Ratings based on 676 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Nice Hotel in the best location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Clear information about location of Hotel parking lots and how the hotel manage the luggage transportation.
Location: Enjoy the surrounding old city
Very bad at arrival. The Hotel cannot be reached by car, that must be left some 500 away. We did not receive any indication on how/were park the car to receive assistance with the luggage and had to carry it all the way up. In addition, the room was on the second floor...without lift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

The best location and staff!

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: The staff was excellent-very polite and helpful. Anything we needed was taken care of efficiently and correctly. Also, they were all pleasant.
Cons: The rooms could use an update.
Location: The entire old town.
The hotel is in a perfect location. Our view was tranquil and we heard birds every morning. We could walk and explore the entire city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Westford, MA

Great location in La Cite

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Updated bathrooms.
Location: In the heart of an amazing historical site.
The room was a little tired, although clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet could have been more inspired. The location can't be beat, and La Cite, albeit a madhouse during the day, is rather quiet in the evening, with several very good restaurants within a minute or two walk from the hotel. Most of the staff was quite pleasant as well. Our room rate was quite reasonable, and I think we received good value. If you want something posh, this isn't your best choice. But Le Donjon is a good mid-price hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Casselberry, United States of America

Excellent Accommodation within Cité de Carcassonne

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: We mainly enjoy the location within the Cité, but everyone about the hotel was just perfect.
Cons: I would probably mention a preference for ground floor rooms due to health issues.
Location: The hotel is within the walled Cité, which is great for exploring within those walls. Plenty of restaurants, shops, and of course, the Château Comtal.
Although we only stayed one night at the Best Western Le Donjon, the hotel staff was excellent and provided top-rate customer service for both check-in and check-out. Our room was superbly clean and comfortable. We chose the Best Western Le Donjon because of its location. It was perfect for exploring within the walled Cité, restaurants, and the Château Comtal. We definitely recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ecuador

Great price at an unbelievable location

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Location, staff.
Location: Basically walk the Cité at your leisure
It's really something being able to stay in a hotel inside the Cité. The hotel is not luxurious by any means, but is elegant, clean and cozy. Great staff. Keep in mind though that you'll have to park outside the cité. A tiny van will get you and your luggage to the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great location and great staff, though beware that this hotel occupies 3 different buildings, photos and description are slightly misleading in this respect...tut tut hotels.com
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location - but figure out the parking!

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, check in was easy, but parking was a hassle. I waited 20+ minutes for someone to come get me from the valet area. I was willing to walk to the hotel (just a few minutes!) but I couldn't leave my car until someone came! While I waited, the *other* hotel had come and gone 2x to pick up guests. I finally just went and parked in the public parking area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Awesome location

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Great, unique hotel. We loved being able to stay inside the walls.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
The superior room was a dream come true. Just inside the cîte walls, we had access to two courtyards to relax plus a little table and chairs just outside of our room where we met the neighborhood cats. The bed was extremely comfortable and the a/c was solid. Even the instant coffee was good. The place is very romantic.