Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location, lovely staff

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: The room was rather huge (by NYC standards) and painted in lovely blue-green. Lots of comfortable details that also gave the room character.
Cons: The mattress was thin and futon-like, but I slept well enough anyhow. We couldn't figure out how to lower the shower temperature, which was scalding.
Location: Dexby is just a block away from Cardiff's huge park. The old town is about 20 minutes' walk. We also enjoyed The Conway pub not far away.
We stayed just one night at the Dexby, which is on a lovely street with other B&Bs and townhouse restaurants. Our room was on the ground floor but noise wasn't an issue. I was a bit concerned about security, as there were no bars on the windows and the locks didn't seem super secure, but we didn't have any issues. The woman who runs the place was super, super nice. Breakfast was just fine as well. I'd recommend this as a place to stay in Cardiff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay; lovely friendly people!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well recommended for good quality accommodation

Posted Jul 12, 2016
The Manager Susanna is extremely friendly and helpful and does a marvellous job. Really good accommodation with free on road parking only a 15 min stroll from the city centre. Decent continental breakfast included but for only £4.00 you can order a full welsh one! Excellent location if you are in Cardiff for the cricket. Well recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Well located and great value for money

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Dexby Town House is located in an attractive area of Cardiff and is a pleasant stroll--across a park and along the river--from the castle and the centre of town. The staff were very friendly, the room quiet, comfortable and generously sized. The continental breakfast (included in the price) was plentiful and would be more than enough to sustain most ravenous travellers, though being someone who likes to eat a lot of breakfast when travelling (and I mean a lot, an extraordinary amount), I opted to pay an extra three quid for a particularly large omelette.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely b&b near town

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived earlier than anticipated but room was ready. Had a lovely big room at the front with nice big bay window and good bathroom. Really nicely decorated apart from the incredibly dusty fake plant in the corner! Had coffee made for us when we arrived and given tips for some local pubs and how to get into town. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and really nice breakfast room. Overall a great place to stay near the centre without being disturbed by any of the nightlife. Room could have done with some more thorough cleaning as some surfaces quite dusty but apart from that the place is great!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Wales

A pleasant stay

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Very welcoming. Would return if in area again.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by syed from Birmingham

Caridff for a night

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Nice little hotel, staff very pleasant and welcoming, great location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Cardiff rookies

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: Our room was large with a bay window and two comfortable Victorian style chairs.
Location: 10 minute walk to Cardiff Castle and downtown Cardiff. GO!
Cathedral Street is busy in the day but our front facing room was quiet at night. The continental breakfast was more than sufficient with yogurt, cereal, fruit, juice, croissants, cold meats and cheese. A full Welsh (English) breakfast is available for four pounds. Very reasonable anywhere in Great Britain.