Ratings based on 729 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Perfect stay in a magical location

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: The location, the staff, the character of the building and room. Since the hotel is in the old city, the atmosphere and quiet at night was magical.
Location: The location is in the old medieval walled city of Carcassonne, A visit to the chateau is a must. Take a guided tour around the walls.
After arriving by train and being unable to find a taxi, our trip to Carcassonne started badly. However, it was saved by Maxime who picked us up at the taxi turnaround, and by Benedicta who handled our check-in and questions with humour and graciousness. The hotel is in a wonderful location in the old city, and is full of charm and character. Our room, while small, was perfect with its stone wall and beamed ceiling. The bed was very comfortable, and the amenities standard in the bathroom. The staff were always very pleasant, and Jenna, the manager, is to be commended for the professionalism of her employees. When we weren't able to schedule a tour of the walls in English, the staff made arrangements with a guide to take us on a personal tour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Bénédicte Coste, Hotel Management
Dear Barbara, I would like to personally thank you for the time you kindly allocated to sharing your extremely positive experience. We are very solicitous over the full satisfaction of all our guests, and are therefore more than happy to read that your stay with us reach your expectations. All our Team daily works towards offering you the best experience possible, and it is a great reward, and a great source of motivation for all of us to know that your stay with us is a pleasant memory. Looking forward to this pleasure, Respectfully yours,
5 out of 5
by Bernice

Fabulous hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing, hotel was excellent and the staff were so helpful. Beds are very comfortable we had a superior room which was spacious. High standard of housekeeping. The location is perfect wonderful to be inside the medieval city walls
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seatlle

Best location

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Love the location. Very helpful staff, charming hotel with relaxing garden area.
5 out of 5
by Jill

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel within the city walls. We had a superior room with a private terrace which was very nice. Staff were friendly and courteous. My only negative was we had breakfast room service , which was 15euro a head and was not worth the money . Yoghurt was not cold and hot drinks luke warm. However a nice hotel and would return.
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Stunning location, just don't face the street

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
Gorgeous hotel, very comfortable beds, lovely bathroom, pretty and modern room with tea kettle, iron, everything, and reasonable rates and a lovely location ... until the garbage man under your window wakes you up :(
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Very nice. In the castle which was very cool. Worth it to pay for the parking and get driven in the castle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, England

Quiet hotel in centre of the city

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Excellent location and staff were very helpful. The garden was a great place to relax after the busy atmosphere of the city in August.
5 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Haunted Experience

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Cleanliness.
Location: Get lost in the old city and enjoy the history.
My wife and I arrived early and were asked to leave our luggage next to the reception desk, together with around 10 other bags. I went to use the toilet in the bar area and was shocked by a big pile of poo not flushed. (It's so disgusting that the image continues to haunt me two weeks after my trip! I even had a nightmare of it.) We went out for a tour of the castle and returned to the hotel two hours later. To our surprise, all bags had been delivered to the guestrooms except ours. Worse yet, our bags were moved to the spot right below the drinking water and got wet. We moved our belongings into our room and went out for diner and to explore the city again. Upon our return, we noticed that the sofa had a lot of dog hair. The receptionist gave us a bed sheet to cover it up as the custodians were gone. We also noticed some floss on the floor by the bed. The hotel is in a great location, but it's cleanliness is way below the standard.