Ratings based on 325 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to rest and relax

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Very quiet and quaint. A good place to stay when traveling.
Location: This motel is located in a small town, so not many choices.
Conditions were very cold outside and the room was warm and cozy throughout the night. Bed was good and the breakfast was good as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rensselaer IN

Centered from Shawnee National Forest

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Everything was okay but there was kids who kept running down the hall. Also the breakfast was blah.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Decent value

Posted Nov 14, 2016
A decent, but not great experience for the price. Building in facilities need work, but they seem clean and the desk staff was efficient and helpful. Outside doors both unable to close or lock, so security could be an issue if that's not addressed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gilman, IL

For your basic needs at a low price.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
If you are only needing a stopover place at the lowest available rate then this will be an adequate stop. The continental breakfast was ok, the waffle batter was not available so hard-boiled eggs, cereal or pastries were the options. The indoor pool was ok, if not a visual pleasure, though the hot tub was milky and not worth my risk. The cleanliness of the hallways were lower than the room, however the room appeared clean. The neighborhood is "edgy" but did not appear to be dangerous and there were no disturbances in my 2 nights there though I did have finger writing in the dew on my car with a mild expletive/threat("Chris was here, you a b***h")the morning I left however I do not believe it was intended at me and was more the passing "thoughts" of someone perusing the lot. In summary, if money is your concern and a decent room is all you need, then lock your car up when you go in and you will get through town with a minimum of hassle and an adequate night of rest...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Econolodge Maion IL

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Room was spacious. Heater wasn't noisy.
Cons: Water drain in sink was a little slow.
Location: Good location. Had easy access to the Interstate. Was close to my next day activity.
I don't need a lot of special things, and this hotel was spot on. Internet connection was good. Bathroom was clean and efficient. Bed was solid. No outside noise. Breakfast was adequate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Overall not a comfortable stay especially for 80 with my yorkie. . won't stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Dirty

Posted Sep 19, 2016
There was a stained mattress sitting in the hallway to the stairs. The stairs were filthy, two lights didn't work in the room, there was hair in the tub, the room was musty smelling, the hot tub water was murky, there was a film on top of the pool water, all the doors into the building were left open at all times, and there was garbage littered over the grounds. I did not feel safe while staying there and would never stay at an econolodge ever again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down, I've been in worse though.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Check in was easy, sheets on the bed are super rough and the beds are pretty lumpy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nothing fancy, but nice for one night.

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Nice, simple, clean hotel. Nothing fancy, but met our needs for a quick stop off the highway and a cheap night in the hotel before moving on to the Shawnee National Forest for a weekend of camping. I wouldn't stay here for more than one night, but I would stay here again in a similar situation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible even if low cost.

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
AC didn't work so large fans in hallway and security doors open all night.