Ratings based on 615 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No elevator

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Nice, clean room. Would prefer to have vanity outside of the bathroom but it was sufficient! Biggest issue was third floor room with no elevator!!!😳. Just failed to check that out. We would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vernon hills, il

Okay place to stay

Posted Oct 30, 2017
The staff was friendly. Check-in went well, room was clean. The bed sagged in the middle would be my biggest complaint. YES, I'd stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warren, Il

Friends wedding

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Was in town for a friends wedding. Had booked my room a couple of months prior to the wedding. After reading some recent reviews that weren't very good I was nervous about staying here, however once I arrived my nervousness was gone. The staff was very friendly & the lobby was clean. Once I got to my room I checked the areas that had gotten bad reviews & once again no worries! The bathroom was spotless & the bed linens were also spotless. I enjoyed my stay & will definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2017
I took the time to write a rather lengthy report on a bad stay at the Super 8. However, when I clicked the "send" button, I got a pop up that your system was "down" or whatever it said. I'm not spending the time I did yesterday, so let's just leave it that a motel that is normally we have a good stay was not even close this time. Bad stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms that were spacious and included a refrigerator and microwave oven. Easy access from the highway and plenty of parking.
Cons: A few more continental breakfast choices would be great, e.g. bagels along with bread for toasting.
This is the third year in a row that we have stayed at this motel for the local university's Homecoming weekend and I'm sure we will continue to stay there in the future. The rooms are very reasonably priced and the location is central to just about everything we do in Carbondale. The front desk staff were all very friendly and the housekeeping staff were all very competent. And it is generally quiet there at night!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Hotel needs updating

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: The staff was friendly.
Cons: The rooms need to be updated, paint the walls, update the bathrooms. And find the smell and remove it. Non smoking hotel that smells like smoke.
Location: Lots to do nearby, wineries, hiking, shopping, great food
We have been staying here for several years. This time we noticed a definite decline in the hotel. We did not have any washcloths the first night in the room. We advised the front desk and the next night the washcloths were waded up and thrown up on top of the towels. The knob to turn and adjust the shower water was broken. We notified the front desk and were assured it would be fixed that day, but it was not fixed. There are places on the room walls that have been patched but not painted over the patch. We saw bugs on the floor while eating breakfast. The room had a funny smell.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Good location for SIU college visit

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Clean and comfortable for a good price. The only bad thing is that they allow dogs. We were awakened by a barking dog at 6:20 AM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockford, IL

Great weekend stay

Posted Oct 10, 2017
We stayed a couple of nights for a wedding, and this was perfect. The rooms were affordable, everything was clean, and the beds were so cozy! Have stayed here before and would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

stressed staff

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Close to SIU
Cons: Happier staff. You should feel welcome not in someones way. Front deskstaff should be waiting for customers not rushing in from smoke breaks or clea
Location: shopping fast food
I couldnt get a room on second or third floor. Newspaper missing from my room found on cleaning cart. I was TOLD what room I would get depending on what was the easiest for the cleaning staff. Room was not that clean water bottle cap next to bed, toilet not that clean. My room was next to a storage closet that wasnt locked and right next to the outside entrance. It made me anxious walking past . The staff seemed VERY stressed and appeared overworked. Im not sure why front desk staff is working with "smelly " trash. The staff seemed upset about this also. Everyone seemed to smoke staff and guests. Picnic table by back entrance too close to door. I was sick of smelling cigarette smoke. I am allergic to tobacco. Not the place for me. Air freshener does not cover up smoke on people or rooms. I didnt eat breakfast just drank coffee. Not relaxing at all. Parking was adequate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: price
Cons: Better staffing to help stress level of staff. No smoking close to building. Happier staff.
I couldn't get a 2nd floor room. I am a female solo traveler . Room was not clean, dirty toilet, water bottle cap by bedside. Smokers outside every door. Sick from smelling cigarettes. I was afraid to complain the staff seem VERY stressed. I was TOLD what room I was getting according to what was easiest for cleaning staff . Upon check in I had a news paper on my bedside table. When I returned about an hour later it was gone. I found it on the cleaning cart . Why were they in my room? Also as I was going to my room the first time the cleaning staff said wait I forgot to put a trash liner in the bathroom trash. Was this important? I almost felt like they were checking/scoping out my room . I always bring clorox wipes to clean my room to my standards. I will not stay again. This was my second stay at this hotel. First time not great but this time was worse. Picnic table outside back entrance always filled with smokers. I was also next to a supply room that the door was open. I was always cautious when going past. It didn't feel safe. Didn't eat breakfast due to fear of getting sick. I did drink coffee and survived. I emptied my room out when I left daily. It seemed like an area to be cautious. I know the staff work hard but the motel needs to realize you wont need cleaning staff if your rooms aren't rented. I'm glad I could accommodate the cleaning staffs requests. That last statement seems ridiculous after I typed it but that's how I felt.