Ratings based on 1,319 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Very good value for money

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Everything was excellent. The only reason for 4 stars is the waiting of 2 hours for the room to get ready.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Jason Court, Guest Relations & Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear George, Thanks for reviewing our hotel! I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Great hotel near the station

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Smart friendly staff
Cons: Everything was excellent
Location: Shopping sight seeing all near the hotel
Hi stayed here whilst going to a concert at Motor Point Arena, it was so convenient, staff told us how far we had to walk and gave us advice on things to do on the extra 2 days we were there. Close to station but no issues at all with noise. Room was clean and very comfortable, bathroom good size and lots of space. Really great stay. We could just cross the road for restaurant quarter, shopping area, down St Mary,s Street to the castle and tour bus. Would recommend this hotel and Cardiff such nice people and so helpful, will definitely go back and stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Jason , Hotel Management
Dear annie, Thanks for reviewing our hotel! I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and managed to explore Cardiff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jason Court Guest Relations & Quality Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Handy for Cardiff central

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Handy, comfortable
Cons: Taxi booking arrangements
Location: No idea
This was a more than acceptable hotel for a short stay on business.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2017 by Jason Court, Guest Relations & Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mike, Thanks for the lovely review of our hotel. I'm delighted you had a comfortable stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, nothing special

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Efficient check in, not particularly welcoming. The room was ok, but dusty, crumbs on the floor (bed not moved when vacuuming so not picked up). Bathroom spotless. Breakfast OK bacon very fatty but everything else quite nice. Waiting staff very friendly at breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Dear Isaiah, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments and we will action where needed. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jason Court Guest Relations & Quality Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Decent modern interior, attention to detail with regard to cleanliness would have been appreciated. Helpful staff & attentive too. Fantastic central location & a great view from the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. I do hope we get to welcome you back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Needs more plug sockets in room. Had to disconnect kettle in order to plug in hair dryer. Could use a bath mat in the bath as slippery when wet.
Location: At end of railway station approach road. On edge of shopping area (5 minute slow walk). Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.
Good hotel, close to railway station and shopping area. Clean room, comfortable bed. Good selection of hot and cold items for breakfast . Bath with shower over in bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards, Jason Court Guest Relations & Quality Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Italy

Is ok enough?

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Staff and cleanliness. No complaints
Cons: Make it more special. People are easily pleased. A map of Cardiff on arrival, a few packets of biscuits with the tea, bathrobes.
Location: The location is great if you are arriving by rail. You can walk to everything special in Cardiff from the Clayton
So, we were in Cardiff with loads of other family members for a wedding. They were in various other hotels near the centre whereas I'd chosen Clayton as it's near the station and we were arriving by train. However as the wedding was pretty special, we'd booked a 4 star and wanted to push the boat out a bit. Even before I saw some other 4 star hotels in Cardiff and started comparing, I was wondering why the Clayton isn't a 3 star. It's just ok. It IS clean and the staff are welcoming. But,the bed is a bit small for two, there's a wardrobe that is just a rail really and despite the minimum toiletries and tea making stuff there is absolutely nothing that makes it feel like a special experience and the welcome leaflet listing how much you'll pay for stealing towels etc made it even slightly squalid. I saw my family enjoying the 4 star Hilton and the 4 star Radcliffe and I wish I'd gone there instead.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Dear Sandra, Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. I'm disappointed you don't feel we are a great 4 star experience we will take all your comments on board as we are always looking for ways to improve our offering to guests. kind Regards Jason
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Channel Isles

Close to train station and shops

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Lovely hotel close to everything and great friendly staff. Only complaint is at least 3/4 times the week I was there I could not sleep until gone 2am due to the constant loud thumping of music. I was in a corner King Room on the 8th floor so if there is a club or something on the ground floor then I dread to think what people further down had. It was the only thing that spoilt my trip, a constant headache the day after.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Jason , Hotel Management
Dear Deb, Thanks for writing a review of your recent stay with us. I'm disappointed that the music was keeping you awake til 2am there are strict noise pollution levels the bars and clubs have to adhere to, we will monitor this going forward. I do hope we get to welcome you back in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Nice location, Friendly staffs.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The hotel is easy to find and face to the city center. The room is clean, but not big.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Jason , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards, Jason Court Guest Relations & Quality Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
A great place to stay. Pity about the weather on Monday, but you can't blame anyone for that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Jason Court Guest Relations & Quality Manager