Ratings based on 1,026 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2017
The Hilton Cardiff offers very efficient service with reasonable rooms and dining facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read your feedback regarding the service, rooms and dining facilities. I do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very impressive building, great location

Posted Jun 4, 2017
It was a very busy place because the FIFA officers were staying there for the Cup of Champions Game. I was disappointed with the scratches on the walls. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very attentive. Breakfast was ok, if orange juice was fresh, I would have liked it better. Hotel is located across from the castle and close to the government buildings which were all beautiful sites. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so very sorry to read of the condition of our wall and I will bring this to the attention of our maintenance team to check our rooms. I was pleased to read that your room was clean and comfortable and staff very attentive and that you were happy with our location. I do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: Sound proof windows or noise curtains on the side of the "live lounge"
Location: Cardiff University, Cardiff Castle, City Centre
Great hotel however you should always stay on the castle side of the hotel, there is a lounge open until 0400 every night on the other side, loud music, loud part goers, making it impossible to sleep most nights until they closed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry if you were disturbed by external noise during your stay. The hotel is currently in the process of installing triple glazing in key areas of the hotel and please do let us know before your next visit and we can ensure a more quieter bedroom. I do look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a great location.

Posted May 8, 2017
Lovely bed and clean room. Amazing breakfast and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, A big thank you for your review. It was my pleasure to welcome you to Cardiff and I am so delighted to read your comments regarding the standard of your room, breakfast and friendly staff. Please do come back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx.

Stopover in Cardiff on the way to the Wales coast

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The hotel was fine, quiet and comfortable. The wifi was too weak to be accessed, and the internet access in the business center mostly didn't work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel to be quiet and comfortable for your stop before your visit to the coast. I am so sorry you experienced problem with the WIFI and I have reported this to the provider to try and resolve the issues you have mentioned. I do hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Very convenient, facilities were very modern and clean. Everything you needed was right there in the hotel if you did not want to leave....
Cons: I have no suggestions. Everything was fine.
Location: Location could not have been more convenient. There were lots of shops and cafes. It was literally across the street from Cardiff Castle!
Very nice hotel at a reasonable price, close to public transportation which enabled us to get everywhere easily. It is in an area that has lots of shops and cafes close by, but not as many restaurants for meals in the evening. Service in the hotel's restaurant for dinner was on the slower side, but the food was good and everyone on the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Dear Sir or Madam, I would like to say a big thank you for your fantastic review. It is so great to read that you had a great stay here with us and enjoyed our central location, facilities and service. I am sorry for the slow service in our Restaurant and I will discuss this further with the Manager so that we can look at ways of improving this. Please do come back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Well located hotel close to attractions & shopping

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Hotel is within walking distance to Cardiff Castle, Cardiff Market, museum, shopping area and University of Cardiff etc. Comfy and good size room for 2 adults.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Dear Molly, Thank you for your review. It is great to read your fantastic comments regarding our location and comfortable bedroom. I do hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel near to everything

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Enjoyed my stay at the Hilton, room lovely. Staff very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
A big thank you for your review. I am so happy to read you enjoyed your stay, the service and lovely room. Please do come back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
5 out of 5
by stuart

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Norton

tired and lacklustre

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
the hotel seems a bit tired overall. The location is good but the impact of cost cutting are all too evident. Greys restaurant is not good and very disapointing. The staff are friendly and helpful but there is a lack of professionalism overall. We have stayed here many times over the years but are now thinking we need to look at somewhere else
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Louisa, Hotel Management
Dear Norton, Thank you for your review. I am so very disappointed to read your feedback and I am very sorry to read your comments regarding Grey and I do hope that you discussed your constructive feedback with our team during your stay so that we can look at what we can improve on in the future. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager