Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel area is stunning

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: most things quality
Cons: fire safety decoration
Location: shopping
very very nice hotel loverly spot could not fault it needs a little bit of work as in redecoration and fire safety work but generally excellent very quite
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hübsches Hotel in einem alten Herrenhaus.

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: -der Ausblick, die Ausstattung, das Design
Cons: nein
Location: Außerhalb von Cardiff. Mit dem Auto braucht man ca. 20 Min. in die Stadt. Das Hotel befindet sich auf einem Hang mit tollem Weit-/ Ausblick +Garten
Wir waren nur 1 Nacht dort, da wir eine Rundreise durch UK gemacht haben. Das Zimmer und Hotel waren bestens ausgestattet, nur das Früchstück war etwas teuer, ca. 13€.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Lovely country hotel

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: The hotel was beautiful, the staff friendly and the room comfortable.
The main part of the hotel was beautiful with an old world look. I was lucky enough to stay in the front bedroom overlooking the fields towards the city, the Squire room (the Baroness is the other one). The bathroom was large and there was a safe, iron and hair dryer. My room had two chairs facing out the Georgian windows (with lovely shutters) and a dressing table/desk. The bed was big and very comfortable. I ate at the restaurant, Sequoias, and the food was delicious, they were slow to take my order (20 minutes after he had acknowledged I was ready to order) but the food was out quickly. The hotel staff was friendly and quick.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great hotel, 3 star at best

Posted May 27, 2016
- Room was long over due an overhall, the bathroom especially - We were put in the closet room to a wedding area; with us having a 2 year old with us we thought this was a unacceptable. The noise prevented her getting to sleep and woke her up a few times.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super Decor - taffeta and tassels

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: I was looking for a nice place to stay near Caerphilly, that didn't involve going into a major city. The hotel fulfilled my wish.
Cons: Bar lacked ginger beer and board games.
Location: It was close to some fabulous castles - Caerphilly and Castle Coch, with country walks in the nearby fields.
We spent a comfortable night surrounded by antique furniture and a claw-foot bath, followed by a convivial breakfast, served by charming staff. Our rooms were so attractive we had a family row deciding who was to sleep where. The old house is richly decorated with jewel coloured paper and hangings, with the addition of some odd Tudor portraits ( Queen Mary I sports green hair?) The room in the modern wing had access to a terrace with unhampered views of Cardiff bay and nearby fields were full of lambs and daffodils when we visited, so very Welsh.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Pleasant hotel - needs tlc and good staff

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: The room and the excellent evening waiter in the restaurant
Cons: The outside and common areas need tlc. Some staff need training or replacing. A good kitchen crew - particularly for breakfast is essential.
Location: Good view over Cardiff (and bay if no mist).
Although we had done our pre- booking checks to discover a wedding was on, number of related guests, noise levels and what impact it would have on level of service / restaurant - and were told no impact no noise - so we booked room and restaurant. We were told on arrival that we had to go into dinner basically immediately as the kitchens would no longer be serving to the restaurant - because of the wedding. Not a good start. The room was a good size, comfortable and clean. The common areas and outside particularly needed tlc - it all seemed rather tired and a bit drab. The evening meal - though a rush to get to - was adequate - certainly not 'fine' or great dining. The waiter, however, was excellent. Compared even to others in the Best Western chain and even to a Premier Inn or Harvester - breakfast was not excellent, or adequate - it was barely mediocre; the scrambled eggs were positively grey, beans dried, choice limited. Nor were the morning team of restaurant staff of the same calibre as the evening waiter. Wasn't quite sure what these waiters were doing but service didn't form part of whatever it was. Overall unimpressed, which is a shame because the location is lovely, the rooms were good and with some tlc and staff interested in delivery quality service/food it could actually be great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2016
A lovely two night stay. Staff extremely helpful especially in returning items which we forgot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Good & Bad

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Great location, but you'll miss the entrance to the hotel (small sign, last minute on a speedy road, and impossible to read at night). Hotel is quaint but nice. Staff friendly but didn't appreciate being charged for two newspapers offered at checkin without any mention of being chargeable. Also had a 2hour room service staff meeting go on just outside our room on the first morning, which we didn't appreciate. There's better locations for such things.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: The Staff
Cons: No, good 4 star hotel
Location: Good country location.
Nice welcoming hotel with lovely view, staff very friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Lovely country hotel close to Cardiff

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Traditional. Very Spacious double room and bathroom.
Cons: Creaky floorboards!
Location: Between Cardiff and Caerphilly. Convenient to both.
A comfortable, quiet and well priced place to stay. On the outskirts of Cardiff, yet with a country feel.