Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by kevin

Well situated for all amenities

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Was great. Will not hesitate to syay again.
4 out of 5
by Pauline

Nice guest house & caring owner!

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
The guest house is nicely located in Hout Bay which is perfect for a few days in the region, to visit Cape Town, Cape Point and drive around. The owner is very caring, friendly and attentive. The room is comfortable and clean with a touch of British style!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lives up to its reputation as a luxurious GH

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: The warm welcome from Alma and the hands on approach she has in ensuring everything is up to the highest standard.
Cons: TV reception could have been preset to a higher volume. Appreciate it was set low to avoid upsetting the adjacent room, but it was to quiet.
Location: Very accessible by foot to the beach and restaurants
Spent 4 nights at Villa Afrique. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were exceptional in quality and presentation.
5 out of 5
by M Elizabeth from Ranchos de Taos, NM, USA

Relax by the sea...

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
I've been in South Africa for 6 weeks now. Villa Afrique has the MOST comfortable bed I have yet to stay in! The property is immaculate. Alma & Dion were very gracious hosts. Breakfast, served in or out, weather conditions considered, was fabulous; fresh fruits, cereals, cheese & meat tray, fresh baked good, eggs how ever you like them. Alma makes a tremendous hollandaise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel. Nice view. Nice Suburb

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Warm and freindly atmos[here
Had an enjoyable stay, very warm and friendly. Lovely breakfast. Would definitely reccommend.
5 out of 5
by Magellan72 from ZA

Excellent choice

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
I reviewed this property online - and found some disturbing reports - but decided to push through and experience this hotel / Bed and breakfast and make up my mind for myself - and I am happy that I did! The host and hostess were friendly, efficient, warm and welcoming, and so very gracious - it was like coming back to a loving home - The location could not be better - 5 minutes walking distance from various restaurants and tourist attractions and a fantastic beach - and the scenery is something to marvel at, Mountains, beach , ocean and mysterious castle on the hill! - note - the road between the B&B and the Wharf can be busy and noisy during the day, the rooms are very quiet and we hardly heard anything at night. Our hostess took great care in advising what to do, where to go and even offered to make a few restaurant reservations on our behalf ! - our room was superb - with a turn down service - we were smitten with Villa Afrique - Breakfast in the morning is a sumptuous affair, lavishly presented and deliciously prepared - we were accommodated with a kosher request for my partner - and that is very much appreciated by him, I can recommend this venue for Bleisure (Business and Leisure) travelers / holiday makers / honeymoon couples / and travelers that would like to get away from the hustle and bustle of Cape Town city centre it self - Houtbay has a charm and a pace all of its own - and no place better to enjoy it all than Villa Afrique -
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Chris from SA

Exceptional Customer service

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels
Due to unforeseen issues with our booking the owner made alternative arrangements that saved the day. Professional, friendly and accommodating staff and the rooms are just like the photos/videos.
5 out of 5
by Saori from London

Very well run guesthouse

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels
Very good value for money. It's a good mixture of hotel professionalism & personal touch. The owner goes above & beyond for your comfort. We were offered a glass of champagne for breakfast on the new year day.
5 out of 5
by Rose

Get a good feel of Hout Bay

Posted Apr 19, 2012 on Hotels
The guest house had all the amenities and service of a luxury hotel. It was a very pleasant stay.