Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Nice hotel next to city centre and indoor arena

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Hotel recently refurbed and it makes a real difference to cleanliness and comfort.
Cons: Not keen on paying £8.00 for parking and breakfast no longer being included in the room rate x
Location: Restaurants shops, and indoor arena all on the doorstep.
Great hotel for shopping concerts etc, super friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Preneeth Kurup, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. With regards to parking our prices are the lowest in the area. Breakfast vouchers can also be bought at very reasonable price at reception. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and I hope we can welcome you back soon
2 out of 5
by jane

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is what it is, cheap overnight stay when out and about in Cardiff. Accommodation like a youth hostel, had furry curtains! Lol.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay a good value for money. Sorry to hear that you found the room to be basic. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our bedrooms in a phased manner. Our guests can choose to stay in our Chic Deluxe rooms as advertised in posters in our lifts. We would be glad to upgrade you to one of these rooms on your next visit for a small upgrade charge. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and I hope we can welcome you back soon
5 out of 5
by Michele

What a surprising little gem!

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel looks a little ropy and tired from the outside, but do not let that put you off. The hotel inside was lovely! The hotel rooms we had we're lovely and up to date! Large, roomy, clean, fresh and comfortable. They offered everything you could want, ironing board/iron, tea/coffee making facilities, complimentary water and biscuits, complimentary shower gel, soap, shampoo/conditioner, hairdryer, free WIFI and TV. Was VERY impressed with this accommodation for the money! I wanted somewhere near the Motorpoint Arena and it was right opposite it! We looked out onto it in fact. It is very close to the cinema, restaurants and the lush shopping centres! Perfectly central to everything. Only downside, is that there appears to be one chap running the reception and the bar and in the evening when it got busy, you were waiting at the bar for a while for a drink. Parking only offers 18 spaces, so first come first served, but there is a NCP car park literally 2 minutes walk around the corner which is a multistory. But that is my only criticism which is minor!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and I hope we can welcome you back soon
4 out of 5
by Darren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Denis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by ARRAN

Cardiff stay

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay in Cardiff, room was good. Bar was not stocked at all, staff were great and very helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff great and very helpful. Sorry to hear that the bar was not stocked. I have discussed your feedback with the bar team. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and I hope we can welcome you back soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Opposite the Motorpoint Arena.
Cons: Shower curtain needed in the bathroom.
Location: Motorpoint Arena is opposite. St David's shopping centre 5 minutes away.
My husband and I have stayed in the Big Sleep hotel a few times now and it's always been a comfortable stay. The rooms have recently been updated to a high standed. (I missed the fluffy blue curtains) staff are always friendly and helpful and we had an enjoyable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Preneeth Kurup, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and I hope we can welcome you back soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from worcestershire

Ideal hotel for gigs but not romance

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Hotel was easy to find. It's the tall black building with The Big Sleep on the side. There is a tiny car park atop a spiral ramp but had to park on NCP next door for £15 for 24hrs. Staff very friendly and polite. Rooms are 20yrs out of date with vile green drapes, chipboard desk and metal shelving for storage. Otherwise warm, comfy and quiet. Breakfast was very good, only £5.50 all u can eat buffet if pay night before otherwise it's £8. Motorpoint arena is 30 second walk from hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Preneeth Kurup, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast. Sorry to hear that you found the room to be basic. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our bedrooms in a phased manner. Our guests can choose to stay in our Chic Deluxe rooms as advertised in posters in our lifts. We would be glad to upgrade you to one of these rooms on your next visit for a small upgrade charge. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and I hope we can welcome you back soon
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value for money

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect for a cheap option with good wifi, clean and a really good breakfast
3 out of 5
by Claire

Good cheap room in a good area.

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
For £45 a night for a twin room, it wasn't the Ritz, but I didn't expect it to be. Staff were friendly, room was basic but still had everything we needed - kettle, good bathroom, tv, and weirdly, furry curtains! Lots to do in local area, the Motorpoint Arena is just over the road, as in the cinema, lots of pubs and restaurants. Only issue was parking.