Ratings based on 463 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Price, clean, location to Amtrak
Cons: Security. Key required entry to hallway door would be nice.
Location: Very close to mall, restaurants. My two young children enjoyed Jeremy Rochman Memorial Park with a huge castle to play in. Less than 5 miles away.
Stayed 1 night as we were leaving on early Amtrak the next morning. For price, room was very nice. Very clean, appeared to have updated recently. Breakfast served at 6 am. Traditional contenental style with breads and cereal, but also waffle maker which was unexpected. Met all our needs for a short stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The bed was very small and the bayhroom was handicapped. I dont know if they were all that way. I did not register for a handicapped room. So next time please ask before putting us in a handicap room. Also the hotel staff were very rude. Also we could not find the oce machine. You have continers for oce but no ice machine. If you have one please post a sign as to where it is.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

surprise...the staff made it so.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: friendly and good coffee!!
Cons: put liners in trash baskets
Location: not close to SIU campus....must take a bus or cab if you're there to visit the school. But, many restaurants, Macy mall....etc across the street.
It was farther from the train station than I was told it was on the phone....but, turned out to be a good choice....the room was ok, the liners weren't put into the trash baskets...however, just leaned against the side...the staff was really terrific.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from STL

Convenient for college visit

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Had a pleasant stay, some noisy people on my floor. But not the hotels fault and for the price I can't complain!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chgo Suburbs

Moldy room smell

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleanliness, room smell, AC.
Location: SIU college visit.
Checked out room prior and glad we did. Moldy room smell. Warm air blowing out of wall AC unit. Small room for 2 queen size beds and desk/chair. Hallway carpets dirty and musty smelling. Went down street to Holiday for $20 more and glad we did. Clean hotel, rooms, and cold AC. Free breakfast at Holiday inn in a restaurant. Super 8 has 2 little tables in the small front office. Not even a breakfast bar. Just a small counter to hold drink dispensers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty much what you would expect.

Posted Jun 24, 2016
When I first arrived there was no one at the front desk for a good 15-20 minutes which may not sound like a lot, but when you're waiting for your room it sure feels like. Tried calling, but didn't get anyone. Other than that it was fine. Pretty much what you would expect from a Super 8. It was good for the price. I just stayed there because I had an exam at Prometric the next day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2016
The hotel was recently remodeled so there was new carpet, fresh paint and updated decor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nightmare before we were sleep.

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: great location, everything close by.
the first room that we were given the smoke detector was hanging from the ceiling by a wire. Then when we went to the window, the curtain had something on it that looked a lot like dried blood. So as we enter the bathroom the wall has a big blotch of plaster that has not been painted. when we took pictures of this to the front desk, they gave us a different room. when we finally settled in, my daughter said dad there is a bug on my pillow, it looks like a tick. enough said.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Orbitz
This is an amazing hotel. It's a great price for all that you get. Located close to shopping, eating and entertainment. It's the only place I'll stay in Carbondale.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
We just stayed for a night for an event at siu. But it was clean and a nice room. It had a pleasant but a bit funky smell which I am guessing was because it had to be cleaned due to someone smoking in the room. Regardless, I would stay there again