Ratings based on 822 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staines, UK

A PCN Nightmare

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Pleasant, helpful staff.
Location: Nightmare to drive to!!
The hotel is centrally located and very handy to all the shops if you are into that sort of thing. Minor niggles were a) Batteries on TV remote kept falling out as the battery cover was missing. b) Arrived for breakfast at 10:50am and there wasn't that much left to eat, staff had already started packing up. The major problem with this hotel, is that if you arrive by car it is a nightmare to actually get to the front door without picking up a penalty charge notice. In the dark and in a downpour, I managed to get two PCNs for driving in a bus lane before I pulled up outside the hotel reception. If you are going to Cardiff and plan to stay in this city centre hotel, either go by bus or train, or perhaps choose to stay at a different hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing views of the castle and lovely room!

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Really great location, gorgeous room, convenient to the station, the great shopping area and the amazing castle! Good value for money too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2016 by MF, Hotel Management
Dear Sir or Madam, A big thank you for your review. I was delighted to read your feedback and I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to Cardiff. Please do come back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Solihull

Overnight stop

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Accessibility and location Excellent choices for breakfast which was well presented and enjoyable
Cons: Choice of food for dinner could be more varied
Location: In centre of Cardiff opposite hotel, bars shops and eateries all close by
Last minute booking as we were travelling to meet friends further down the coast about 2 hours drive away Nice hotel, conveniently located for all amenities such as shops, bars and a variety of eateries etc Pulled up outside hotel and concierge met us and asked for our requirements. Quick easy check in, car taken for valet parking
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2016 by MF, Hotel Management
Dear Barry, A big thank you for your review. I am delighted to read your very kind feedback and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City Centre Hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2015
Pros: City Centre Location
Cons: Both lifts were not working in the hotel this meant a long wait to move around the hotel.
Location: City centre shopping, city centre nightlife and food. Cardiff Castle Cardiff Museum Local Theatres
Great city centre hotel near everything you need to see the city! Helpful friendly staff nothing was to much to deal with.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2015 by Marie, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for completing your review following your recent stay at our Hotel. I was delighted you loved our location in the heart of the City Centre and our team of staff which is a pleasure to receive. I was however sorry to note your feedback regarding the working order of our lifts and please accept my sincere apologies for the dissatisfaction caused to you. I have passed on your feedback to my team and I am delighted to confirm that both lifts are back in working order. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel again in the near future. Kind Regards Marie Fagan General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Great location Within walking distance to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2015 by MF, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay especially our city centre location. I do hope that we will have the chance of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from porthcawl

Great location for shopping, dining. Etc. Lovely,

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: Friendliness of the staff mainly. Close to shopping and a lovely place to have a lunch and cocktails.
Cons: Late night room service menu, which didn't include pizza and chips.
Location: Super, everything close by including shopping and really Fab arcades in the centre of Cardiff. Super champagne bars too.
The hotel and staff were superb. We only live 20 miles away but stay over often for shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2015 by Marie , Hotel Management
Dear Annie Thank you for your great review following your recent stay and I am delighted you had wonderful stay with us. I have noted your comments regarding our limited night menu after 11pm and I am sorry for the disappointment caused to you. I have shared your comments with my team and thank you for taking the time to complete your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel again very soon. Kind Regards Marie Fagan General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room not ready

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: The executive lounge was good, lovely views of the Castle and city. They also sent two cup cakes to our room for hubbys birthday which was nice.
Cons: Very poor toiletries, we have had better in a three or four star hotel. Info in executive room needs to be improveD, eg times to use exec room.
Location: Close to Castle, Millenium stadium and shops. Not too great for restaurants.
We got to the hotel for 3.00pm but room not ready. We had to wait for three quarters of an hour, we did get to wait in the executive lounge which we had paid for so not really compensation. Hotel restaurant over priced and food not great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2015 by MF, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the executive lounge and the birthday cupcakes we placed in your room. Please accept my sincere apologies that your room was not available for you upon check-in and for any inconvenience caused to you whilst you waited. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your experience in our Restaurant and I will discuss this with our Chef and look at ways that we can improve this in the future. I have also noted your comments concerning the toiletries in the bathroom and I will forward these to the brand for their consideration. I do hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mary from North Wales

I will return.

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
Very good thank you. One small detail - reception staff could be not as officious and warmer on 'greeting & meeting' - The first point of contact VERY important - gentlemen on the door were very welcoming - thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016 by Louisa, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thank you for your review and it was our pleasure to welcome you. I am pleased that overall you did enjoy your stay but I do apologise for your feedback regarding your welcome by our Reception team. I would like to reassure you that this is certainly not indicative of our normal high standards and I have brought your constructive comments to the attention of our Front of House Manager who will discuss with the team. I do look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Two nights at the Hilton

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness
Cons: The smell in the lobby
We liked the hotel location and everything was exactly as we like it with one major exception. On entering the hotel the awful chemical smell in the lobby was really nasty and was a most unpleasant start to the visit. The staff were really good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2015 by MF, Hotel Management
Dear Sir or Madam, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your comments are truly appreciated. I am very sorry that you found there to be a smell in the lobby upon entry to the hotel and I can confirm that I have checked this with our Housekeeping team and that there is no odur in the lobby area. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sian from Bury

Brilliant.

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Loved it here, service in restaurant at night was a little slow, however, breakfast was amazing! Loved the hotel and a perfect location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016 by Louisa, Hotel Management
Dear Sian, A big thank you for your review. I was delighted that you loved your stay and you enjoyed your breakfast in our Restaurant. Please accept my apologies for the delay in service and I will discuss with the team on how we can improve this in the future. I do look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2015 by Louisa, Hotel Management
Dear Sian, A big thank you for your excellent review. I was delighted to read your very kind comments and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. I do apologise for the slow service in the Restaurant which I will discuss further with our Restaurant Manager and thank you for bringing to our attention. I do look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager