Ratings based on 1,041 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location 5 minute walk to the city centr

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The staff was very professional and kind. Checking in was very easy and fast. The breakfast service was perfect. The concierge showed us where to visit on the map in detail. They parked our car and fetched it as we were leaving. Hassle free, fast, kind service. The entire staff is very efficient and always smiling! The food was of good quality as well. You can also watch movies at your room after an exhausting day of site seeing and shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by MF , Hotel Management
Dear Sir or Madam, A big thank you for you review. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Cardiff and I am so happy you had a great stay. Your comments regarding our team and the service, our facilities and food in our restaurant was so great to read. Please do come back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

City centre hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Location: Loads of great restaurants and bars.
Great customer service. The room was well furnished with a spacious ensuite. Gym was small but provided the basic requirements and great to have the swimming pool. Great location in the city centre, a good city break stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by MF., Hotel Management
Dear Tim, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am so happy to read your feedback regarding our great customer service, the standard of your room and our great location. I do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location and all round decent hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017
A good all round experience. Hotel was clean, staff were friendly and good breakfast made for a pleasant stay. Would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, A big thank you for your review. I am so happy that you had a great experience at the hotel and found the hotel to be clean, staff friendly and good breakfast. Thank you for your recommendation. I do hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of a complete refurb

Posted Jul 14, 2017
I must say the staff were excellent... but other than that the rooms that we had were all tired and half the things were broken in the bathroom. Shower doors hanging off, mould around the tiles and bits of chrome fittings missing or hanging off. I can say that we have been here several times and it has gone down every time we've been. Please up your game Hilton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Dear Ian, Thank you for your review. It is very disappointing to read your feedback regarding the standard of your bedroom and please can I offer you my sincere apologies. I have brought your feedback to the attention of both our housekeeping and maintenance team and I have asked them to resolve the issues. I do hope that despite your experience on this occasion we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales

Cleanliness

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Location and friendliness
Cons: Cleaning
Location: Very good
The room was very dirty,lots of dust in the fridge door draws and cupboards the carpet was stained all over and the under sheet on the bed was stained. I booked this hotel because it is supposed to be the best one around.but all in all very disappointed..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Dear Joseph, Thank you for your review. I was very disappointed to read your feedback regarding cleanliness and I would like to reassure you that this is certainly not the norm. I will address your feedback with our housekeeping team and thank you for bringing to our attention. I do hope that despite your experience on this occasion you will consider staying with us again in the future. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2017
The Hilton Cardiff offers very efficient service with reasonable rooms and dining facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read your feedback regarding the service, rooms and dining facilities. I do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very impressive building, great location

Posted Jun 4, 2017
It was a very busy place because the FIFA officers were staying there for the Cup of Champions Game. I was disappointed with the scratches on the walls. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very attentive. Breakfast was ok, if orange juice was fresh, I would have liked it better. Hotel is located across from the castle and close to the government buildings which were all beautiful sites. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so very sorry to read of the condition of our wall and I will bring this to the attention of our maintenance team to check our rooms. I was pleased to read that your room was clean and comfortable and staff very attentive and that you were happy with our location. I do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: Sound proof windows or noise curtains on the side of the "live lounge"
Location: Cardiff University, Cardiff Castle, City Centre
Great hotel however you should always stay on the castle side of the hotel, there is a lounge open until 0400 every night on the other side, loud music, loud part goers, making it impossible to sleep most nights until they closed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry if you were disturbed by external noise during your stay. The hotel is currently in the process of installing triple glazing in key areas of the hotel and please do let us know before your next visit and we can ensure a more quieter bedroom. I do look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a great location.

Posted May 8, 2017
Lovely bed and clean room. Amazing breakfast and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by MF, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, A big thank you for your review. It was my pleasure to welcome you to Cardiff and I am so delighted to read your comments regarding the standard of your room, breakfast and friendly staff. Please do come back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
4 out of 5
by Benjamin

Hotel right in the center of town

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is located in the center of town, right across from the castle. Given the fact that hotel room and location were so good, the room was surprisingly inexpensive. My room had both a shower and bath. The fitness center on the second floor was very well-equipped, but there was not 24/7 access (opening at 6am weekdays and 7am weekends).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Louisa, Hotel Management
Dear Benjamin, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read your very kind comments regarding our location and facilities and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I do look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager