Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saffron Walden UK

A Tranquil Retreat

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The seclusion and beautiful scenery are a definite plus as well as the proximity to high class restaurants and wineries. The rooms are well appointed
Cons: Not really
Location: Franschhoek is in many respects the hub of the Winelands and culinary expertise. If you like food, wine and beautiful scenery there is no better place
We stayed at Val d'Or a couple of years ago and it was an easy decision to return once we had made our minds up to visit the Winelands again. The essence of Val d'Or is its tranquility and seclusion amidst such beautiful mountain scenery but despite the seclusion it is easily accessible directly from Cape Town or from Franschhoek itself. The plethora of wonderful restaurants and wine estates are just a stones throw away. The apartments and rooms are spacious and well appointed and the breakfasts offer a wide range of options including fruit, cereals cheeses, cooked meats and of course the cooked breakfast. there is also a very decent bar which is attended during the day and early evening but which reverts to a convenient honesty bar after hours. The staff are friendly and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to go back or to recommend to a friend
5 out of 5
by Julia

Taste of tranquil relaxation

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful
4 out of 5
by Timothy

B and b on road trip

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
poor greeting otherwise excellent.
5 out of 5
by Aleta

Couldn't have been better! Fabulous place.

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was fabulous and the pictures don't do this place justice! The owner, his daughter and staff couldn't be nicer. They made dinner reservations for us and recommended some fabulous places. The grounds are beautiful and the location is perfect. One of our air conditioners wasn't working smell they upgraded us to a huge beautiful cottage. They all go above and beyond for their guests and I would highly recommend this guest house estate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and conveniently close to amenities

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
It was lovely and peaceful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Secluded magic lodge

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable, clean, neat and convenient yet far enough away to be a little secluded, which is great. Very friendly management and staff. We will be back again, I'm sure.
5 out of 5
by Steven from New York

A Real Country Inn

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
A Real Country Inn and all that that conjures up.
5 out of 5
by Nicolette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Christopher from Johannesburg

A little bit of heaven

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Good day, my wife and I had not been in the Cape together for over 24 years. We attended a family wedding in Tulbagh and decided to stay on for a few days. We had never been to Franschoek before and were highly impressed with the area. There are plenty of restaurants in the town with some lovely boutiques for those who like to shop. One thing that impressed us was the cleanliness - not a bit of litter to be found. Unfortunately we could only spend one night but we will be back in the future...hopefully we will be able to a little more exploring. Val d'Or Estate was lovely - they even upgraded our room when we arrived which was a nice surprise.
5 out of 5
by Rosemarie from Adelaide South Australia

Val d'or a travellers haven

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
After a long drive from Oudsthoon it was a pleasant surprise to find we had been given an upgrade to the top floor room with balcony. The views of the surrounding mountains were stunning Franschhoek lies girdled within this wine growing framework and Val d'or lies in its centre The staff were extremely friendly and efficient and special thanks to the young man at reception called Mdla. He carried our two heavy bags upstairs and gave us advice on restaurants that we may like to visit over our three day stay The owner Suzette whom we had never met. we thanked for our upgrade next morning and we commended her on the beautiful setting and home We are retired Australians who have seen much of the world and Val d'or will stay as an outstanding memory