Ratings based on 1,715 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jan 16, 2018
I really enjoyed staying at Capitol Hill Hotel. Location is good in regards to being close to Cspital Hill and White House. Walkable distance to eating places. Staff was friendly and atmosphere was calm and peaceful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2018
My go to location when traveling to Washington, D.C. for government meetings. Only a block from Capitol Hill and a lot of restaurant and bar options within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medford, MA

Great hotel in a great location!

Posted Jan 15, 2018
We had a great experience at the Capitol Hill Hotel! The staff was excellent and accommodating. It was so close to Capitol Hill and surrounding buildings. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that our room was so hot! The engineering dept came to try and fix it but the air conditioning was shut off for the season. We had a unseasonably warm day in DC, which made the rooms very warm! They did the best they could do and shut off the sensor that makes the fan blow and delivered a box fan to our room but unfortunately, the room stayed very warm. Other than that, I would have given the hotel 5 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Great Location

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: The staff was amazing.
Like it’s name indicates, this hotel is conveniently located near the Capitol and many of DC’s attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Back building was extremely cold in the hallways and elevator. The staff is always super nice and I enjoy staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami fl

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Staff was very friendly and helpful in giving me directions on how to get around to places
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Nice staff and doormen, they were very courteous and patient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice Hotel in Capitol Hill Area of DC

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Good location in Capitol Hill area. Room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: Make sure room amenities are functional. Improve the awful breakfast experience.
Check in was smooth and pleasant. Valet parking was $50, which seemed a bit steep, so we opted to search for street parking. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable - one of the best I've had in a hotel in a long time. Bathroom was tiny, but functional. Water temperature and pressure in shower were excellent. Coffee maker in room was broken. TV was adequate for a hotel room. The breakfast was extremely disappointing. First, breakfast was served in a different building so we had to go outside and walk to the other building in freezing cold temperatures. Second, once we got to the other building, both the room and the food itself were disappointing. The room was small, cramped and extremely noisy. There space was far too small for everything they had happening in it, which made it unpleasant both for the people trying to get to the food and for the people trying to enjoy their meal. As for the food itself, there was no melon assortment, no muffin assortment, no omelet station, no waffle makers, no potatoes, and no biscuits and gravy. There wasn't even any bacon and the mysterious "eggs" appeared to be microwaved. It was very low budget and disappointing. We got our coffee in travel cups then left and had breakfast elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Pros: Close proximity. Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable.
Pros: - Close to Capitol Hill and museums. - Good breakfast, located in one building. Depending on which building your room is, you may need to walk outside to get to breakfast - Free coffee/tea/hot chocolate all day in lounge. - Comfortable rooms. We had a small kitchenette, which included dishes, a microwave and a fridge. - Friendly staff * We were given a free upgrade to a bigger room. We were also provided a gift box of chocolates on Christmas day. Cons/Things to consider: - We had a room opposite the church, bells ring 2 - 3 times a day, including early morning. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room that does not face the church. - The breakfast room got quite full at certain times, especially on week days between 9:30am - 10am. - My husband did not find the mattress comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Myrtle Beach, SC

Incredible staff, home away from home

Posted Dec 31, 2017
So welcoming! Smiles and professionalism. The hotel is cozy, warm and welcoming. The breakfast is well beyond most! The staff at breakfast are so fast and a guest will not go hungry...great assortment. A daily reception is a great way to meet fellow travelers. Location is perfect for a walk to all of the DC attractions, and a block from a multitude of restaurants. The Executive Housekeeper, Zuzanna, was attentive and engaging to be certain our stay was perfect. I will definitely be returning.