Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

A Romantic Valentines

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The wonderful staff, lovely sized room with a comfortable bed. Each room has an honesty basket with things like wine. No more than 6 couples can stay
Cons: nothing to improved
Location: less than 20 mins from Chepstow and about 15 mins from Magor.
The staff at the Celtic Guest House is truly wonderful and romantic. They provide a lovely little breakfast and the staff are more than happy to talk to you and give you suggestions on what to do. They recommended the Golden Lion pub in Magor, which they booked for us as it is owned by the owner of the Celtic Guest House. Its a lovely pub. As it was valentines they had some little extras at the hotel, petals on the bed and bucks-fizz at breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

First class small hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: The hotel was a great first stop in Wales with all the sights in the immediate area.
Our one night stay at this beautiful hotel started with a warm welcome by the lovely lady at reception, who gave us the history of the inn and its renovations. She also noted that we might like wine glasses and ice and so kindly got these items for us. Our room was beautifully finished and designed with high end fixtures in the bathroom. A popular restaurant/bar was located across the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great to feel like a guest

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Mags on reception was wonderfully pleasant and helpful. Lovely room and facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Fab!

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: The lady running this hotel was so helpful and made our stay an absolute pleasure. The accommodation was tip top and very comfortable.
Cons: No improvements necessary!
Location: Although we couldn't have dinner at the hotel we were directed to a very nice pub three minutes walk away where we had a lovely meal.
One night stay but would wished it had been longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and friendly

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Stylish room with high quality fittings. Friendly reception.
Cons: The bathroom basin. Exterior signage.
Location: Convenient for an event at Celtic Manor.
I had trouble finding it as I couldn't see any exterior signage, although it was dark and raining so there could have been something small or unlit. I then had trouble finding the front door, which is rather insignificant and not clearly a main entrance. Just a big sign over or by it saying "reception" or "way in" would help. Friendly welcome, pleasant room with high quality fittings. Bathroom basin was the major issue, a shelf-type affair only an inch or two deep and with no plug. The tap produced only a thin dribble of water. I timed it - twenty seconds to fill a glass of water! Looked very classy but wholly impractical, with no way of soaking anything, for example to rinse out a pair of tights. No soap dish in the shower. Some road noise but not excessive. On my second night there was a lot of noise from other rooms, with the sound of voices being clearly heard well into the small hours. I would happily stay again, but would look around first to see what else is available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet And relaxing place.

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Very quiet place. The host was very welcoming and friendly. They had a wifi issue but was made aware of that and offered an alternative room but we didnt go there to use wifi. The room was clean and we had a great night sleep. Close to nice pubs and restaurants. Will visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Berkshire UK

A pleasant brake

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Very modern with everything you want,except no pen and paper in the room?
Cons: Only the weather!
Location: There is a bus stop outside that will take you to Newport. Otherwise you have to drive to any of the villages and towns.
Weather not good, one day out of three not bad for Wales.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dorset

1st visit

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Approach to the hotel was very nice indeed clean and neat, welcome by reception great
Nice hotel,not too easy to find,but generally very good,they do like their add ons though.Lady on reception very welcoming and altogether a pleasure to talk to,Only marked down on room comfort only due to the bed being too hard for me. We will go back there again and would have no hesitation to recommend to friends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Lovely quiet hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Very clean and tide, staff were very friendly. Rooms were cracking
Cons: Nothing for me
Location: The hotel is in a lovely quiet area and about 15 minutes drive away from Newport train station and about a 30 minute drive away from Cardiff.
The hotel is in a lovely quiet area and about 15 minutes drive away from Newport train station and about a 30 minute drive away from Cardiff. The hotel itself is very clean and tidy. The rooms are large enough and the bathroom was very clean. The 'rain' shower certainly felt good in the morning. Sue who runs the hotel, was very helpful and very accommodating given we (7 men come to watch the Ashes) arrived much earlier than our check in time. If you are looking for food, look no further than a 2 minute walk away at the Old Barn. The food was awsome and again, the staff here were also very nice and friendly. Especially when some missed the 9.30 breakfast time, the chef and staff were more than happy to cook a full Welsh breakfast (amazing and all fresh). If you are looking for a local taxi service, ask Sue at the hotel for Simon's number. Simon was very accommodating and a very nice chap and is was more than reasonable price wise. Overall, all the lads were made up with everything - 5/5
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from isle of wight

lovely bed and breakfast in a quiet location

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: it was very clean and the bathroom was stunning
Cons: nothing...it has it all
Location: quiet location with a pub near by for food
very warm and friendly welcome and a nice feeling the minute you enter the property. the room was amazing and we even had an upgrade as the bed and breakfast was not full. the rooms were spotless which im sad to say is a let down in most places me and my husband have stayed in. we were so impressed we booked again on the spot for our next visit. fantastic ......both room and location