Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hilo

Shabby, nothing like the pictures.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Great bed!
Location: Great seaside location, close to snorkeling, dolphin watching, sunbathing.
Less than satisfactory, live worms of some kind on the floor of the bathroom.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Homey

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful people took me in and made me feel at home and wonderful breakfast, very happy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Evans, GA

An Unforgettable Magical Experience

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Very helpful, flexible and considerate manager Barbara, delicious breakfast, the singing morning birds and the wake up call from the nearby roosters.
Cons: Warn the customers of what they may face.
Location: Location difficult to find, especially in the night. But plenty of water sports in the beaches nearby.
The place was difficult to find even with the help of Google maps. The front rickety gate closed with the rope. The driveway and the parking place was all loose gravels. The room was on a steep uphill climb with no lights to see in the night. The room had NO AC, NO ceiling fan, NO telephone, and NO TV. The room had no front door for any privacy, only a sliding screen door and two hanging drapes acting as front door. The room had two large windows with screens and nothing to prevent outside noise or the blowing wind. In the night, the noise from the insects and frogs outside was so loud that the manager gave us earplugs for sleeping. There was no protection from insects and we had to throw out several millipedes and other worms from the room before going to sleep. There was a warning in the room that if you saw a big black spider, it was harmless and call the manager. No nearby restaurant willing to make a delivery. So we slept without a decent supper. But we all slept well and woke up with the sweet sounds of the birds singing melodies and the wake up call from the nearby roosters. The breakfast was delicious consisting of 6 different fruits from the owner's garden. My daughter and I loved the experience but my wife threatened to walk out if we did not move and we did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and Peaceful Place

Posted Aug 9, 2016
This is exactly what is being advertised. A gorgeous peaceful place in the trees. This is not the Marriot (which they state on their website) and I wouldn't want it to be. Will and Barbara were lovely and accommodating in every way. They made exceptional breakfast with fresh fruit from the property. They gave incredible suggestions on what to do in the area. It was a perfect place to go. And I will DEFINITELY be returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dragonfly Ranch

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
This is not a traditional hotel. It is a retreat. If you are simply looking for an easy place to stay for a night and a quick start in the morning, you will not be able to give this place and its owner the attention they deserve. Dragonfly Ranch has been lovingly and artfully crafted as a haven for meditation, contemplation, and healing, complete with a colorful labyrinth. Although it's rather rustic, each room is a work of art studded with gems like these: an actual Victorian loveseat; funky, sculptural lamps; round bathtub in the bedroom; environmentally conscious, paper bag-covered floors; and many more quirky details created, collected, and curated by Barbara Moore over 42 years of ownership. This is a place that merits time and exploration. Unfortunately, we were not able to give it the attention it deserves as we were just making a quick stop on our way to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Great place to recharge, heal and renew oneself

Posted May 6, 2016
Barbara is the most caring host I've ever met. Her ranch home exudes an energy of well being and its comforts are healthy and yummy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice experience, one night is okay

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
I have never had a experience like this before, to live in the forest, your neighbors are geckos, lizards, cocks, etc. The breakfast is nice and healthy, you can have organic food either, I like the papaya very much, and the friendly landscape make the breakfast fantastic. The bathroom does not have windows, so I love the nature sights when I was taking shower. The geckos scared me a little bit at night, so I was feared to use the bathroom at night. I'd like to have this experience, but one night is adequate for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun place to stay!

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Pros: It was fun staying in this bed and breakfast. We felt like we were sleeping in a treehouse! The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Location: Great beach for snorkeling nearby.
It was fun staying in this bed and breakfast. We felt like we were sleeping in a treehouse! The staff was very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

A new ages nightmare from the seventies

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was okay. View from deck was nice.
Cons: Building structure was not well built enough to fix. They need doors, locks, flooring. Cleaning would help a bit.
Location: There is a bay for snorkeling
Many strange denizens inhabit this property. Someone stays in an old painted trailer. There are sheds and black plastic and the steep stone front walkway is marked as unsafe. No locks on our door (bamboo slats). Outside shower toilet and cracked sink. Floor in our room, the Dolphin, was made of cracked and partially missing vinyl tiles. Paper thin walls, stains on ceiling, Dirty Windows. Breakfast was okay. We helped ourselves to fruit, bread, granola, coffee. Expedia steered us wrong by giving the Dragonfly a decent rating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More like a commune than B and B

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Difficult access. Surprise outdoor loo. Staff apparently are long term guests. Run down and no hot water. Throw back to '70's which would be okay if it was marketed as such. Breakfast very generous; views beautiful.