Ratings based on 505 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Cons: decor in hotel common areas , room was fine
Location: central in city with loads to do nearby
Basic but clean with good room facilities, in centre of city , good value for money compared to most other hotels in cardiff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel been upgraded great improvement

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: comfort of bed and quality of bathroom
Cons: Air con... or fans in rooms
new great shower much better than before....disappointing it was over 30 degrees and website states fans in every room but none available at 3.10 when hotel check-in starts at 3... also a shame price quadrupled from normal rates because of a concert
5 out of 5
by Susan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by neil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Tim

Cardiff 3/5

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Good value and great location for Arena shows
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and I hope we can welcome you back soon
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Diane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Complete disappointment

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived rang the buzzer 5 times no answer then a member of staff appeared from the side entrance and was extremely rude spoke to me as though I was thick and told me I had to press the buzzer to be let in which I explained I had 5 times, staff member said oh right but I had no apology for the way she spoke to me. Entered the building where member of staff continued to make me and the kids feel uncomfortable the kids even asked if we had to stay I reassured them and said don't worry it will be fine when we get to our room. Staff member on reception really friendly explained where our room was so off we went entered the room and well all I can say is thank god it was only for one night. The room had a funny smell, the carpet was so badly stained and looked filthy I told the kids to keep there socks on at all times and not to walk on the floor barefoot, the beds were uncomfortable it looked like they had made a box out of mdf and chucked a mattress on top that was no thicker than 6 inches. We didn't stay for breakfast so can't comment on that we just wanted to leave as soon as we got up. Unfortunately I wouldn't stay here again which is a shame as its a perfect location for the motorpoint arena, shopping centre and train station.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am sorry to read your feedback regarding certain team member. I sincerely apologise for the experience. I have discussed your feedback with the team. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our bedrooms in a phased manner. Our guests can choose to stay in our Chic Deluxe rooms as advertised in posters in our lifts. We would be glad to upgrade you to one of these rooms on your next visit for a small upgrade charge. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and I hope we can welcome you back soon
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Nadia

Great Value

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
We booked this hotel several months in advance and were able to get a good price, compared to other hotels in the area. We booked 3 room at £62 each. All the rooms were very spacious, with a large king size bed, which was very comfortable. The bathroom had a very large shower, but no shower curtain, which caused all the water to wet the floor. You are supplied with small bottles of shower gel and shampoo and conditioner. There are also shower caps. The room contains tea and coffee making facilities. There is also an Iron and a hairdryer. The reception is on the second floor. There is also a bar, but didn't have any ice or lemon slices. You are able to get snacks and pot noodles. We arrived early but we lucky enough to be able to check in early. The staff we came across were very pleasant. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short overnight stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff very pleasant. I have also discussed your feedback with the bar team. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and I hope we can welcome you back soon