Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gravesend

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Had an enjoyable couple of days at Coldra Court - rooms are large and currently being updated so should be lovely in due course. Reception and bars very nice and comfy. Had a really nice dinner in the restaurant too. Would definitely recommend if you can accept there's work going on in the hotel at the moment
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will be lot better once refurbished

Posted Nov 11, 2016
A lot of refurbishment going on. Staff were great but breakfast range could be a lot better with a more calmer atmosphere
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Shower room dated

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: No information
Staff and food food first class. Shower room needs to be refurbished. Noisy overlooking pond and court yard. Room needs sound proofing. Not a good nights sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SW

Freezing cold room. Parking fee disgraceful

Posted Oct 26, 2016
The hotel was fine as hotels go. But for the price it was embarrassing to associate it with the Celtic Manor. The room was freezing cold (even with the small heater on full blast), and to charge for parking when I'd already paid for the hotel room I considered disgraceful. An easy way to squeeze extra cash from a captive audience as there was no alternative parking. The carpets in the hallways were threadbare and taped up in parts. I expected more for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

Overall very good for price paid.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Location very good for getting about for site seeing and food
The room was good, bathroom needs updating. Facilities on site brilliant and breakfast was included in our package and very excellent Staff in the breakfast room very very helpful and pleasant. The whole of bedroom area in need of renovation, painting has started which was a bit inconvenient because of the smell of paint. The hotel could do with a lift, second floor accommodation not suitable for elderly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Great location near m4 also near many attractions

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: Location great. NT property and Cardiff St Fagans museum great places to visit.
Just taken over from Hilton staff were great. Sadly breakfast was not hot but when I pointed this out was offered another hot one, didn't have time but staff really tried to put it right. Have been to this hotel many times when it was the Hilton. Will go again as long as the improvements don't put the cost up! However all the rooms are a great size. Would recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disconnected from Celtic Manor

Posted Oct 6, 2016
We were part of a conference at the Celtic Manor and overflow guests where booked here. My wife was interested in some of the activities at the Manor & told to go there in the morning to sign up, did and discovered there were no activities - day wasted. On day 3 of the conference after waiting for the shuttle which was supposed to run twice an hour was told no shuttle that day and I had to order a cab. The shuttle from the Major back was always timely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport

Average hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Easy check in, staff were friendly. The rooms were basic and hadn't been done out since buying it from the Hilton, needs to be updated as you wouldn't think it was owned by the celtic manor. Food was absolutely amazing, literally the best meal me and my partner had eaten - so fresh and amazing quality. Although they did try charge me twice as I paid in the restaurant and they tried to charge me on checkout. Needs to be communicated between staff and departments as I felt insulted and showed up as there was people around me. Overall average wouldn't go to the Coldra Court again as we've been and had the experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales

Tired and overpriced

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: It was sited close to the motorway but traffic noise was not noticeable. The staff were very friendly and efficient.
Cons: Decor, room layout and siting. Better ventilation to stop the mould
Location: Near Newport, handy for Bristol and Cardiff. Shopping, site seeing, culture and sport if so minded
We stayed for 4 days in a family room sited next to the outdoor area of the bar for smokers. The window and curtains were mouldy. You couldn't get to the shower if someone was sat on the toilet. You got charged for using the car park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel bathroom poor

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Lovely and friendly, couldn't use the jacuzzi as business men hogged it ☹️ Lovely food, down side bathroom in poor shape