Ratings based on 1,007 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel near to everything

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Enjoyed my stay at the Hilton, room lovely. Staff very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good room, terrible atmosphere

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Comfortable room. Good breakfast.
Cons: Soundproofing, limit numbers of drunken revellers, car parking should be included in the cost of the room in line with almost every other hotel
Location: Good location for central Cardiff but plenty of other hotels in the vicinity that have a more relaxing atmosphere.
Having stayed at a number of Hilton hotels around the country this one is perfectly adequate in terms of room size, comfort and cleanliness. However, the chain seem to have taken a leaf from the EasyJet school of commerce. The car park can only by accessed by a concierge and you will be charged an extra £25 for the privilege, immediately adding 10% to the advertised room rate. The WiFi will also cost you extra. Tea and coffee are available in the rooms but no biscuits. However, my biggest gripe is that the hotel has its bar right in the reception area, and this is open plan all the way up to the bedrooms. When we arrived it was like feeding time at the zoo and I literally could not hear the receptionist telling me about our room number and breakfast arrangements. This cacophony went on until 11.30pm. I have no issue with people having a good night out, but this type of drunken behaviour is not in line with the Hilton image and is certainly not the relaxing night I was anticipating prior to an important appointment the following morning. Until separate function rooms are installed I will not be returning here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you were happy the with size, comfort and cleanliness of your bedroom. I am very sorry to read your additional comments and please do accept my apologies for any dissatisfaction caused to you at the time. Our car park is leased and the charge is carried forward to our guest and we include a valet service with this. There is also self parking available at Greyfriars Road in the NCP or opposite at the Museum if you would prefer to use an alternative in the future. Complimentary WIFI is available in our bar, lobby, costa and business centre. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Close to Castle and shopping

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Nice location for the shops, theatre and main shopping areas. Room was clean and large but bed was a bit uncomfortable and bath had hair in it - was unable to remove plug from the bath as well which wasn't great. There was some noise outside but due to location that is fully expected. Breakfast was good, but we were unable to get much as they began packing everything up 30 minutes before it was due to end. Staff friendly and overall hotel clean and bright. Would stay here again due to location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Dear L, A big thank you for your review. Your comments concerning our location, room and friendliness of the team was a pleasure to read. I am very sorry to read of the issues with your bathroom and I have reported this to our team so that we can address this today. I am sorry if you were disturbed by external noise during your stay and the hotel is in the process of installing triple glazing across key areas of the hotel. Thank you for bringing your comments regarding your breakfast to our attention and I will address this with the team to ensure there is no repeat of this in the future. I do hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rhondda

room 525 very noisy

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: certainly not very welcoming.
Cons: staff training,cleaner rooms,new windows for noise reduction,tell guests before arriving you have to give card with £25 deposit.
Location: did not know
my wife and i booked this hotel for celebration and was very dissapointed, the room lighting was poor, there was mould on shower wall, and we left at 1.00am as the noise was horrendous, the manager offered us a room with 2 single beds we refused that, my wife is deaf in one ear and the noise from the students woke her up, this is not the first time guests have complained but nothing is done, we accept some noise but it was right above the live bar full of screaming students, surely there was an alternative room but we had no choice but to leave after just a few hours forgeting my wifes new slippers, our breakfast was paid for too, very dissapointed staff need to be more cosiderate, as there were guests in the bar they could not wait to usher us out the door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Although in centre of city it was quiet during the night yet convenient
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Hilton hotel/Cardiff

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Excellent would recommend to anyone wishing to stay in Cardiff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central quality hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Disappointed with temperature of room, very warm. Overall lovely hotel in a central location so really disappointed with room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough

Close to town

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Sadly guests in adjoining room were very disruptive from 1am - 6.30am drinking shouting slamming foors etc = no sleep for me!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central location

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: The staff were particularly friendly and the room was incredibly clean. We stayed here so that we were able to catch the Megabus so location was perf
Cons: Don't charge people for WiFi, and don't overcharge for breakfast.
Location: Cardiff City centre is the best, it has all shopping amenities. Coast and mountains only a short distance away. Theatre and arts in abundance.
Had a lovely stay, felt that charging for WIFI was unnecessary, charging the amount The Hilton Cardiff charge I felt was extortion! We also didn't have breakfast as it was offered at just shy on £20 per person. We've had included in the room rate before and certainly didn't feel that it was worth paying so much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit, the service from the team and our central location. I am sorry to read of your disappointment with the WIFI charge. Complimentary WIFI is also available in the bar, lobby, costa coffee and business centre. I do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels