Ratings based on 689 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rhode island

Good location

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Staff great and convenient location. Good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great Hotel and very well located

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Hotel, Location and staff were excellent.
Cons: The check in was a bit disorganised, we had informed the hotel of early arrival and we waited 90mins for our room which was frustrating
Location: Well located to Capital Hill, Whitehouse and a number of Museums.
Lovely hotel, very well located and excellent staff...a pleasure to stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Excellent view of Jefferson Memorial from room

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Service level and location to attractions.
Cons: PIllows - they offered one soft and one hard. Would have preferred all soft.
Location: Located in the middle of the attractions. close to Jefferson memorial (5to 10 min walk); within walking distance to Smithsonian, etc..
We stay at all 5 star hotels across the world. This is our first stay at the Mandarin Oriental. We had room 903 on floor 9 with was a "club level" room. We paid $236.00 per night on Expedia. Club level gave us access to their lounge with had outstanding breakfasts in the morning and full bar and food from 5 to 7 pm each day. The alcohol is free through 10 pm and on the weekends (aka: SUnday) it opens at 12 noon to 10 pm free alcohol. Great wines (not cheap ones you find in other hotels). THey had my Canadian Club and Sprite, Vodka and tonic, etc.. We ate enough food that we rarely needed dinner afterwards. The view was outstanding. Floor to ceiling window looking out over the water and directly to the Jefferson memorial. Spectacular. When we arrived the valet gave us an option of a tea or water. We arrived at 11 am which was earlier than the 3 pm checkin time. He found us a room and upgraded us so we could check in now. Then Will, the person who checked us in, was professional and walked us to the elevator. The woman who manages the club lounge, Herta, from Germany, was outstanding. If there was something you needed she would go downstairs to get it. Incredible service. They constantly offered us free ice cold water bottles since they knew we were walking the mall in the sun. All I can say is WOW! This is an incredible property and we will definitely go back and stay at their properties in other cities! THANK YOU to the ENTIRE staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I wish i could give this place 10 stars ✨

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Excellent service, beautiful and comfortable room. Must try the cocktails at the bar!! I'd definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and very friendly staff

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Located within a reasonable walking distance of the National Mall. The hotel has all of the facilities that you'll need, an excellent restaurant and very helpful, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo

Excellent!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
5 star hotel! Loved the location and privacy button
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Proximity to centre of Washington DC

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Its close proximity to the main places and buildings of interest, the Capitol , Washington Monument, etc., which entailed short taxi journeys.
Cons: Nothing comes readily to mind.
Location: As above
Friendly and efficient staff. Always ready to offer and give assistance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Coral, Fl

THE MOST AMAZING STAY, EVER

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Everything was perfectly executed!
Cons: Not a thing
Location: Everything, very confidently located!
From when we pulled our car up to the front doors of this exceptional hotel, I knew we had made the right decision. My passenger door opened and this amazing smile said" Welcome to the Mandarin Oriental Hotel". Check in was flawless, even anamzing cup of tea served to us. And then our room, Club level, City view, perfect!. The ladies in the Club, went above and beyond, to cater to the masses that of people. ( we were there 4th of July week) please don't think about booking this hotel, you"lol never have a better experience. ...believe me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Beautiful hotel! Close to Mall

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Top-notch in every way. Comfortable room and bed. Spacious and bright. Everything in good repair and very clean. Walkable to mall and close to Metro. Concierge was helpful in getting tickets for African American history museum. Overall a very nice experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to the museums.

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: The room and pillows
Cons: Should have free wi-fi
Location: Great location. Near most of the museums and the national mall.
Loved my room and the especially the pillows. The breakfast food was excellent. Loved the high tea also. Loved the warm pool with the massaging pulses.