Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Very good location for all city amenities

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: Great location, parking and views of Bute park from room window on 5th floor
Cons: Needs refurbishment update & fridge in room
Location: Fantastic location for parks, galleries, stadium, sports venues, university, shopping, eating, boat trip all withiin walking distance.
Comfortable but dated décor and expensive for 3 night RWC stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from devon

close to the town

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: near the shops/town
Cons: free wifi, free parking,
Location: shopping and places to dine.
awful stay, tv didnt work, a terrible odour in the room/corridor, hads to change rooms. very shocked at having to pay for wifi, very dissapointed all round , for the price .
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location for a mediocre hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2015
If you want location then this hotel is hard to beat. Literally just behind Millennium Stadium and a 5 minute walk from all the shops, restaurants and cafes. It is also just across the road from the water taxi to Cardiff Bay and a 5 minute walk from the main train and bus station. But don't expect to be wowed by the staff (miserable) or the room facilities (mediocre)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small Room and Poor Bathroom layout

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Proximity to town centre. Overlooking Millennium Stadium.
Cons: Charge sensisble prices for smaller rooms and make it clear if there are less than expected comforts of a room.
Location: I was working throughout the weekend so did not have an opportunity to complete sight-seeing. The hotel is directly opposite the Cardiff Castle though
I stayed here last weekend, on the 3rd floor directly opposite the lift. That in itself wasn't a problem but considering I'd paid £142 for my first night, the room was very small and the bathroom did not meet expectations. I had to close the door when in there else it was in the way, the toilet was squashed right up to the bath meaning the curtain was in the way when using that, plus due to the toilet's position I could not lean in and turn the shower own without difficulty. Not including breakfast in the price (I only had a couple of croissants and a coffee) always grates with me. I actually thought I had booked inclusive breakfast (I always look for this) but on this occasion it appears it was my mistake. When I checked out they tried to charge me for the room, despite me having already paid via Expedia. This is not the first time Holiday Inn have tried to do this to me. I shall be checking my credit card bill again when it comes through! I was not asked how my stay had been so did not raise the above points directly.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central hotel with lovely views across the c

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Staff were friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble, Good location for shopping, culture and sport venues
Cons: nothing
Location: see above
We were there for cricket and hotel was well placed to walk through beautiful park to ground. If you prefer rugby union hotel is right next to millennium stadium.
4 out of 5
for Personal Event
by Maureen from Tunbridge Wells

Would certainly return

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
Very pleasant stay. Hotel comfortable and modern, without being ultra-modern. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in a hotel, excellent choice, with the wide-choice of cooked items all freshly cooked. My room looked out over Bute Park and Cardiff Castle. Some might find the sound of traffic annoying. It didn't prevent me from having great sleeps, the room so quiet that I might have been the only one on that floor ! The town centre and shops are only a few minutes away and the river with its motorboat service to Cardiff Bay is just over the road. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by John from London

A very pleasant stay

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
A one-night stay which was very pleasant.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doncaster


Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: The hotel was in a great location and opposite the Castle could not be better. The Staff could not be bettered anywhere, so helpful and pleasant.
Cons: Nothing
Location: As previously stated the location could not be better
First time in Cardiff travelled down from Doncaster for our Sons wedding and was very excited about it. The area was great with fantastic places to visit and our Son got married in Cardiff castle...........WOW. Saw the bay and had lovely meal out and did Dr Who's experience.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Konrad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, and comfortable bed

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly staff, and comfortable bed
Cons: The size of the room is so small that there was no much room for a suitcase, although it was a double room for one person.
Location: The hotel is just opposite to the castle which is a wonderful place to spend for at least 4 hours.
I stayed in this hotel for two days. The hotel is in a great location, just opposite to the castle which we can see from the room's window. The bed is extremely comfortable, and pillows are excellent. It was very quiet too.