Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Lives up to its reputation as a luxurious GH

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: The warm welcome from Alma and the hands on approach she has in ensuring everything is up to the highest standard.
Cons: TV reception could have been preset to a higher volume. Appreciate it was set low to avoid upsetting the adjacent room, but it was to quiet.
Location: Very accessible by foot to the beach and restaurants
Spent 4 nights at Villa Afrique. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were exceptional in quality and presentation.
5 out of 5
by M Elizabeth from Ranchos de Taos, NM, USA

Relax by the sea...

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
I've been in South Africa for 6 weeks now. Villa Afrique has the MOST comfortable bed I have yet to stay in! The property is immaculate. Alma & Dion were very gracious hosts. Breakfast, served in or out, weather conditions considered, was fabulous; fresh fruits, cereals, cheese & meat tray, fresh baked good, eggs how ever you like them. Alma makes a tremendous hollandaise!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel. Nice view. Nice Suburb

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Warm and freindly atmos[here
Had an enjoyable stay, very warm and friendly. Lovely breakfast. Would definitely reccommend.
5 out of 5
by Anne from Wiesbaden

Zu Hause statt im Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels
Neun Tage sich wohlfühlen, willkommen sein, jedwede Unterstützung erfahren, familiären Luxus entspannt genießen
5 out of 5
by Magellan72 from ZA

Excellent choice

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
I reviewed this property online - and found some disturbing reports - but decided to push through and experience this hotel / Bed and breakfast and make up my mind for myself - and I am happy that I did! The host and hostess were friendly, efficient, warm and welcoming, and so very gracious - it was like coming back to a loving home - The location could not be better - 5 minutes walking distance from various restaurants and tourist attractions and a fantastic beach - and the scenery is something to marvel at, Mountains, beach , ocean and mysterious castle on the hill! - note - the road between the B&B and the Wharf can be busy and noisy during the day, the rooms are very quiet and we hardly heard anything at night. Our hostess took great care in advising what to do, where to go and even offered to make a few restaurant reservations on our behalf ! - our room was superb - with a turn down service - we were smitten with Villa Afrique - Breakfast in the morning is a sumptuous affair, lavishly presented and deliciously prepared - we were accommodated with a kosher request for my partner - and that is very much appreciated by him, I can recommend this venue for Bleisure (Business and Leisure) travelers / holiday makers / honeymoon couples / and travelers that would like to get away from the hustle and bustle of Cape Town city centre it self - Houtbay has a charm and a pace all of its own - and no place better to enjoy it all than Villa Afrique -
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hübsches kleines Guesthouse strandnähe

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Angenehme familiäre Atmosphäre,ruhig,sehr höfliche Besitze
5 out of 5
by Chris from SA

Exceptional Customer service

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels
Due to unforeseen issues with our booking the owner made alternative arrangements that saved the day. Professional, friendly and accommodating staff and the rooms are just like the photos/videos.
5 out of 5
by Lucy & Bob from Maarssen

The best B&B ever!

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Everything! But above all the hospitality of our host Alma: she really does everything to give you an unforgettable stay!
Location: Hout Bay, a small town close to Cape Town. Nice beach, nice harbour. Close to Chapmans Peak drive toward Kalk Bay, must go there. Winelands, go there.
Alma Toerien, the owner of the B&B is the most wonderful host one can imagine! Villa Afrique is beautifully located near Hout Bay harbour, the rooms are beautiful, spacious and absolutely immaculate. Breakfast is served at the terrace (with a fresh bunch of flowers every morning on every table!) with fresh fruits, juices, nice bread and eggs any style. This place makes you feel at home from the moment you enter the house and are welcomed by Alma. Nothing is too much, Alma even took her private Nespresso machine down to serve us our caffe latte. She and her husband Deon made our stay in Hout Bay unforgettable.
5 out of 5
by Saori from London

Very well run guesthouse

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels
Very good value for money. It's a good mixture of hotel professionalism & personal touch. The owner goes above & beyond for your comfort. We were offered a glass of champagne for breakfast on the new year day.