Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clinton MS

One of the best places I have ever stayed

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Location was great. Staff bent over backwards to be accommodating. Service was great.
Cons: Carpet on second floor was a bit faded.
Location: The hotel is right in the walled city. You can stroll, shop, and eat at countless restaurants within the walls.
This was really a wonderful hotel. The best location possible right in the walled city. They had every possible convenience (although we did not sample them all). The restaurant was wonderful. We tried the six-course tasting menu. This was not something I would eat (or could afford) every day but it was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in beautiful location.

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: The first hotel room to have plenty of storage space!
Cons: The lighting - plenty of lights but all low.
Location: Wonderful location within the old city of Carcassone.
With an upgrade on arrival to a suite this was an amazing 4 nights.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Magique

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Merveilleux moment dans la cité de carcassone. Magique
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orpington, UK

Lovely hotel in the medieval city

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Beautiful setting, by castle ramparts, but screened off by foliage from people on the castle walls. Large room -small lobby area made it seem like a suite. Furniture and furnishings in keeping with the building. Lovely bathroom - very powerful shower. Nice swimming pool area plus outside seating, with waiter service, There is a Michelin-starred restaurant in the hotel, where we had a very good, and reasonably priced, lunch. There is no parking within the medieval city, but there is private parking just outside, with shuttle service to the hotel. Would definitely return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Escondido, CA

One night stay

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable bed and nice bathroom and bathroom amenities.
Cons: See above
Location: Inside the old city walls, very nice.
When we arrived for our one night at the hotel, our name wasn't on the reservation list at the parking gate, which gave us pause. We were efficiently received at reception, however, and our room was very nice on first glance though it was on the city street side. This meant that service trucks were noisy around 5-6AM. The room seemed a bit dated with some furniture needing replacement and some door trim and base needing touch up. All of this would be academic if not for the price at $344US per night. Our largest complaint is that the staff missed our wake up call forcing us to almost miss our reservation for the Yellow Train of the Pyrnees. Shouldn't have happened. The price and the above are the reason we would not recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Great place to stay!

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Everything you would expect from a 5 star establishment. Great proximity to a number of restaurant and shops. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to visit this midieval town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

Gepflegtes Hotel in traumhafter Lage.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Da das Hotel in der Burg (Cite) liegt, also kein öffentlicher Verkehr möglich ist, erfolgt der Transfer zum bewachten Parkplatz und Hotel per Shuttle. Hat hin und zurück hervorragend geklappt. Freundlicher Empfang, gepflegte Zimmer und ein hervorragendes Frühstück auf der Burg-Terrasse. Die Atmosphäre ist in Wirklichkeit noch beeindruckender als auf den Hotelfotos im Internet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tamworth Staffordshire

nice hotel in a wonderful location

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: most things
Cons: breakfast
Location: in a complete medieval city the hotel is built within the city walls. nice private gardens and pool.
clean comfortable and what we expected for the cost
4 out of 5
by Maria E

no air condition

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
It was great but the air codition it was not working. After have paid almost $400. Per night withaut air condition it was not acceptable.
5 out of 5
by Amanda

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
This is a 5-star hotel and you won't be disappointed. The rooms are very nice and we got a free upgrade with a garden view. Great stay if you are going to see the Fortress city in Carcassonne. We decided to eat outside of the hotel at one of the many great restaurants in the town. You will feel like a king or queen for a day while staying here.