Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Not happy at all

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The staff was very friendly but when I got there ice machines on both floors were out of order. Wanted to go swimming, pool and fitness center wasn't available but you could walk across the street to the Best Western and use their pool and fitness center. Got up fir breakfast expecting a hot breakfast like was advertised and again they didn't have breakfast, but you could go across the street to Best Western. If I wanted to go use their facilities I would of booked a room there. The only response I got from staff is they are renovating. If I knew this I wouldn't of stayed it was horrible. We stayed three days because we already were locked into the room and couldn't get out if it. No refund or discount was given. I will never go back there. Mo cleaning service came in except gave us towels and changed the garbage can. My refrigerator was freezing all our drinks. And when we said something they said sorry we are renovating!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Nice hotel. Would stay there again. The staff was very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Would not recommend

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable
Cons: CLEANLINESS!!! As well as having the cleaning staff learn respect for those staying at the hotel
Location: Close to quite a few restaurants, the mall, and SIU campus
We were very disappointed with our experience at this hotel. There were toe nail clippings on the floor under the desk from the people who stayed there before us, which was disgusting. There was no "do not disturb" sign to put on the door, and at one point when one of us was in the room, room service whipped the door open without even knocking. To top it all off, room service left our door propped open (as well as several other rooms nearby). That wouldn't have been a big deal if the cleaning staff were nearby, but no one from room service was anywhere to be found when I got back to the room and found the door open. We make a point to not leave valuables in the hotel room when traveling, but were very uncomfortable at the fact that anyone could have walked into our room. We would definitely not recommend this hotel, especially not for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convient

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
,There was construction, the pool at this hotel was under construction, but we were able to swi m next door. Breakfast pretty typical, but good. Price OK.TV was not hooked up, but WiFi worked so we used our devices. Newly painted walls.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was rude and lacking information until asked Room was old holes in curtains burn marks from iron in carpet Pool advertised on line and biklboard closed although nothing seems wrong with it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very close to the college,shopping, and restaurant

Posted Nov 7, 2016
The price was amazing and Met our needs. Not a high end hotel but safe, clean, friendly, and affordable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel if you find yourself in Carbondale

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms are noisy - can hear doors slamming and your neighbor's phone all night. Tried to drown out the noise with the fan, but it doesn't stay on unless the heat or air conditioning is active. Heater smelled BAD, and owner's excuse was "oh yeah, that happens the first time its turned on for the year". Well, if you come in the fall, I guess you're out of luck. Breakfast was sad, but at least the in-room coffee maker was acceptable. Bed was terrible - could feel every spring. Place was fine if you need something cheap or if you're paying cash.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

It was okay.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The price was good and the room was clean.
Cons: The pool should have been open for use. The breakfast should have had ample food until breakfast hour was over.
Location: Plenty of shopping, restaurants and the Southern Illinois University, Giant City Lodge and State Park.
The room was clean. The latch for security was missing a screw to hold it in place. I had wanted to go swimming and that is one of the reasons for picking this hotel besides the price. I called after making my reservation and was told "as far as I know the pool is open". When we arrived at the hotel I found a sign stating the pool was closed for cleaning or repair and was not open. I asked at the desk and they asked when I had called, and stated it had closed a a few days after I had called. I was not happy. Also the candy machine was totally empty. The next morning for breakfast my husband went to get something to eat....coffee was out, only a couple of doughnuts left, no gravy for the biscuits. He told them and they brought out a little amount of gravy, no doughnuts either. They said they would make more coffee which we never saw. Thank goodness there was a coffee packet in the rooms.This is was all at 8am and the breakfast was supposed to go to 9:30am. Overall the room was clean but very disappointed with the closed pool and poor breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Should be condemned or torn down.

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: College town, pubs and such.
I'm from Chicago and have seen my share of rundown locations but this place takes the rat infested cake. The hallways reeked of cigarette smoke so bad, holding your breath to your room is not good enough as it will penetrate your clothing immediately. The rooms were in extremely poor shape, paint peeling from walls, beds extremely hard and lumpy, mice droppings in bathroom, AC-heating units banging and thumping all night, no screen for the window to allow fresh air in to help air out the rooms of the smoke filled hallways. Never again will I cheapen out and get the least costly hotel in Carbondale.