Ratings based on 581 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Little Rock

Excellent

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Very comfortable. Nice and quiet. A nice place to stay overnight
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok, Thailand

Comfort stay at its price.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Convenient for SIUC visit, closed to mall, supermarket and the best Mexican restaurant "Chillies". Breakfast could improve a bit with better bread quality and fruit (other Super8 we stayed has better). Room quality and cleanliness is what we expected at the price we pay. Wifi is barely working.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Freeport, IL

Not accommodating

Posted Aug 24, 2017
I reserved my room a year in advance to go to Carbondale to see the eclipse. I specifically asked for a 1st floor room since I am severely disabled and cannot walk up stairs, and this hotel does not have an elevator. In fact, I included that information in my request when making the reservation. I called a few weeks ahead of time to make sure I would get my 1st floor room, and was told it shouldn't be a problem. When I arrived, I was told they did not have a 1st floor room for me. After protesting for a few minutes I conceded that I might be able to get up a flight of stairs if someone could help me with my luggage. The woman at the desk was very nasty. She told me I was on the third floor, and she didn't care what my problems were, I could take it or leave it. Another guest helped me to my room. She carried my bag up to the room and helped me walk up the stairs. In the morning I had to slide my bag down the stairs and sit down every few steps to rest. I will never visit this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No parking for boat and truck

Posted Aug 23, 2017
No parking for truck and boat. When I did find parking couldn't plug charger into outlet to charge boat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

College town, nice place

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Location: Plenty of fast food places/gas stations and a Walmart one block away. Easy access. Several national parks trails and lakes close by.
Your average hotel, very adequate for long trip needs. Clean facilities, courteous staff, ample parking. Everything like the wifi, tv and showers worked fine. Cash accepted, ID and plate number required. Expedia rate was lower than local price for last minute arrivals.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

The staff were friendly

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was an ok hotel... With my older mom and we were put on the 3rd floor with stairs... Breakfast was ok, not much to choose from and served right next to front desk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Cost & cleanliness. Nice shower.
Cons: Breakfast area looked small.
Location: Good location to SIU.
Needed a room for one night while attending a graduation at SIU. This was a good option. Room clean an comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a convenient location.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
This hotel was perfect for a one night stop. The staff was very friendly, accommodating, and helpful. The room was small but comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Christina Smith, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel in Carbondale Illinois. I look forward to seeing you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

College visit

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Good size rooms. Closed to campus
We arrived late. The hotel was clean and safe. The rooms seemed Newly remodeled . My hair dryer didn't work and in mintues they brought us a new. I will definitely stay again while my son is in college at SIU CARBONDALE . Very close to campus
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Christina Smith, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Carbondale Super 8. I look forward to seeing you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central IL

You get what you pay for.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Front desk person was nice. The room was as expected but had a funny smell. A bit dated. The bed was lumpy. Bathroom and linens were clean. The wi-fi was non existent. The cable tv voices were kind of bizarre, but we were mostly there to sleep, so that wasn't a big deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by General Manager, Christina Smith, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I apologize for your experience and I hope you give us another chance. I look forward to seeing you in the future.