Ratings based on 6 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Godalming

Great villa in beautiful location

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: Views. Garden. Breakfast. Hosts. Only one of two property owners who wrote to us after our stay which was nice.
Cons: Shame cottage was not built just a little larger for inside seating but nice room all the same.
Location: Hout Bay down hill with restaurants, some shops and beach. Llandudno beach very close - lovely. Good road access to everywhere! Chapmans Peak a must
The Villa is set on the mountain side on edge of Hout Bay towards Llandudno and is an excellent property with 4 rooms, great garden and pool with lovely views. We stayed in the smallest room in a separate cottage with its own small garden and terrace with great views towards Constantia Nek which was nice with a coffee or wine!. Room very comfortable and nice bathroom. The only small comment is that it would have been great if it had been built slightly larger so it could accommodate inside seating to use on during the cool evenings rather than sitting on the bed. Hosts very welcoming who provided a very enjoyable breakfast and friendly chat. Shame they are moving on but I am sure the new owners will do an equally good job. Good luck for the future. Would revisit in the future.
2 out of 5
by Rob from London

Beautiful guest house intrusive instructions

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The location and garden were superb.
Cons: Get rid of the instructions to guests as to how to behave and what you will be charged if you don't.
Location: Near to local beaches and good location to sit and relax-subject to guidance.
A fantastic location ruined by requests/instructions. A beautiful place which had a series of intrusive almost authoritarian requests as to how to behave. No towels to go to the beach, please replace the garden furniture in the original position, avoid sun tan lotion on bed linen-and here are the charges you will incur if you don't adhere!!.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2015 by Patrice and Catherine, Hotel Management
Thank you for finding our place as fantastic. What you call "intrusive instructions" is only our internal policy where we remind people to respect our house in order for the next guests to find the same quality of accommodation. It is in the interest of everybody. You complained because you have not been allowed to go to the beach with your bathroom towels. Sorry for that but it is not permitted. When you left we discovered that you didn't take care of any other instruction and you destroyed our bed sheets #with embroideries# with your Sun/Tan lotion although you were informed about that. However we didn’t charge your credit card after you left for this damages. On the other hand in staying in a guesthouse it is to meet with others and to enjoy life and conversation with others. I remind you that during your stay your boyfriend never said only once hello at morning time and left without saying bye bye. We use to welcome guest with a better education.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Iain from Scotland

Wonderful accommodation

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Above
Cons: Nothing
Location: Would not want to walk back to location at night but a simple 15 min walk in daylight
Everything excellent. Friendly and helpful mother and son owners. VERY comfortable 7 night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our Villa at Houte Bay

Posted Nov 24, 2012
Pros: The View.
Cons: The security process.
Location: Beautiful view overlooking Houte Bay valley.
The guest house was very comfortable and clean and well maintained. The patrons Patrice and Kathereine were very welcoming and friendly and helpful in planning the trips to places of interest. The breakfasts were meticulously prepared and had some superb homemade jams. Definately a place We go back to again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sehr schönes Guesthouse sehr pingelig geführt

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Lage und perfekt gepflegt. Hat man keine Wünsche, die den Gastgeben nicht behagen, eine perfekte Unterbringung.
Cons: Zahlung sollte 100% im Guesthouse sein, Stornierung bis 04.10. kostenfrei möglich, es wurden aber sofort 50% von der Kreditkarte abgebucht !
Location: Hout Bay und Kapstadt mit PKW alles in Reichweite
Leider hatten wir 2 Tage kühles Wetter 17 Grad und klamme Kälte in unserer Suite. Host Patrice hat auch nach mehrmaligen Bitten den vorhandenen Elektroheizkörper im Zimmer nicht angestellt, so dass wir sehr gefroren haben. Das Haus ist superschön und so makellos, dass es Schilder gibt, dass wenn make-up - Spuren in den Handtüchern sind, eine extra Reinigungsgebühr berechnet wird !? Essen in der Suit sollte man auch nicht - hatten wir eh nicht vor. Wir mussten wegen zu erwartenden Streiks der Fluggesellschaft 2 Nächte früher abreisen und es wurde uns direkt gesagt, dass wir leider den gesamten Aufenthalt zahlen müssten, zumal wir ja über expedia gebucht hätten und eine Provision gezahlt werden müsste. Außerdem hätten wir eine viel günstigere Rate als direkt bei Montebello gebucht, gezahlt. Das mag so sein. Dass aber weil wir um 05.30h morgens abreisen mussten, somit 3 x Frühstück gespart wurde, noch nicht einmal ein Sandwich für den Abreisetag angeboten bekamen, sondern sofort darauf hingewiesen wurden, dass man so früh natürlich nicht aufstehe, finden wir mehr als enttäuschend. Nun wurde von uns für 3 Nächte mehr als die "normale" Rate + Expediaprovision (auf der Rechnung aufgeführt) gezahlt. Das ist nicht das Problem, da wir ja selbst entschieden haben abzureisen. Auch wenn das nicht geplant war. Die Art und Weise von Patrice, immer superfreundlich, aber ignorant unserem Frieren gegenüber, hat uns extrem missfallen.Das Haus wurde verkauft und ab 04/16 neu von geführt!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2016 by Catherine, Hotel Management
Liebe Gäste, Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertungen, aber es ist nicht fair. Tatsächlich, wenn Sie zwei Tage zuvor verlassen ist, dass Lufthansa war ein Streik und bot früh verlassen, den Streik zu vermeiden. Es ist normal, dass Sie den gesamten Aufenthalt bezahlt haben, weil wir eine Stornierungsbedingungen haben, die eindeutig besagt, dass jede Stornierung 30 Tage vor dem Besuch bei 100% in Rechnung gestellt wird. Sie müssen Ihre Reiseversicherung oder Lufthansa zum Ausgleich ein. Das ist nicht unser Problem. Wir sind ein Unternehmen und keine Wohltätigkeit. Für Abfahrt um 5:30 Uhr, wir sind kein Hotel mit einem 24-Stunden / 24-Service, aber eine Gastfamilie und unser Personal kommt um 7:30 Uhr. Wir hatten uns nicht wegen Ihrer Wahl um 5:00 Uhr stehen oder Sandwiches anbieten, die Sie am Flughafen zu finden. Sicher gibt es Heizkörper in den Räumen, die für einen Aufenthalt im Winter gebucht werden und auf jeden Fall im Sommer nicht. Mit einem "Kühlen" bei 17 ° C außerhalb der Zimmer hatte bei 21 ° C gering wie möglich zu sein und es war nicht denkbar, Heizungen im Sommer zu nutzen .... Auch für einen kleinen regen !! Sie würden es zu Hause nicht tun !! Es ist normal, dass im Falle einer Verschlechterung unserer Bettwäsche und die Handtücher in unserem Recht sind Kunden zu berechnen, die nicht erlaubt sind unter dem Vorwand sie zahlen zu zerstören. In Wirklichkeit sind diese Warnungen abschreckend und wir haben noch nie einen einzigen Kunden in sechs Jahren trotz der vielen schmutzigen und lässig Kunden erhielten wir in Rechnung gestellt. Ich denke, das Gästehaus und Gastfamilie nicht Ihrem Wunsch entspricht, zu reisen und die konventionelle Hotels für Ihre Aufenthalte besser geeignet. Catherine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christoph from Stuttgart, Deutschland

Hout Bay, der Supertraum für Capetown

Posted Mar 25, 2012
Pros: beste Lage, fantastische Betreuung, hervorragende Ausstattung
Cons: alles super
Location: ozeannah, citynah, ruhig
Hervorrganede, ruhige Lage mit Traumblick über Hout Bay und das Meer und die Berge. Nur 30 Minuten bis Capetown-Zentrum. Eine phantastische Betreuung durch das französische Owner-Ehepaar.