Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lives up to its reputation as a luxurious GH

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: The warm welcome from Alma and the hands on approach she has in ensuring everything is up to the highest standard.
Cons: TV reception could have been preset to a higher volume. Appreciate it was set low to avoid upsetting the adjacent room, but it was to quiet.
Location: Very accessible by foot to the beach and restaurants
Spent 4 nights at Villa Afrique. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were exceptional in quality and presentation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel. Nice view. Nice Suburb

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Warm and freindly atmos[here
Had an enjoyable stay, very warm and friendly. Lovely breakfast. Would definitely reccommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from london

Great

Posted Dec 13, 2011
A very restful and peaceful place. beautiful views of the bay. Close to great restaurants. A superb base for exploring the western cape. Not close to nightlife if that is required.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Booked 3 days stayed 3 weeks!

Posted Nov 24, 2010
What a delightful place to stay. I was looking for a comfortable place to relax and Villa Afrique was a perfect solution. The Guest House owners, Alma and Dion were helpful, friendly and welcoming. They have clearly gone out of their way to exceed the standards expected of a five star establishment, attention to every detail meant that I felt at home from the moment I arrived. Breakfast was a great start to every day - (do ask Alma for her scrambled eggs!), and there are plenty of restaurants and bars around Hout Bay within an easy walking distance. In short, Villa Afrique is a perfect place to relax and feel spoiled in comfort., and a great location to use as a base for sightseeing around Cape Town etc.. I really did just book 3 days with the intention of travelling around to other places but I figured I wouldn't find anywhere as friendly, comfortable or well appointed - so I stayed for 3 weeks! If I find myself in the Cape Town area again I won't consider staying anywhere else. Thank you Alma and Dion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, United Kingdon

A beautiful house run by truly beautiful and friendly people, a true hidden gem

Posted Jul 21, 2010
So pleased I stayed at the Villa Afrique guest house. On entering you are greeted by a large bright room where attention to detail with decor, facilities and service are excellent. The hosts, Alma and Dion provided a warm and friendly welcome making you feel like part of the family. My room was a good size with an en-suite having under floor and towel heating. The bed was comfortable; linen was of a very high standard and clean, a turn down service was performed each evening. Breakfast was between 8 and 9 with freshly baked croissants each day and a choice of hot and/or cold food. Parking was off road behind an electric gate which was operated via your key fob as was the room security system. After locking your room, you can active your own burglar alarm dedicated to your room, which I found a nice added security feature. The laundry service was first class having all my clothes washed, dried and ironed very cheaply. Alma's knowledge of the Cape Town and surrounding areas were excellent and Alma went the extra mile by telephoning people in Hermanus, 50 miles away, to ensure my second trip was not wasted as I tried whales watching. Thank you for personal touches it was appreciated as was the information provided about the Stellenbosch area. I would definitely stay with Alma and Dion again if in the Cape Town area "A beautiful house run by truly beautiful and friendly people" a true hidden gem. Visit the Villa Afrique guest house and see for yourself. Very Highly Recommend.
3 out of 5
by HC from Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

Far fara away.....

Posted Jul 16, 2010
Great Place.... extremely far from Cape Town. High cost of transportation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fantastic quality of service !

Posted Mar 1, 2010
Incredible breakfast and people so friendly !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Surrey, United Kingdom

Extra special guest house experience

Posted Jan 28, 2010
I booked my stay at the Villa Afrique (VA) guest house at the last minute and it was a real joy. The hosts, Alma and Dion, provide a warm and friendly welcome. Attention to detail in the decor, facilities and service is excellent. VA's five-star billing is quite accurate. My room was a well-appointed, good-sized en-suite room - a real bonus was the complimentary decanter of port in the room! Beds comfortable, linen fine, and air-cong in the room. Fabulous breakfast served 8-9am and this is also a good chance to mine Alma's knowledge of the Cape and SA if you want inspiration for a day's activity or place to dine etc. Hout Bay's small beach is a five-minute walk. The guest house offers secure off-street parking for a rental car and Hout Bay is good base from which to explore the Cape. The VA is situated opposite Hout Bay's working harbour, during the day the sound of air con units cooling the fishing warehouses and the moderate traffic on the road below are the only minor drawbacks I could identify. But if you're up for breakfast and then out exploring the Cape, you're not going to get bothered by this. Value for money? I was lucky enough to get an Expedia offer which included every third day free. So I've no complaints. If you're after comfort and want to experience more personal service than you get in big four/five-star hotels, Villa Afrique deserves serious consideration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hübsches kleines Guesthouse strandnähe

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Angenehme familiäre Atmosphäre,ruhig,sehr höfliche Besitze
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lucy & Bob from Maarssen

The best B&B ever!

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Everything! But above all the hospitality of our host Alma: she really does everything to give you an unforgettable stay!
Location: Hout Bay, a small town close to Cape Town. Nice beach, nice harbour. Close to Chapmans Peak drive toward Kalk Bay, must go there. Winelands, go there.
Alma Toerien, the owner of the B&B is the most wonderful host one can imagine! Villa Afrique is beautifully located near Hout Bay harbour, the rooms are beautiful, spacious and absolutely immaculate. Breakfast is served at the terrace (with a fresh bunch of flowers every morning on every table!) with fresh fruits, juices, nice bread and eggs any style. This place makes you feel at home from the moment you enter the house and are welcomed by Alma. Nothing is too much, Alma even took her private Nespresso machine down to serve us our caffe latte. She and her husband Deon made our stay in Hout Bay unforgettable.