Ratings based on 336 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Our hotel room was very clean and we had no difficulties with room key or amenities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carbondale, Il

Hotel was conveniently located near SIU.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Location was conveniently located near Southern Illinois University. Desk employee friendly and accommodating. He let us check in 1.5 hours early. The beds in our room were horrible. They claimed they were queen size but I believe they were full size. The beds were very "springy" or "bouncy". My wife couldn't get comfortable and whenever she moved in the slightest the movement transferred to my side and kept me awake. I finely resorted to sleeping on the floor with no blanket.(They don't keep an extra blanket in the closet.) There is no sink in the bathroom, just the toilet and bathtub-shower combo. The supplied shampoo and conditioner are staged on the sink counter in the room, not in the bathroom. The towels were not absorbent due to the overuse of fabric softener. Overall what we needed was a good night sleep and couldn't get it. I cannot recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola, FL

Nice motel close to parks.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
I stayed overnight in this motel. It is close to Amtrak/Greyhound Bus Station and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bolingbrook, Il

Friendly staff, English not their first language

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendly staff and improvements in process (did not like the odors associated with them), but they are working hard to fix up
Cons: Language, it took so long to check in as we did not understand what he was saying. Pool, you advertise it and it is in need of repair and towels.
Location: Walking to many stores and movie theater were great.
Check in was hard as accents and language was difficult to understand, especially being a senior. Everyone was pleasant and respectful, just difficult to understand. Remodeling and the smell of contact glue was an instant head ache. Pool was not in good repair, the lining was missing and not inviting. The Pool and the area was clean, but there were no pool towels there and not a sign of where to get them from. Allowing people to smoke right outside the doors meant you smelled of smoke even though you do not smoke. There were NO KLEENEX in the room, no instructions for TV, 2 remotes, TV guide was in a 6-8 font, needed magnification to read. The room was clean, neat and well taken care of. New carpet, still smelled of that NEW aroma, needed to be aired out. ALL the bedding was cleaned and freshly laundered without any fragrances of fabric softener, A+++++++. New entry system for the room and the doors, made the security feel to feel safe. Employees were constantly talking to each other or on the phone, speaking a foreign language, not a comfortable feeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hudson, FL

Helpful Staff

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Met our needs, comfortable beds.
Cons: Local restaurant guide in room. Guide/directions for tv & remote.
Location: SIU nearby.
Remodel of lobby taking place, but no inconvenience to us. Good they are reinvesting in the hotel. Helped me by loaning me a tool to replace a car fuse. We felt welcome and the staff treated us like guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel staff was great, the location was excellent, and the property has had a lot of improvements. The only problem was there is still an odor from cigarette smoke, not overwhelming but very noticeable. We did not take advantage of the exercise room or pool.
5 out of 5
by Rene

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by David

Definitely worth the stay

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
This was a great deal for the money. Better quality and service than more expensive stays we have had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Quality inn was still in the last stages of their remodel during our stay. The staff was pretty friendly and the room stayed clean