Ratings based on 310 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol,UK

Fabulous Hotel in a perfect location

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Fabulous views, very friendly staff. Lovely room.
Location: Beware. Taxis in Carcassonne are few & far between. If you come in by train no Taxis waiting. Call number on sign, waiting time 30 mins at least.
Would highly recommend this Hotel. Perfect location for exploring the Medieval City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Fabulous! Service for drinks was slow but everything else was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles,CA

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Wonderful charming elegance! Wonderful staff Helped us get to the Marche' in Limoux!! Understated elegance
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor nights sleep and staff not interested

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Nice location and good views from hotel and lovely gardens .
Cons: Certain parts of hotel need improving and better instructions for car parking
Location: Lots of lovely restaurants in the town and we had a fab meal.
Hotel is not very good. Double bed was 2 singles put together and they parted company during the night so you could fall between them, which lead to a poor nights sleep. Politely mentioned to reception following morning that it had spoilt our stay and did not sleep well and they said they would mention it to house keeping but it was just one of those things!!!! The response was belittling I did not go onto mention the mould in the bathroom, the stained carpet and mould around the air conditioning in the glass corridor outside our bedroom. Given instructions on how to get to car park but operating intercom was not straight forward and caused stress as we blocked cars behind us trying to get in. Spoke to others who had used car park and they had same problem - better instructions would defiantly help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Return to a special hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Rooms, Locations, Restaurant, Swimming Pool and bar service
Cons: The main bar and the attentiveness of the staff
Location: Amazing place to stay, but after 2 days you will probably have exhausted site-seeing in the citadel itself. Lots of good restaurants in the area.
We returned to the Hotel de la Cite 11 years after first visiting on our honeymoon. Forgot what an amazing and privileged location this hotel holds in what is quite an amazing place. We had a bog-standard room but were really pleased with it. REALLY lovely meal outside on the terrace one evening (book well in advance - gets very booked up!). Not massive but still very nice outdoor swimming pool and bar service which we enjoyed. Only disappointment was the bar which - in my opinion - is one of the most atmospheric bars of any hotel I have been to - but the staff were not very attentive and although there was a piano in one of the lounges - would have been such a draw to guests to have had someone playing it in the evenings.......being picky though. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. You feel very smug when you emerge through the doors out into the square and the throngs of tourists who have to walk all the way up to the citadel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness

Outstanding

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Beautiful hotel right there n the heart of the Cite de Carcassonne. A little bit pricy but we stayed there as a treat over Bastille Day. Amazing experience. I'd definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return again in a few years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very interesting place

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We had a very nice time lots to see and do over a long weekend, plenty of bars and restaurants The hotel was excellent
5 out of 5
by Clair

Carcassonne at its best.

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in the middle of the old village. Only down fall was it was cold and we were unable to eat outside which was what attracted me to the hotel. The bar/ library was charming and the restaurant spacious but not over the top. Great dinner, breakfast and the gentlemen making drinks were having fun creating masterpieces
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Put This Hotel On Your Bucket List!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Nearly everything ;)
Cons: Cooking of the eggs at breakfast. Comfier beds.
Location: The hotel is a part of the fabric of the Cite of Carcassonne, right next door to the basilica, a very short walk to the castle, close to shops.
A beautiful hotel in gorgeous surroundings, wonderful food, impeccable service. You MUST stay here if you get the chance. Our room was comfy, had a fabulous view, the staff were courteous and helpful, the restaurant exceptional, the shuttle bus service a life-saver.... I'm running out of superlatives! Just to be ultra picky, the bed was a little hard, the boiled eggs at breakfast a bit raw and the hotel was tricky to navigate at first with stairs up and down, long corridors that twist and turn and little bridges from one building to the next. The best hotel and best holiday we've had in years!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Amazing Hotel, Amazing Staff!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: All the amenities.
Cons: Nothing, all is perfect
Location: Restaurants and shops inside the cite.
The Hotel is amazing, inside the walls of the big medieval city, full of restaurants and shops, great amenities, great staff, amazing breakfast, all is excellent, the staff is very nice and helpful. 100% recommended. Also, you can go a eat at COMTE ROGER, another excellent restaurant served by the owner Pierre, great cheff.