Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

flying visit

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Excellent value, seafront location
Cons: parking facilities are limited
Location: We weren't there long enough to explore but it is right on the seafront and a short drive away from the popular Waterfront area
We stayed here for 2 nights - delightful! The hotel, staff, décor and facilities were excellent and the food in the restaurant was of a very high standard. Thoroughly recommended
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient Hotel close to the V&A

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
We had two rooms 103 and 123. Room 123 was really noisy, in as far as there is what I imagine to be a staff or service room on the floor above. It sounded like the continuous trampling of elephants late into the night, resuming early in the morning. I would avoid it. The hotel is of a good standard although ti could do with some refreshing. On a positive note, the staff are really friendly. The restaurant is again very friendly and accommodating. Food is good but no exceptional. The bar has a veranda with a good vantage point to observe the sunset. Taxis to the V&A are R60. There is a shuttle, it took us there no problem but would not pick us up. The V&A is overrated. Sure, the location under the Table Mountain is grand, the weather is nice and sea-side is always good. Still, it's like Bluewaters - for those who live in and around London - or any generic mid to upmarket shopping mall.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charm and character in nice neighbourhood

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice place in a nice residential Capetown neighbourhood close to the city centre. A lot of charm. Nice inclusive breakfast, restaurant a bit disorganised but the place is very nice overall
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sophie from Australia

Would definitely stay again!

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
A pleasant stay with very friendly and obliging staff. Facilities and services were excellent. Courtesy bus a bonus. The restaurant and bar meal were great. While we did have an unfortunate incident occur, management was quick to rectify and compensate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Day Thank you for taking time to rate our hotel and for such a kind rating. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us despite the unfortunate incident. Please know that this is not our standard of service we deliver and very glad we managed to get it resolved. We cannot wait to welcome you back to Winchester Mansions! Kind Regards, Murray Nell
3 out of 5
by Boyang from Johannesburg

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, great lounge/Bar and resturant. The rooms could use a revamp
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Boyang Thank you for your rating and feedback. You will be pleased to know we are currently in the process of giving our rooms a soft refurbishment. We hope you will come back again and let us know what your thoughts are regarding it. Thank you for your valuable time. Kind Regards, Murray Nell
5 out of 5
by Ryan from Sydney

Overall excellent!

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
8 nights, good room, good breakfast, very friendly staff, will return next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lausanne, Switzerland

Colonial-style hotel, great charm, a bit decadent

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Patio garden, pool deck (although I was there in the winter); location; complimentary shuttle to the waterfront
Cons: It lacks a certain attention to details, although this is common to SA in general. Don't expect things to work with clockwork precision
This is an old colonial-style hotel. It is a bit decadent, but all right. If you carefully inspect your room, you will find that a few things are not perfect (chipped mirror, scratched furnitures, etc), but no major flaws. It lacks some attention to detail, although this critique is coming from a Swiss resident. The staff is generally helpful, although not always on top of things.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by Murray Nell, Hotel Management
Dear Paolo Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and for your valuable feedback. I am sure should you return in the Summer you will enjoy the Courtyard too. We are aware of the maintenance issues in our rooms and will all be attended to in due time. Kind Regards, Murray Nell
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham UK

Fantastic time

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Hotel is in a fantastic location not to far from the centre. The hotel provides free transport down to the location of all the shops and bars, if you need to know of places to go then the drivers and the hotel staff are more than happy to tell you the best laces and they will even book them for you. All the staff are fantastic.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels