood is festive yet quiet, but beautiful surroundings overall. Unfortunately I had poor wifi, which can be improved. Also, no provision of soap which was odd, but I always come prepared so I didn't die. And no satellite channels, maybe that will improve. And I would've liked more water. Also the bathroom light makes a terrible noise when switched on. Honestly, I'd visit again and again and again. It's gorgeous. I'd recommend this place for business and leisure purposes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super Lage, nette Gastgeberin, sporadischer Raum

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Wir waren zwei Nächte bei Kathrin. Sie war sehr nett. Das Zimmer ist sehr sporadisch eingerichtet, aber sauber.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent accommodation during Cape Town visit.

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Our experience at Upperbloem was outstanding. We contacted Katrin before our arrival to see about coming in a day earlier, and she was happy to oblige, coordinate airport transfer services, etc. She had excellent recommendations during our stay and the room was very comfortable well-stocked. Laundry service was very convenient, efficient, and reasonably priced. As other commenters noted, Upperbloem is at the top of a very steep hill, so we used a taxi service when returning home each evening. The excellent views made walking up and down hills and taking taxis worth it! It was a great location in a historic neighborhood and we found it easy to get around by walking, taking taxis, and the Hop On Hop off bus. When we return to Cape Town, we'll gladly return to Upperbloem for another terrific experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from München

Wundervolles Multiview Appartment

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: Phantastische Multiview Veranda mit blick auf Stadt , Hafen und Tafelberg., Sehr entspannt und nette Betreuung.
Cons: nein
Location: Bo Kaap Viertel Fussnähe zur Long Street mit Nachtleben
Es gibt verschiedene Appartments. wir hatten das Multiviewappartment mit einem phantastischen blick auf die Stadt und den Tafelberg. Die Veranda ist sehr groß. das zimmer ist sehr sauber und selbst das Bad, das klein aber sehr schön ist, hat einen hervorragenden blick auf den Tafelberg. Die Lage ist im bo Kaap viertel. Sehr zentrumsnah und doch etwas erhaben. Katrin, die Vermieterin ist sehr nett und erleichtert einem den Aufenthalt durch tolle Tipps und Unterstützung wie z.B. Boarding Pass Ausdrucken, local Handy, Restauranttipps. Alles zusammen eine sehr runde Sache.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close in and economical

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Great walkable location near the center of town. I will definitely return here!
5 out of 5
by Samantha from Seattle, Washington, USA

Cute little place!

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely incredible view, the manager lives on-site and has a very friendly large dog. It says no breakfast served, but she had some cereal, milk, juice, muffins, coffee and tea in the room so we wouldn't have to stress about breakfast the first morning. Very close to all the popular downtown spots. Good for any ages. Great little place. 10/10 would go back again.