Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Alan from Chicago

Why did I stay here?

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
They took my belongings out of my room (while i was gone) after they already checked me into my room. Very wrong and a violation of my privacy not to mention unprofessional. They (duh) claimed they checked me into the wrong room. Then after apolgizing they claimed they would contact Hotels.com to somehow placate me by giving me a free evening, of course they did not do that. Aside from that goofy little experience the place is 1-2 stars at best. Carpets in the hallways and rooms are disgusting looking, plastic cups, bad lighting, etc, etc. Staying there probably will not be a good experience for you.
4 out of 5
by Alison from Chicago

Perfect for a weekend stay!

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for a concert at SIU. The man at the front desk was VERY welcoming and even allowed us to check in early. Our room was cleaned, the shower was impressive (not moldy at all), there was a fridge, microwave, and a mini cupboard. The bed was very comfortable and the AC worked (almost) too well. I was very hesitant about this hotel after reading reviews about the carpet being disgusting and such but I am glad I did! It was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Karate Kev

The hotel seemed old and in need of a refresh.

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Orbitz
The carpet was worn and stained. The staff was friendly, but not very knowledgeable. The room numbers were taped to the door. But the price was right!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Good hotel to stay at.

Posted Nov 9, 2015
I had previously stayed at this hotel while it was under construction. It was a little disappointing at that time. This stay was much better. They need to change the carpet, otherwise not a bad place to stay. The choice of pillows was a nice touch.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Disappointed

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Not too far from Southern Illinois University.
Cons: The carpeting NEEDS to be replaced!! OLD AND VERY DIRTY!!!!
Upon entering Comfort Inn Suites the hotel seems decent. The person who checked us in was very friendly. The entryway and foyer area set a nice tone, it appeared clean and inviting. And that is where it ends.... The moment you enter the hall to find your room, the carpeting is very dirty, disgusting and the condition is OLD!!!!! I wouldn't be surprised if that carpeting was the same as when the hotel was built or remodeled. The FILTHY carpeting seems to be on each floor and in YOUR ROOM. The room had a musty smell. The mattress in our room sagged in the center but was okay to sleep in, not the best, but fair. While the entryway, foyer area and our individual room was clean, as well as the condition of the bathroom and furnishings in the bedroom being decent, I couldn't get past how dirty, gross and old the carpeting was (you wouldn't be walking barefoot in any area of the hotel)! Unfortunately, the carpeting made me question how clean things were in the hotel that I couldn't see. I wound up not eating the free breakfast at the hotel and went out. I don't require the finest hotels to stay in, or the best view, but I do need a clean environment.
3 out of 5
by Robert from St. Louis

Go somewhere else.

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
This place is way over priced. The room was worn out. Carpet needs replaced and the bathroom ceiling needs remoded.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

road trip

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Carpet in halls totally disgusting! Looked like a frat house. Not quite as bad in rooms but I would not recommend anyone to stay there until this carpet has been replaced. We nearly checked out after walking down the hallway. Only didn't because we knew we'd be gone from hotel most of the time while in town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok to stay

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Place was nice with exception of floors. Floors were pretty bad.