Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, USA

Posted Dec 1, 2017
The breakfast buffet is a must. Local products, many made in-house. Attentive and informative staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Unique location inside historical city walls

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Amazing location, beautiful hotel, excellent food and wine list. We had a room with small balcony and access to the garden with a wonderful view in the morning. Would recommend using the private parking with small shuttle car taking you to the hotel through the narrow streets of Carcassonne, easy to find if you can enter GPS coordinates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Delightful Hotel inside the Cite Walls

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Location, interior elegance and charming staff. Did I mention the location?
Cons: The dining room could be less expensive and formal.
Location: Tour the Cite, the lower village and road trips into the countryside.
This is a lovely hotel situated in the former Bishop's Palace inside the walls of 13th century Carcassonne. The staff are very cheerful and helpful (especially Charlotte and Tabata at the front desk) and both the interior and exterior are elegant and impressive -- they make one feel like the lord of the manor!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA, USA

Wonderful boutique hotel in a medieval village

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Luxury, comfort, friendliness and professionalism of the staff, and its incredible location.
Location: This medieval village boasts many interesting restaurants, quaint shops, a palace and cathedral.
We truly felt pampered in this oasis surrounded by Crusades-era architecture, from the moment we checked in until the moment when we unfortunately needed to leave early in the morning to catch a train. The night manager was truly kind, and made sure my wife and I had an espresso before we headed to the taxi (which he ensured was on time), and off to the train station. While the hotel itself boasts a Michelin rating, the front desk was kind enough to point us to the perfect restaurant for us - a restaurant about 5 minutes' walk from the hotel where we discovered cassoulet. If you don't know what it is, you need to. Our only regret is that we didn't have more time to spend at the hotel; this was just a quick stop for us but we plan to return, and spend more time and take advantage of more of what the hotel offers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol,UK

Fabulous Hotel in a perfect location

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Fabulous views, very friendly staff. Lovely room.
Location: Beware. Taxis in Carcassonne are few & far between. If you come in by train no Taxis waiting. Call number on sign, waiting time 30 mins at least.
Would highly recommend this Hotel. Perfect location for exploring the Medieval City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Fabulous! Service for drinks was slow but everything else was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles,CA

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Wonderful charming elegance! Wonderful staff Helped us get to the Marche' in Limoux!! Understated elegance
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor nights sleep and staff not interested

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Nice location and good views from hotel and lovely gardens .
Cons: Certain parts of hotel need improving and better instructions for car parking
Location: Lots of lovely restaurants in the town and we had a fab meal.
Hotel is not very good. Double bed was 2 singles put together and they parted company during the night so you could fall between them, which lead to a poor nights sleep. Politely mentioned to reception following morning that it had spoilt our stay and did not sleep well and they said they would mention it to house keeping but it was just one of those things!!!! The response was belittling I did not go onto mention the mould in the bathroom, the stained carpet and mould around the air conditioning in the glass corridor outside our bedroom. Given instructions on how to get to car park but operating intercom was not straight forward and caused stress as we blocked cars behind us trying to get in. Spoke to others who had used car park and they had same problem - better instructions would defiantly help.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful castle

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Very little service. They were service friendly to their countrymen but not to Americans. Too bad. Very Beautiful place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Return to a special hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Rooms, Locations, Restaurant, Swimming Pool and bar service
Cons: The main bar and the attentiveness of the staff
Location: Amazing place to stay, but after 2 days you will probably have exhausted site-seeing in the citadel itself. Lots of good restaurants in the area.
We returned to the Hotel de la Cite 11 years after first visiting on our honeymoon. Forgot what an amazing and privileged location this hotel holds in what is quite an amazing place. We had a bog-standard room but were really pleased with it. REALLY lovely meal outside on the terrace one evening (book well in advance - gets very booked up!). Not massive but still very nice outdoor swimming pool and bar service which we enjoyed. Only disappointment was the bar which - in my opinion - is one of the most atmospheric bars of any hotel I have been to - but the staff were not very attentive and although there was a piano in one of the lounges - would have been such a draw to guests to have had someone playing it in the evenings.......being picky though. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. You feel very smug when you emerge through the doors out into the square and the throngs of tourists who have to walk all the way up to the citadel!