Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Friendly hotel in suburbs

Posted Jun 24, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and clean and the meals were excellent value
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Reception, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review dated 24th June. I was very glad to read that everything met with your satisfaction and hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Cardiff again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

one night for a funeral

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Good for a one night stay to go to a funeral. It is as described, good budget, food very good, comfortable. As an older couple, we would have appreciated a grab handle for bath/shower for safety.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017
Thank you for your review dated 20th April. I was glad to read that your stay with us was a comfortable one. I have noted your comments regarding the hand rail however we do have non slip mats and these are available on request from reception.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Did the job!

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and quiet location, close to a Lidl which is always handy.
Cons: Decoration in rooms is probably due an update.
This wasn't the fanciest of places and the rooms weren't anything special but it served its purpose for us just needing somewhere to stay for the night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Campanile Hotel Cardiff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review dated 3rd April. I was glad to read that everything met with your satisfaction. I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Cardiff again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Customer service was poor and were given wrong check out details, the staff were very arrogant and didnt wish to assist with much The view was okay and the room was clean Would recommend if your rude to!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Campanile Hotel Cardiff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review dated 27th March. I was very disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. Good quality customer service is something that we pride ourselves on and I was sorry to read that, on this occasion, something appears to have gone wrong.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
We needed cleanliness, warmth & convenience and we got them. Value for money. Could have done with another chair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017
Thank you for your review dated 16th March. I was glad to read that everything met with your satisfaction and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Cardiff again in the future.
3 out of 5
by Marc

Cardiff stay

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
2 night stay which was ok Room was clean and functional Little noisy due to being next to the M4 Staff were helpful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Lovely hotel for a night or two stay

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Fabulous hotel the staff was so friendly and couldn't do enough to help, the hotel was spotless fair play considering how busy it was will definitely go back and will use this company again. Thank you 😊
4 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NW England

A place to lay your tired body

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Honestly, it was the only hotel with two available rooms in Cardiff when I was looking to book
Cons: Most things, it's a very tired and dated hotel that has nothing to rave about. A lot of TLC needed to make this a hotel of choice over necessity
Location: Outskirts of Cardiff, £15 taxi ride into the city centre. Whilst I did't look hard for things to do nearby I suspect there is very little.
Normally the room would be £35.00 and my review might have been all threes i.e. average had that been what I'd paid for it but due to the rugby the management decided to increase the cost of the room to £150 per night (EXCLUDING breakfast) and whilst I understand the laws of supply and demand this is a totally unacceptable increase for the facilities of lack of facilities provided. At best the accommodation is reminiscent of a 1960's holiday camp and the general feel about te place is one of a tired and unloved hotel. Staff were OK, and room was clean so the minimal basics were covered but £150 per night is extortion and does no good for the hotel reputation. Double the standard might have just about been palatable but only just