Ratings based on 755 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vero Beach, Fl

Posted Apr 21, 2018
Parfait! Ideal location. Great breakfast. Stayed in main building, not the annex.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the middle of a castle..

Posted Apr 18, 2018
Pros: Location...
Cons: How can you improve yesterday. This was an experience of a life time..
Location: So much to see and do, amazing riverside walking trails are at the foot of the fortified city..
Simply amazing. Spending nights and days, walking and living in history. Surreal.. hugs jim
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in the Centre of the Old City

Posted Apr 16, 2018
If you're going to Carcassonne, it's worth being in the centre of the old medieval city. You'll enjoy the restaurants and evenings more if you don't have to walk back down into the new city every day. This hotel has great views of the old city towers and is excellent value for money. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Unexpected Surprise

Posted Mar 19, 2018
Pros: Comfortable, cozy and quiet.
Cons: -
Location: Its perfect to enjoy the city and walking nearby. Castle, downtown city and nearby. Local shopping, market, restaurants and cafes.
Unexpected Surprise, about the place, about the hotel. An unique experience to stay inside of a medieval city and castle in a really good way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bucaramanga , COLOMBIA

Nice location in Carcassone . Spanish

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Pros: Vicinitiy to the castle
Location: Close to Carcassone Castle , withiin the city wall
Excellent,, Excelente . Very good , Muy buena localización. Amables, kindness
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great hotel inside old city walls but the staff

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Pros: The location is fantastic and it's a nice property.
Cons: The front desk staff!! The staff in the morning was much more helpful but on the eve of my check-in, it was not acceptable.
The hotel was a great place & the room was fine. The negatives were entirely related to the staff & lack of information provided in advance. Because the hotel is in the old city walls, you have to do certain things to get access to it for an overnight. NONE of these instructions were provided to me in advance. I put the address into my GPS and when it became clear that it wasn't getting me there, I called for help. The front desk woman gave me instructions that made no sense. I tried doing what she told me to do & ended up more lost, down in the lower part of the city, outside the walls. When I called back again she told to do something else that didn't work. When I told her that wasn't working, she continued to be frustrated & curt with me. She FINALLY gave me new directions to get to the appropriate parking lot, where she told me to park & then go the castle gate. Her directions did not help me get to the castle gate, but I managed to figure it out. I parked, took my bags to the gate & called. I was told go down a road to another private entrance gate where a porter would meet me. Turns out I was supposed to drive down to that gate, move my car to another lot, etc. The porter was great & helpful - front desk lady was AWFUL! I had to ask for a map of the old town & to have her mark hotel location on the map. No offer of help. That is what the entire stay tainted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Love it!

Posted Jan 9, 2018 on Hotels
The food was a little expensive but overall amazing experience!!
5 out of 5
by Martin

'Best' Western Le Donjon

Posted Dec 18, 2017 on Hotels
Location is fantastic regardless of which of the three buildings you end up staying in. We were first allocated The Ramparts (Room 19) which was tiny and cramped. It was at the end of a corridor and over looked a car park. We transferred to main building and had room 1 which was excellent. The staff are really helpful, and a credit to Best Western. It was great to explore inside the city walls once all the other tourists had gone. Quite magical.
3 out of 5
by Carrie

Ask for hotel parking

Posted Dec 16, 2017 on Hotels
If you drive a car to Carcasonne the hotel has discounted parking if you park in their lot but no one bothered to tell us this when we checked in and we parked in the public lot and had to pay for parking. When I asked about parking at checkout the lady was very rude and said there was nothing she could do. Breakfast was only fair for 15 euros. The hotel itself was nice and clean. I would not stay here again though since the city is open all the time even at night and it is easy access from nearby hotels just outside wall.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing holiday!

Posted Dec 11, 2017 on Hotels
Location amazing- service great- wonderful value
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by elise, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for this very kind review! We really hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our property. Best regards, Bénédicte Coste Customer relationship department