Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Hidden gem

Posted Sep 4, 2016
We love hiking so it was perfect for us! Away from the crowd, it has its own yard, very big. They have fresh figs! It was the first time we had them, sweet, soo yummy! The owners are quite friendly, relaxed. We were both picked up and sent back to the port free of charge! And the 1st day after we arrived she baked us a pizza after we told her we had not have lunch at 3 pm. Overall it was a quite nice experience living at Al Mulino.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable gem tucked away in a lovely setting

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The location, atmosphere, quietness, grounds, staff and breakfast.
Cons: Inform guests about all the pricing options available for additional hotel services (laundry), restaurants and activities, not just the high-end.
Location: Enjoy the small but well-landscaped grounds and rent scooters. Visit the Blue Grotto, the lighthouse and town squares in Anacapri and Capri.
The hotel was available at the very last minute for which we were very appreciative. We planned our trip only the week prior to our arrival. The staff was friendly and accommodating to me, my wife and teenage sons. Outdoor breakfasts we very nice. We were given recommendations of where to eat and what to do. And while the restaurants and activities were good for the most part, they seemed to be a network of providers who were good friends/business partners who all charged rates at the high, upper end for their services to appearing wealthy tourists. The worst case was a $168 round the island "boat tour" which was very pleasant but the captain could not speak English, so we didn't know the history of what we saw during the 3-hour trip. We expected a "tour" but were given a ride. We would have appreciated being told about alternative non-private boat tours for half the cost which were readily available and which we would have preferred. We only found out later about the less expensive options. We had a similar experience when we were directed to a scooter provider who was a difficult man who made us feel as though he was doing us a favor by renting us two very expensive scooters, at $224/scooter for about 36 hours. The worst offense was when we asked to do a load of laundry, mostly for our teenage sons. It cost us $130 for boxers, t-shirts, shorts and boys' socks, all ironed and folded. We'd have MUCH preferred to be told how expensive it would be. We'd have opted out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

A memorable stay

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Excellent hospitality - I received welcome message once I made my booking. And they have been constantly communicating with us to confirm the meeting point. On the day of check in, they picked us up from the pier which is a great relief to us (as we all have big and heavy luggage......and it's soooo hot at Capri). They also made the extra effort to guide us where to go and took us to see the sunset. Very lovely and kind family. This accommodation is also a great place to stay if you plan to go Blue Grotto. Instead of taking ferry from Capri ferry pier, we just took bus (around 10 mins) to go Blue Grotto which save us much time and money, and more importantly a shorter queue to get into the Grotto. The accommodation is also clean and neat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016
The hotel is run by a lovely family who can't help you enough. The room's are immaculate and even come with a mosquito plug! The hotel itself seems quite far out but it's actually only a 15 minute walk from the centre of Anacapri. We got cabs to and from the hotel on most occasions but this won't be for everyone because cabs on Capri Island are expensive. There is a regular bus service, and the owner of the hotel helpfully points the many bus stops out to you on your way to the hotel, but they're always jam-packed! Overall, this is a very pleasant hotel, which I would happily recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is a lovely small family run establishment. A taxi is required to get from the hotel to shopping, restaurants etc. There isn't a pool, but the garden is lovely. It is a great location for a retreat and rest and relaxation. The family are extremely friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2015
A warm and comfortable family own and operate hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Wonderful ambiance. A secluded paradise near both cities in a very charming neighborhood. Would absolutely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Moody, BC

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Lovely hotel and really friendly staff! Good breakfast too.
2 out of 5
by Jacqueline from Berlin

Clean and pretty hotel, staff frustrating.

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
This is a clean beautiful bed and breakfast. Other than that the experience was poor. The staff was not helpful in terms of making dinner reservations, coordinating transportation, and giving directions to town etc. We were told the walk into town was 20 minutes, took 35 and all uphill, we were told there was a food market 5 minutes up the road, took 20 minutes to walk there, all uphill and then when we got back to hotel they told us the market delivers. The staff just doesn't proactively tell guests about actual time to get around, best places to eat (they give touristy restaurants, nothing authentic Italian) and they make promises regarding transportation that they do not keep (Claimed they could take us and another couple, 5 people, to port when we needed to depart. Came time to leave and they were not available to take us). The Hotel is not in a good location. It is in Anacapri but not close to the town. By car takes 10 minutes but cabs are VERY EXPENSIVE and they do not have a shuttle service. There is a bus 5 minutes walk from hotel but not reliable with timing. If you walk into central Anacapri it takes 35 minutes straight uphill. Very tough walk both there and back. They need to have a shuttle service from the hotel. The staff overall was just not helpful and not willing to go out of their way to give us tips and tricks about how to best get around and visit Capri. We would NOT stay there again.
5 out of 5
by sergey from Miami

Wonderful 1,5 days in Anacapri

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
Unfortunately it was only one night in Anacapri.This little family hotel is very very nice,surrounded by beautiful garden,every room has a patio in the garden.Everything is spotless clean,very quiet. Antonietta the owner met us in the port and drove to the hotel,was very helpful to give us information what to see in Anacapri and Capri since we did not have too much time,arranged our tickets to get to the Naples and bring our luggage to the port next day.I can not say enough good things about this place.Little off from main attractions but it did not bother us I liked to feel like you live here not just visiting,and the walking on that beautiful quiet streets was very nice, public transportation was very convenient.