Ratings based on 717 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta,GA

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Beautiful hotel, great room, and friendly staff. We loved our stay in DC and would definitely stay with them again, as well as, any of their other properties.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel, location could be better

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Beautiful hotel, 5 star experience through out. Food, service, room, clientele, all top notch. Location is next to an active railway an for our entire stay, a fairly loud 7am freight train rolled through. Otherwise flawless experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Couldn’t be better

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Clean, well located, excellent staff Loved the 8 th floor lounge. Capable bartender.
Cons: Lobby restaurant pretty ordinary
Location: Superb for walking tourists like us.
Great location, a haven after long walk8ng tours.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

What's that noise?

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff.
Cons: Furnishings, noise abatement
Location: Great location with proximity to the national mall and capital.
Great location near capitol and mall, but not so great is the immediately adjacent train tracks. Despite our room being on the other side of the hotel, we could hear what sounded like a constant drum roll whenever the train passed by, which is fairly often. Hotel staff were accommodating when we asked to change our room, which was originally closer to the train and had a very choppy layout. We also weren't impressed with the furnishings which were perfectly acceptable, but not what we were expecting for The Mandarin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilton Head

Nice Homecoming Weekend

Posted Oct 23, 2017
The Mandarin Oriental was nice; however, not worth the commandéd 500.00 a night room rate. The rooms were not as luxurious as some other MO properties; however, the bathrooms are exclusive. Love the idea that one can luxuriate in the choice of a bath or shower. The bath room is spacious, and has luxury touches of a sitting stool, lighted magnifying makeup mirror, Hermès bathing products, manicure set, robes, slippers, and five pièce fixtures in both shower and tub. I did not like that the hotel requests a hold of 150 per nights for minibar expenses. I only do club level rooms, and prepayment. I do not care for anyone to place holds on my credit card for minibars I do not use. I asked to speak with a manager, and placed my concerns. I offered to give only 150 cash deposit to be returned to me on my departure, and he accepted. The bell hops are extremely nice and friendly The Club Level food service was extremely good. They have nice hot breakfasts with eggs, chicken sausage, bacon, croissants, fresh juices, fruits, excellent teas, fresh yogurt, fruits, smoked salmon, etc. Evenings, they have a nice Happy Hour with nice selections of red/white wines and hot appetizers (Thai chicken with sauces over rice, cheese/veggie/fruit platters, Asian dumplings). Please tip daily maid service 3/5 dollars for exceptional service. Turndown service is awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful Hotel in DC

Posted Sep 28, 2017
I am a frequent traveler and find the Mandarin Hotel to be exceptional. Fantastic staff, luxurious accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Posted Sep 23, 2017
The staff was absolutely accommodating in every way! Such great hospitality and friendliness. The room was amazing. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rhode island

Good location

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Staff great and convenient location. Good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great Hotel and very well located

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Hotel, Location and staff were excellent.
Cons: The check in was a bit disorganised, we had informed the hotel of early arrival and we waited 90mins for our room which was frustrating
Location: Well located to Capital Hill, Whitehouse and a number of Museums.
Lovely hotel, very well located and excellent staff...a pleasure to stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Excellent view of Jefferson Memorial from room

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Service level and location to attractions.
Cons: PIllows - they offered one soft and one hard. Would have preferred all soft.
Location: Located in the middle of the attractions. close to Jefferson memorial (5to 10 min walk); within walking distance to Smithsonian, etc..
We stay at all 5 star hotels across the world. This is our first stay at the Mandarin Oriental. We had room 903 on floor 9 with was a "club level" room. We paid $236.00 per night on Expedia. Club level gave us access to their lounge with had outstanding breakfasts in the morning and full bar and food from 5 to 7 pm each day. The alcohol is free through 10 pm and on the weekends (aka: SUnday) it opens at 12 noon to 10 pm free alcohol. Great wines (not cheap ones you find in other hotels). THey had my Canadian Club and Sprite, Vodka and tonic, etc.. We ate enough food that we rarely needed dinner afterwards. The view was outstanding. Floor to ceiling window looking out over the water and directly to the Jefferson memorial. Spectacular. When we arrived the valet gave us an option of a tea or water. We arrived at 11 am which was earlier than the 3 pm checkin time. He found us a room and upgraded us so we could check in now. Then Will, the person who checked us in, was professional and walked us to the elevator. The woman who manages the club lounge, Herta, from Germany, was outstanding. If there was something you needed she would go downstairs to get it. Incredible service. They constantly offered us free ice cold water bottles since they knew we were walking the mall in the sun. All I can say is WOW! This is an incredible property and we will definitely go back and stay at their properties in other cities! THANK YOU to the ENTIRE staff.