Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Near the action

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: Updating facilities might be good but it is very comfortable
Location: As mentioned above, there are a multitude of activities nearby. In addition it is walking distance to the Cardiff central rail terminal
This is a typical Holiday Inn right in the center of activity in Cardiff. Smallish room but comfortable and showing a little wear. It is next to the stadium and across the street from Cardiff castle as well as easy walking distance to a multitude of shops, restaurants and pubs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gb

weekend stay

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: staff /location
Cons: update decor
Location: heart of city opposite castle adjoining river with llinks to bay
rooma little dated but great location and staff and very clean
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north wales

Good price and good overall

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Perfect location, 4 of us shared 1 room. Rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast had good choices.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Nice hotel, close to all the places I needed to be

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel, efficient staff and well worth the mid price. Very central to all the amenities. Can't wish for more. Staff very helpful.
Cons: Suitable for the less able bodied. As a wheelchair user though the reception desk was a little too high.
Location: Great central location opposite Cardiff Castle. Near to Queen St and all the shops, arcades, restaurants etc.
I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Easy to fine and in the centre of Cardiff. If you are a shopaholic or someone who wants to be within walking distance of pubs etc stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Typical city centre hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Reception area was nice and teh staff very helpful.
Cons: The bedrooms - dated and needed a bit of TLC.
Location: Cardiff castle right on the doorstep, Millennium stadium just behind and lots and lots of bars............
First impressions were good. Nice reception and very friendly and helpful staff. Room though was disappointing - especially for the price. I know city centre hotels get the clients so don`t bother too much about the room, but for the price we paid we felt very let down. Not a lot of space in the room - cramped and only one small wardrobe. Bed was either a good size three-quarters or a really small double bed - but had definitely seen better days. The bathroom was also small and somebody had been doing pull ups on the shower curtain pole - it was bent and the shower didn`t pull across the pole correctly leaving the bathroom no option but to get drenched every time we ventured into the shower. We were also quite close to the lift which was on the go all night - so we were woken at regular intervals by rather drunken guests falling out of the lift. We booked room only as we felt the breakfast was a little pricey, so wandered into teh town to JD Wetherspoons and had one of theirs - something i would definitely recommend. All in all not a good experience and for £269 for the night i felt we had been royally ripped off.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from somerset

Lovely hotel that is close to city centre

Posted Jun 5, 2016
We had an overnight stay over the bank holiday weekend and were very impressed with this holiday inn. Couldn't fault the room breakfast or location. Great value and so close to city centre for shops and nightlife... I even managed in heels!!
3 out of 5
by Mark

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Room was quite small and Free WiFi was not fast enough for decent use.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So-So

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Good location, but Holiday Inn rooms are like something left over from the 70's. WiFi wasn't working and bed linen wasn't the best - duvet very thin. There are BUDGET brands that are better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Value, we will be staying again

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Clean and friendly
Cons: The shower wasn't great, luke warm and limited power.
Location: Walking distance to city center.
We paid a budget price and our expectations were therefore not high. However we were very pleased and satisfied with the whole hotel, very friendly staff, large, clean room, comfortable beds, breakfast was excellent, fresh and plentiful. If you want to visit Cardiff, I would recommend staying here, excellent overall value for money, well done to all the staff at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Center.
2 out of 5
by Kim from Manchester

Noisy run down room

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very disappointed with this stay - the room was next to the lift which had a very loud sound every time it arrived at the floor, throughout the night. In addition to this there was a lot of noise both outside the room and in the corridor. The room itself was run down with marks on the walls and in the bathroom. Breakfast was cold and overcooked. I stay in Holiday Inn's a lot for business and this was one of the worst I have experienced.