Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very convenient to the train station.

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, and breakfast.
Cons: Air conditioning is weak.
Very nice greeting and willingly helpful staff. Breakfast plentiful and lots of fresh fruit and natural yogurt. Away from the hordes of tourists in the old city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for train station and airport shuttle

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was full of character and ideally situated. The only problem was the strange musty odour in my room. The bus for the airport stops a few metres away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Girl weekend

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Location and most of the staff. Pool and sauna was lovely.
Cons: Decor and cleanliness
Hotel was okay, it was a bit dated. We had asked for 2 twin rooms but beds were doubles. We got moved to different rooms. The water in shower was too hot and no one in party could regulate it. One of the waitresses was a bit sharp but the rest of the staff were helpful and pleasant. Decor was badly done, paintwork was patchy. Shot cubicle was a bit grubby looking. Location was great though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not suitable with young kids

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Not too good !! I had 3 year old in a buggy !! The big big step at the front was useless!! The 3 steps after this was terrible !! No help at all was offered by staff who where watching me struggle .. I guess in UK we are spoiled with automatic doors !! And really helpful folk.. The doors are heavy and would slam !! The dust was unreal .. The overall feeling was for £196 for 3 nights I was robbed !! The beds where ridiculous and so uncomfortable !! Unbelievable I would never recommend !! The photos are deceiving and wrong !!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of an upgrade

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very basic hotel that is very over priced for what you actually get. The photos on your website flatter the hotel which is quite deceiving. The bathroom was like something from my granny's house in the early seventies, the room decor was poor and dated and the breakfast was of a poor quality and repetitive. The wi-fi was not very good either although the hotel was in a good location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Flossmoor, Illinois

The Bones of a Grand Old Hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: The medieval city is an easy, inexpensive public bus ride away. There is a long pedestrian street very close by for shops and restaurants.
This hotel must once have been an opulent place in the early 20th century. Alas, it's in desperate need of refurbishment now. That said, we found the staff extremely helpful--beyond the call of duty--when we had an unexpected issue trying to get out of a public garage whose staff was off on a Sunday.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Old old hotel in sad rundown shape.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Clean sheets clean bathroom and lovely old lobby with sweeping staircase.
Cons: Redo all the rooms including carpets. The whole hotel needs a facelift
Location: Good location for shopping and restaurants but also on a very busy corner of the city. At least a 25-30 minute walk to the old walled city.
This was probably a lovely hotel in it's day but NOT today. Very rundown, musty and dusty. At least a 25-30 minute walk to the old walled city. It is close to shopping and restaurants but that is the best I can say. The morning breakfast was the usual buffet, but with cold eggs and small selection of anything that looked pleasing. Not worth your time staying for breakfast. The bedding was clean and the bathroom very clean but I would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely old building with great location and view

Posted Sep 11, 2016
The Hotel building and character was lovely and it is well located for the canal and train station and we had free Wi-fi. Unfortunately it is a little shabby chic in places which seems to add to its character. We had a fab view from our room and were grateful for the in-room Nespresso machine and safe. The toiletries were nice and the over bath shower was great, but there was mould in the bathroom, peeling paint, broken tiles and a cosmetically damaged sink. The breakfast was nice and the dinner menu looked good but we didn't try this as we ate at the nearby restaurants instead.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol. U.K.

Best find another hotel!

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Very tired hotel, awfull room, air con worked but feeble, stained carpets, terrible bathroom overall a 1* hotel, we were very disappointed, staff didn't care, sofas in reception covered with dust, pool area smelt strongly of damp plaster, hot water smelt,better to find another hotel.