Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

flying visit

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Excellent value, seafront location
Cons: parking facilities are limited
Location: We weren't there long enough to explore but it is right on the seafront and a short drive away from the popular Waterfront area
We stayed here for 2 nights - delightful! The hotel, staff, décor and facilities were excellent and the food in the restaurant was of a very high standard. Thoroughly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lausanne, Switzerland

Colonial-style hotel, great charm, a bit decadent

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Patio garden, pool deck (although I was there in the winter); location; complimentary shuttle to the waterfront
Cons: It lacks a certain attention to details, although this is common to SA in general. Don't expect things to work with clockwork precision
This is an old colonial-style hotel. It is a bit decadent, but all right. If you carefully inspect your room, you will find that a few things are not perfect (chipped mirror, scratched furnitures, etc), but no major flaws. It lacks some attention to detail, although this critique is coming from a Swiss resident. The staff is generally helpful, although not always on top of things.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by Murray Nell, Hotel Management
Dear Paolo Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and for your valuable feedback. I am sure should you return in the Summer you will enjoy the Courtyard too. We are aware of the maintenance issues in our rooms and will all be attended to in due time. Kind Regards, Murray Nell
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham UK

Fantastic time

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Hotel is in a fantastic location not to far from the centre. The hotel provides free transport down to the location of all the shops and bars, if you need to know of places to go then the drivers and the hotel staff are more than happy to tell you the best laces and they will even book them for you. All the staff are fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely hotel with an amazing location!

Posted Apr 10, 2016
This was our first time in Cape Town and we stayed at the hotel for 7 nights. Location was great - just opposite the promonade and lovely green area. The staff was really friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2016 by Murray Nell, Hotel Management
Dearest Sarah and Craig Thank you for staying with us at Winchester Mansions. We appreciate that you have taken the time to rate and review your stay with us at the Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay and that you found the location to your liking. We are incredibly fortunate to be located near the ocean and the beautiful Table Mountain. I will be sure to commend my team with regards to their impeccable service and I am going to share your wonderful feedback with them. We look forward to giving you a warm Cape Town welcome when you next visit us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malawi

Beautiful hotel close to everything

Posted Apr 5, 2016
We loved our stay at Winchester Mansions. The breakfast in the beautiful courtyard was excellent. The hotel is very popular with locals, so do book for the Sunday Jazz Brunch in advance. My only complaint was that they made up our room rather late, but were gracious when we complained. This hotel is opposite the fabulous Promenade in Sea Point. You can walk all the way to Camps Bay or The Waterfront. There is transport like the open-topped red bus or the excellent My City bus opposite the hotel. Book this popular hotel early!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2016 by Murray Nell, Hotel Management
Dear Cheryl Thank you for staying with us at Winchester Mansions. We appreciate your positive review and rating of our hotel. I am truly delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay and that you enjoyed your dining experience at the Jazz Brunch as well as the breakfasts in the courtyard. I will be sure to share your wonderful feedback with my team and I appreciate the positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel to Cape Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk.

Lovely colonial style hotel.

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: Location, right in the Promanade, 5 mins by taxi to the V&A waterfront. Quiet, peaceful rooms, lovely restaurant and courtyard, felt homely.
Cons: Enlarge the roadside seating area, so popular, the place to be seen..
Location: Really good location, I liked being able to walk outside in the morning and be ab,e to join in with the runners, walkers, Invigorating..
We enjoyed three restful nights in this old beauty! Nothing was too much trouble for he staff, the housekeeping dept especially who changed the winter duvet back to a summer lightweight one for me. Lovely courtyard dining area, with fountain, peaceful and tranquil. Wonderful breakfast options, freshly cooked to order, something for everyone. The late check out was extremely helpful, as was the dressing/shower room adjacent to the pool. Could not fault this hotel, location, price, staff five stars!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2016 by Murray Nell, Hotel Management
Dear Trish Thank you for staying with us at Winchester Mansions. I appreciate that you have taken the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay and also for the outstanding review. I am delighted to hear that our staff accommodated you and that you were happy with our customer service at the Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Cape Town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Great location by the water. Good bar, and good restaurant with great seating options at courtyard or facing the water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2016 by Murray Nell, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for staying with us at Winchester Mansions. I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed your dining experience in the restaurant and bar. I appreciate that you have taken the time to send us your valuable feedback and so glad that you appreciated the beautiful views of the ocean from our terrace area. On behalf of myself and our team, we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Cape Town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located for hopon- off bus, promonade

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Very helpful staff, well appointed rooms. Great breakfast buffet. The dinner menu is very limited and the staff is not knowledgeable about the menu. Not impressed. Great terrace for sunset and drinks
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2016 by Murray Nell, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for staying with us here at Winchester Mansions, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. I appreciate that you have taken the time to rate and review our Hotel. I will be sure to commend our staff with regards to providing you with the friendly service that you received during your stay. Regarding the menu and providing more of a variety to our patrons, I will be sure to address this with our Executive Chef and discuss options moving forward. Our Food and Beverage Manager has assured me that the staff training is taking place and I can assure you that the next time you visit us, your dining experience will be fantastic. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the sunsets and beverages on the terrace area overlooking the ocean. We look forward to welcoming you back when you visit Cape Town again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good position near beach/Cape Town/Waterfront Shop

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Position,facilities and food and staff.
Cons: Decor and lighting in bedroom
Location: Across the road from the beach. Near to main V&A shopping Mall on Waterfront. Excellent restaurants nearby.
Very good facilities and food, although bedroom was a little bit 'tired'
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2016 by Murray Nell, Hotel Management
Dear Helen Thank you for staying with us at Winchester Mansions. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. I appreciate that you have taken the time to send us your feedback and rate our hotel. Thank you for bringing to my attention your feedback regarding the bedroom that you were allocated. We do offer our guests a choice of a Modern Classic room option which are loft rooms with contemporary style furnishings, therefore should you book your accommodation with us in future, please do ask for one of our modern rooms. The look of the hotel is colonial and we do have antique furnishings in most of our rooms as this is the general overall style of the Hotel. I will however discuss the lighting issue with our Maintenance Manager to ensure that there is sufficient lighting in all of our rooms. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Cape Town and you had a positive experience dining in our Bar and Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to Winchester Mansions should you visit Cape Town again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't wait to return

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: The location, its old world charm but modern standards. The sea view was to die for and its proximity to the Red Bus was invaluable.
Cons: A spoon in the marmalade and a less wonky table in the courtyard (joke!)
Everything was perfect from start to finish. The staff were invariably cheerful, smiley and helpful. They were not staff but friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2016 by Murray Nell, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind words and fantastic rating, we really appreciate it. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests enjoyed there stay with us and took the time to let us know they did. We do have the most friendliest staff and so glad they made you feel at home. We cannot wair to welcome you back! Thank you for your support.