Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Decent modern interior, attention to detail with regard to cleanliness would have been appreciated. Helpful staff & attentive too. Fantastic central location & a great view from the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Needs more plug sockets in room. Had to disconnect kettle in order to plug in hair dryer. Could use a bath mat in the bath as slippery when wet.
Location: At end of railway station approach road. On edge of shopping area (5 minute slow walk). Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.
Good hotel, close to railway station and shopping area. Clean room, comfortable bed. Good selection of hot and cold items for breakfast . Bath with shower over in bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards, Jason Court Guest Relations & Quality Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Italy

Is ok enough?

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Staff and cleanliness. No complaints
Cons: Make it more special. People are easily pleased. A map of Cardiff on arrival, a few packets of biscuits with the tea, bathrobes.
Location: The location is great if you are arriving by rail. You can walk to everything special in Cardiff from the Clayton
So, we were in Cardiff with loads of other family members for a wedding. They were in various other hotels near the centre whereas I'd chosen Clayton as it's near the station and we were arriving by train. However as the wedding was pretty special, we'd booked a 4 star and wanted to push the boat out a bit. Even before I saw some other 4 star hotels in Cardiff and started comparing, I was wondering why the Clayton isn't a 3 star. It's just ok. It IS clean and the staff are welcoming. But,the bed is a bit small for two, there's a wardrobe that is just a rail really and despite the minimum toiletries and tea making stuff there is absolutely nothing that makes it feel like a special experience and the welcome leaflet listing how much you'll pay for stealing towels etc made it even slightly squalid. I saw my family enjoying the 4 star Hilton and the 4 star Radcliffe and I wish I'd gone there instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Channel Isles

Close to train station and shops

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Lovely hotel close to everything and great friendly staff. Only complaint is at least 3/4 times the week I was there I could not sleep until gone 2am due to the constant loud thumping of music. I was in a corner King Room on the 8th floor so if there is a club or something on the ground floor then I dread to think what people further down had. It was the only thing that spoilt my trip, a constant headache the day after.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Jason , Hotel Management
Dear Deb, Thanks for writing a review of your recent stay with us. I'm disappointed that the music was keeping you awake til 2am there are strict noise pollution levels the bars and clubs have to adhere to, we will monitor this going forward. I do hope we get to welcome you back in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Nice location, Friendly staffs.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The hotel is easy to find and face to the city center. The room is clean, but not big.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Jason , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards, Jason Court Guest Relations & Quality Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from swindon

Poor hotel roomnear city centre

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Crap room rates 2star not worth 300pound no breakfast never again 1plus gina on reception10 out of 10
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Jason, Hotel Management
Dear Pat, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short I will however pass on your compliments to Gina. Kind Regards, Jason Court Guest Relations & Quality Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Walking distance to the stadium

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Walking distance to Principality Stadium and many pubs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Jason, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Jason Court Guest Relations & Quality Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Very central and within easy walking distance to all the town centre and the eateries
Cons: the facilities and amenities were great. Lovely restaurant and bar, so was a lovely retreat to when you have finished shopping and sightseeing. will definitely stay there again, when i visit in February. Have been telling friends about it
Location: The castle - great visit. Meal at Viva Brazil restaurant great - The Old Market Tavern great. My stadium oh my dreams fulfilled. So much more
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Jason, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Jason Court Guest Relations & Quality Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke

Clayton Hotel, Cardiff

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: - Central location - Comfortable/spacious room - Clean and apparently well run
Cons: It is a modern, large, business/tourist hotel very like many others.
Location: Excellent, central location with many eating/drinking places very close by and much of the city centre in walking distance.
Large, modern hotel very conveniently located for Cardiff Central railway station and the restaurants, cafes and bars of central Cardiff. I stayed just the one night and it served my purpose very well as a comfortable base in the centre of the city for one night. My room was spacious and comfortable, the reception staff friendly and capable and the hotel gives every appearance of being well run. The one night, weekend rate (without breakfast) was very good value for money. I did not use the restaurant/bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Jason, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Jason Court Guest Relations & Quality Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Average.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Central location near shopping and trains.
Well located average hotel. Meets needs but doesn't go above that level.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2016 by Jason, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Jason Court Guest Relations & Quality Manager