Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location - close to everything

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: I loved that I could get up in the morning and go for a long walk in either direction with wonderful views. It's a homely hotel.
Cons: I would have loved to have an IRON in my room - after travel, clothes tend to be wrinkled. The bathroom could have done with a fan.
Location: The hotel is approx. 30 minute walk from the V&A Waterfront (a lovely walk). It is 7 minutes in a shuttle. I also walked to Camps Bay which took 1hr.
I really enjoyed my experience in Winchester Mansions - it's definitely the right side of town. The location was great, it's a lovely hotel to stay in. There were 2 options for breakfast sittings, either overlooking the beautiful waterfront or sitting in the lovely courtyard. The food was lovely, service generally was good. Harvey's was great for a drink in the evening. The pool was a bit cold but very refreshing. Lennox the shuttle bus driver was very informative and so nice to all the guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location to stay, eat elsewhere

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is lovely and very close to everything. Staff were friendly. The breakfast was completely average and we popped into Harvey's to have a quick meal after a competition and were very restricted by the menu and average wine list so we left and popped up to a gorgeous bistro on the Sea Point main street which beautiful. So all in all I would stay there again but definitely not eat there.
4 out of 5
by Patrick

Nice place let down by the breakfast.

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice place. However , the breakfast buffet was not the best and I would not eat there again in a hurry.
5 out of 5
by Charlene

Spectacular Stay

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at Winchester for our honeymoon and it was amazing! First, we were upgraded to a balcony suite which overlooked the ocean. The room was very spacious, and clean. The staff was extremely friendly as well. There was a variety of breakfast items to select in the morning, and sitting in the courtyard to enjoy was spectacular. We couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay here, and will definitely come back!
5 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by alan

Tabl Mountain frames this little gem of a hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were excellent, Christmas lunch was very enjoyable with a great live jazz band. Shuttle service very convenient to get down to the V&A.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

flying visit

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Excellent value, seafront location
Cons: parking facilities are limited
Location: We weren't there long enough to explore but it is right on the seafront and a short drive away from the popular Waterfront area
We stayed here for 2 nights - delightful! The hotel, staff, décor and facilities were excellent and the food in the restaurant was of a very high standard. Thoroughly recommended
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient Hotel close to the V&A

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
We had two rooms 103 and 123. Room 123 was really noisy, in as far as there is what I imagine to be a staff or service room on the floor above. It sounded like the continuous trampling of elephants late into the night, resuming early in the morning. I would avoid it. The hotel is of a good standard although ti could do with some refreshing. On a positive note, the staff are really friendly. The restaurant is again very friendly and accommodating. Food is good but no exceptional. The bar has a veranda with a good vantage point to observe the sunset. Taxis to the V&A are R60. There is a shuttle, it took us there no problem but would not pick us up. The V&A is overrated. Sure, the location under the Table Mountain is grand, the weather is nice and sea-side is always good. Still, it's like Bluewaters - for those who live in and around London - or any generic mid to upmarket shopping mall.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charm and character in nice neighbourhood

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice place in a nice residential Capetown neighbourhood close to the city centre. A lot of charm. Nice inclusive breakfast, restaurant a bit disorganised but the place is very nice overall