Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

This is a quaint, small hotel located in Penarth.

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: It is a local place, not part of a large chain. It was also great to be near bus stops for touring.
Cons: No suggestions
Location: Hotel is very near to bus stops, which for one price per day you can get on/off unlimited times. Bus use allows access to Cardiff tourist sites.
With our early arrival, we had to wait a bit at the very-near bus stop for the business(pub) to open. We were allowed to leave our bags inside and go exploring the Cardiff area until the room would be ready. There was some concern about getting how we would get our large luggage up the stairs. However, upon our return that afternoon, our room was ready and luggage had already been carried up for us. The room was very nice, well-furnished, and had a private full bath. There were tea and coffee provisions, as well. Everything was clean.The room overlooked the schoolyard and road intersection, allowing us to see and hear local life. The pub downstairs was very traditional and seemed to have neigborhood regulars. Lunch and dinner were offered daily, so we tried it one night. The food was good and varied, but it took a bit longer to be prepared since it is a small business.
4 out of 5
by Ben from Loughborough

Definitely would go again.

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed my stay, great location south of the city. Quiet neighbourhood and about a mile from the station. There was a live band playing in the pub below tat didn't finish until late, but other than that it was a great place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and good location

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels
We stopped at the Cefn Mably as a base for a football game at Cardiff and to meet friends in Cardiff. The hotel rooms are in good condition and we had everything we needed as a base. The only potential downside for some would be the music played until midnight, but this was not a problem for us and we were warned beforehand. If you do want a quieter, earlier night, then it would be best to look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
by Miss Williams

Value for money

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Lovely, comfortable room, easy drive to Central Cardiff- amazing value for money. I would definitely return. I only have two very minor criticisms- the room wasn't particularly warm (I slept in my jumper) and the car park sign isn't very easy to see at night (I only spotted it when I'd overshot the turning & drove back along the road in the opposite direction). Apart from that- fantastic hotel all round!
4 out of 5
by Rob from Hawaii

Standard Village Inn/BnB

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Clean, comfortable, accomodating staff.
Cons: Maybe some instructions on how to use the heater for those of us who grew up with central heating. :-)
Rooms are above a bar, which could be good or bad depending on your POV. Proprietor (Ovis) was very accomodating. Room was standard for an older inn in an older building -- furnishings aren't new, but not ancient either -- everything was clean and there was a decent-sized flat screen TV on the dresser. Could use an electrical outlet in the bathroom, but back when the place was built people probably didn't have electric everything for getting ready in the morning. If you're expecting the Sheraton, this isn't for you -- if you want a comfortable night's sleep with everything you need for a decent price, this is perfect. Note: there's no 24-hr desk clerk; check-in ends at 10pm.
3 out of 5
by Wynne from Portsmouth

Basic but comfortable

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels
You get what you pay for but no way a three star rating. Nice welcome on arrival and though I knew it was room only there was no one about to cook a breakfast even if I wanted to pay for it. Had a nice enough meal on Thursday evening but the real ales from a local brewery were just about drinkable but not very nice. Overall a 6 out of 10
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rachelf from Isle of Wight

Friendly, courteous and efficient

Posted Apr 30, 2013 on Hotels
Smooth service, no delays, no problems. The only downside was that the entertainment downstairs was too loud for me to sleep early which I had intended. However the wifi was good so I watched a film instead. Happy customer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2013 on Hotels
I only stayed here for one night, between shifts at work to save commuting. The staff member at the bar was very friendly and helpful. The room was of a very nice and spacious. I'd recommend this place to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Cardiff.
5 out of 5
by Dave

Would be outstanding even at twice the price

Posted Feb 26, 2013 on Hotels
Very high quality rooms, plenty of space and a great location for Cardiff - I went for both Opera and Rugby and it was a good base for both. The breakfast is worth the extra £5 and overall I am still pinching myself at how cheap it was. I almost didn't book for fear of a bad experience.