Ratings based on 730 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly located for touring Washington

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Terrific staff. Great location. Walk around the tidal basin to get to the Mall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Five star hotel with critical flaws

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Facilities
Cons: Service / food / room temp control
What distinguishes a world class 5 star hotel -- especially one associated with Oriental service and luxury -- from a 4 start hotel is flawless execution. In this, the Mandarin Oriental fails. My wife and stayed for a weekend night at a Club level room. Here are some of the negative items in terms of severity: 1. Rapacious employees. Went down to the Spa to use the pool. I asked the spa hostess for the locker room, slippers, and a bathrobe, so I could change into my swimming trunks. The hostess told me to change in the tiny "Family Room" next to the pool, and that use of the locker room (which includes access to sauna), slippers, and bathrobe would be $20 for the day. I told her I was Club Level. She retorted that Club Level has access to locker room only on weekdays, not weekends. Eventually I had to call management who cleared the issue. Not sure if this was a rouge employee, or company policy to nickle and dime guests. Either way, the Spa felt more like an backstreet alley in Naples than a Balinese spa. This reflects *extremely* poorly in a 5 star hotel. 2. Extreme room climate control. On a cold winter day (below freezing), setting the thermostat at 76F the rooms was very hot. At 75F very cold. And so on. 3. Dan dan noodles at Muze restaurant were mediocre. Room breakfast for two. Sausages low quality, idem for cheese in omelette. Not worth $86. Coffee machine in club level room is mediocre. Get a Nespresso.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Started at checkin.....

Posted Jan 11, 2018
I’d requested by email a 2 Q room on a high floor in a quiet location. Receptionist was not familiar with request although I’d rec’d Confirmation email. Bathroom was lovely but run down and not clean; I caught my toe in a hole in duvet cover tossing in night and it ripped Drapes drawn on arrival and only after a sleepless night found out we were literally on top of a loud active industrial railway! We were moved but only to other side of hotel next to a major highway.! Mandarins used to be favorite hotels but will not be seeing us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very close walking distance to the Mall

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Cons: No happy that the waiter at breakfast tried to bill us for full breakfast rather than just cold breakfast. Then she charged separately for coffee
Location: Museums are walking distance away.
Room had a nice view of the Potomac. Rooms were very quiet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Softest bed ever

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Loved the bed and sheets they were amazingly soft. Staff bends over backwards for you which is nice but geez I think they’d throw themselves down in a puddle so you could walk on them and keep your feet dry. Anyway the room and bathroom were beautiful. Everything smells faintly of oranges. Discovered coffee area for guests on our last morning wish they had told us it was there earlier. Hotel restaurant very nice. Breakfast buffet is amazing loved the miso soup and edamame dumplings and it was the best yogurt parfait I’ve ever had. Anyway, very nice place probably too nice for an old grouch like me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta,GA

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Beautiful hotel, great room, and friendly staff. We loved our stay in DC and would definitely stay with them again, as well as, any of their other properties.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel, location could be better

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Beautiful hotel, 5 star experience through out. Food, service, room, clientele, all top notch. Location is next to an active railway an for our entire stay, a fairly loud 7am freight train rolled through. Otherwise flawless experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Couldn’t be better

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Clean, well located, excellent staff Loved the 8 th floor lounge. Capable bartender.
Cons: Lobby restaurant pretty ordinary
Location: Superb for walking tourists like us.
Great location, a haven after long walk8ng tours.
5 out of 5
by Brandi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

What's that noise?

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff.
Cons: Furnishings, noise abatement
Location: Great location with proximity to the national mall and capital.
Great location near capitol and mall, but not so great is the immediately adjacent train tracks. Despite our room being on the other side of the hotel, we could hear what sounded like a constant drum roll whenever the train passed by, which is fairly often. Hotel staff were accommodating when we asked to change our room, which was originally closer to the train and had a very choppy layout. We also weren't impressed with the furnishings which were perfectly acceptable, but not what we were expecting for The Mandarin.