Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

that bad I booked into another hotel than stay..

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
bad services...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from welsh but live in emgland for work

Visiting Christmas market in Cardiff

Posted Dec 6, 2016
The room very small but clean. No one was eating in the evening G and there was NO facility for breakfast. Very expensive night with no food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed over for one night to run the Cardiff half marathon. Had a nice Saturday relaxing in the bar downstairs and a good night's sleep ready to run in the morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Handy for Cardiff area

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Room fine, though armchair and table/desk would have been nice. Car park and plenty of on-road parking nearby. Good full English breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

This is a quaint, small hotel located in Penarth.

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: It is a local place, not part of a large chain. It was also great to be near bus stops for touring.
Cons: No suggestions
Location: Hotel is very near to bus stops, which for one price per day you can get on/off unlimited times. Bus use allows access to Cardiff tourist sites.
With our early arrival, we had to wait a bit at the very-near bus stop for the business(pub) to open. We were allowed to leave our bags inside and go exploring the Cardiff area until the room would be ready. There was some concern about getting how we would get our large luggage up the stairs. However, upon our return that afternoon, our room was ready and luggage had already been carried up for us. The room was very nice, well-furnished, and had a private full bath. There were tea and coffee provisions, as well. Everything was clean.The room overlooked the schoolyard and road intersection, allowing us to see and hear local life. The pub downstairs was very traditional and seemed to have neigborhood regulars. Lunch and dinner were offered daily, so we tried it one night. The food was good and varied, but it took a bit longer to be prepared since it is a small business.
4 out of 5
by Ben from Loughborough

Definitely would go again.

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed my stay, great location south of the city. Quiet neighbourhood and about a mile from the station. There was a live band playing in the pub below tat didn't finish until late, but other than that it was a great place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and good location

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels
We stopped at the Cefn Mably as a base for a football game at Cardiff and to meet friends in Cardiff. The hotel rooms are in good condition and we had everything we needed as a base. The only potential downside for some would be the music played until midnight, but this was not a problem for us and we were warned beforehand. If you do want a quieter, earlier night, then it would be best to look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Miss Williams

Value for money

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Lovely, comfortable room, easy drive to Central Cardiff- amazing value for money. I would definitely return. I only have two very minor criticisms- the room wasn't particularly warm (I slept in my jumper) and the car park sign isn't very easy to see at night (I only spotted it when I'd overshot the turning & drove back along the road in the opposite direction). Apart from that- fantastic hotel all round!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Hawaii

Standard Village Inn/BnB

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Clean, comfortable, accomodating staff.
Cons: Maybe some instructions on how to use the heater for those of us who grew up with central heating. :-)
Rooms are above a bar, which could be good or bad depending on your POV. Proprietor (Ovis) was very accomodating. Room was standard for an older inn in an older building -- furnishings aren't new, but not ancient either -- everything was clean and there was a decent-sized flat screen TV on the dresser. Could use an electrical outlet in the bathroom, but back when the place was built people probably didn't have electric everything for getting ready in the morning. If you're expecting the Sheraton, this isn't for you -- if you want a comfortable night's sleep with everything you need for a decent price, this is perfect. Note: there's no 24-hr desk clerk; check-in ends at 10pm.
3 out of 5
by Wynne from Portsmouth

Basic but comfortable

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels
You get what you pay for but no way a three star rating. Nice welcome on arrival and though I knew it was room only there was no one about to cook a breakfast even if I wanted to pay for it. Had a nice enough meal on Thursday evening but the real ales from a local brewery were just about drinkable but not very nice. Overall a 6 out of 10