Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hilo

Shabby, nothing like the pictures.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Great bed!
Location: Great seaside location, close to snorkeling, dolphin watching, sunbathing.
Less than satisfactory, live worms of some kind on the floor of the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and Peaceful Place

Posted Aug 9, 2016
This is exactly what is being advertised. A gorgeous peaceful place in the trees. This is not the Marriot (which they state on their website) and I wouldn't want it to be. Will and Barbara were lovely and accommodating in every way. They made exceptional breakfast with fresh fruit from the property. They gave incredible suggestions on what to do in the area. It was a perfect place to go. And I will DEFINITELY be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Great place to recharge, heal and renew oneself

Posted May 6, 2016
Barbara is the most caring host I've ever met. Her ranch home exudes an energy of well being and its comforts are healthy and yummy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun place to stay!

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Pros: It was fun staying in this bed and breakfast. We felt like we were sleeping in a treehouse! The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Location: Great beach for snorkeling nearby.
It was fun staying in this bed and breakfast. We felt like we were sleeping in a treehouse! The staff was very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

A new ages nightmare from the seventies

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was okay. View from deck was nice.
Cons: Building structure was not well built enough to fix. They need doors, locks, flooring. Cleaning would help a bit.
Location: There is a bay for snorkeling
Many strange denizens inhabit this property. Someone stays in an old painted trailer. There are sheds and black plastic and the steep stone front walkway is marked as unsafe. No locks on our door (bamboo slats). Outside shower toilet and cracked sink. Floor in our room, the Dolphin, was made of cracked and partially missing vinyl tiles. Paper thin walls, stains on ceiling, Dirty Windows. Breakfast was okay. We helped ourselves to fruit, bread, granola, coffee. Expedia steered us wrong by giving the Dragonfly a decent rating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More like a commune than B and B

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Difficult access. Surprise outdoor loo. Staff apparently are long term guests. Run down and no hot water. Throw back to '70's which would be okay if it was marketed as such. Breakfast very generous; views beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salinas, Ca

Good for.someone.who wants peace and quiet

Posted May 26, 2015
Very peaceful, just the sounds of nature and an occasional windchime. No TV in the rooms but they do have WIFI if you need to stay connected. Organic food for breakfast! This would be great for people wanting to go on retreat. I really enjoyed my stay and have already told some of my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

a great place to stay

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: the location and staff
Location: near is a great buy to go swimming in each morning. snokel gear was lent free of charge.
I arrived last and was warmly greeted by staff who had showed me to my room. I awoke in the morning to the sounds of bird song. after a very nice break fast the staff then showed me around and answered any question I had. told me of thing I may like to do and near by places of interest. they explained how to get a few locations wanted to visit, on the whole they could not of been more helpful and friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Not for everyone

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Our recent stay at the Dragonfly Ranch was disappointing. We knew it was a bit rustic and that was part of the appeal. Our host Barbara was extremely gracious and helpful. Unfortunately, our room -- we stayed in the Writer's Retreat -- was uncomfortable. The main bed was like a rock and made it difficult to sleep. It was loud during the night with from the dogs on the property. The outdoor shower was very cold. Again, the staff was great and very accomdating. Some updates to the bed and access to hot water would help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Mexico and Idaho

Perfect jungle retreat

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing
Location: Just south of Captain Cook on the Kona side of the Big Island of Hawaii. There is snorkeling, surfing, shopping and hiking nearby.
For those who love nature and the feel of living in an open environment, the Dragonfly Ranch is a perfect choice. They have a wonderful all organic breakfast, and the rooms are supplied with everything you might need. Barbara, our host is so welcoming and full of interesting information. As we adventured around the lush property we found a large organic garden, bursting with vigorous plants, and a yoga pavilion. Our room was the Honeymoon Suite which I would recommend as the preferred choice. It has a secluded outdoor shower, and sunken tub among lush plants. Also a comfortable balcony patio where we enjoyed a lovely sunset and view of the ocean through the jungle trees. Because of its location on a terraced hill there are many steps which may be hard for older guests. The ambiance is casual and earthy.