Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, VA

Beautiful place

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great restaurants and shops nearby
Room is very nice and clean. Perfect location, close to restaurants and shops
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clinton MS

One of the best places I have ever stayed

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Location was great. Staff bent over backwards to be accommodating. Service was great.
Cons: Carpet on second floor was a bit faded.
Location: The hotel is right in the walled city. You can stroll, shop, and eat at countless restaurants within the walls.
This was really a wonderful hotel. The best location possible right in the walled city. They had every possible convenience (although we did not sample them all). The restaurant was wonderful. We tried the six-course tasting menu. This was not something I would eat (or could afford) every day but it was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in beautiful location.

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: The first hotel room to have plenty of storage space!
Cons: The lighting - plenty of lights but all low.
Location: Wonderful location within the old city of Carcassone.
With an upgrade on arrival to a suite this was an amazing 4 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orpington, UK

Lovely hotel in the medieval city

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Beautiful setting, by castle ramparts, but screened off by foliage from people on the castle walls. Large room -small lobby area made it seem like a suite. Furniture and furnishings in keeping with the building. Lovely bathroom - very powerful shower. Nice swimming pool area plus outside seating, with waiter service, There is a Michelin-starred restaurant in the hotel, where we had a very good, and reasonably priced, lunch. There is no parking within the medieval city, but there is private parking just outside, with shuttle service to the hotel. Would definitely return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Escondido, CA

One night stay

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable bed and nice bathroom and bathroom amenities.
Cons: See above
Location: Inside the old city walls, very nice.
When we arrived for our one night at the hotel, our name wasn't on the reservation list at the parking gate, which gave us pause. We were efficiently received at reception, however, and our room was very nice on first glance though it was on the city street side. This meant that service trucks were noisy around 5-6AM. The room seemed a bit dated with some furniture needing replacement and some door trim and base needing touch up. All of this would be academic if not for the price at $344US per night. Our largest complaint is that the staff missed our wake up call forcing us to almost miss our reservation for the Yellow Train of the Pyrnees. Shouldn't have happened. The price and the above are the reason we would not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tamworth Staffordshire

nice hotel in a wonderful location

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: most things
Cons: breakfast
Location: in a complete medieval city the hotel is built within the city walls. nice private gardens and pool.
clean comfortable and what we expected for the cost
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cité hotel worth a stay

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Pleasant staff, good clean rooms great location.
Cons: Customer information about travel to and from the airport. Customer information about options to view the Bastille day celebration for work display.
Location: Needed the time to fully do justice to the Cité as well as a trip down to the 'new' city and a look at the market. Place Carnit worth choosing to eat.
Advertised as a 5 star but not worthy of uk expectations. Food may be the top element. We were upgraded to a bigger room space on arrival. Very comfortable. Shower poorly contained. Bit of a mixed xperience re the use of their mini shuttle, and poor experience of staff giving us options re watching the Firework display. Great for experiencing the Medieval Cité which is huge and is worth taking the time to fully explore. Special menu was booked for the 14th but we hadn't even seen what the special menu was to make a decision as to whether we would book or not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Wonderful atmospheric hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Wonderful atmospheric hotel in the old city. Super helpful staff. Fabulous dining, though grotesquely expensive. Either no aircon or didn't work, as was pretty toasty in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Fairy tale

Posted May 23, 2016
Wonderful experience except for the rain!! The rooms were beautiful and service was great. Would definitely stay there again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2016
Great hotel in a great little medieval town! The hotel was worth every penny, wish we would have stayed longer.