Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

just a one night stop but very good value.

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: parking. Wifi. comfortable beds.
Location: next to the castle and close to city centre with shops,restaurants.
straightforward, clean comfortable quiet room. Nice staff and good breakfast. very good value too.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

In need of modernisation

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: everything
While the staff were nice, the hotel and it's facilities were dated, the rooms were showing signs of age and lack of maintenance, we booked three rooms, all were shabby, none of us would stay there again. The beds and bedding were uncomfortable, showers didn't work properly, it's just old and badly maintained. The car park is inadequate and poorly laid out. Breakfast was not good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

No thanks

Posted May 4, 2017
Messed up my room at check in. The room they gave me has stains on the wall and a broken tub. There was a stain on the bed sheet and the room smelt damp. the plugs didn't work properly. Overall not a good time. The only good thing is the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Perfect location!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious and fresh
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mittal

Nice hotel close to castle

Posted Jan 4, 2017
hotel have a very good location near city centre Cardiff . But I feel there in no proper option for a vegetarian in breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
The service of the staff was so nice even tough it was Christmas Day ! Very hospitality and warm welcome !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel right in city centre

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Ebookers
On arriving person on reception was not particularly easy to understand nor particularly welcoming,no eye contact information rattled of very quickly! Breakfast was good but after offering tea initially we could find no one to replenish our tea or coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice location, comfortable room, a little pricey

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Location was great for me - 7min walk to the station, opposite the entrance to Castle park with the river buses in the park for Cardiff Bay, obviously Castle opposite, and 10min walk to museums and a concert hall I was attending. Room was comfortable - the hotel is warm even without conditioning, open views from windows to get fresh air especially towards the canal side or the stadium (bets not on match days, I imagine). Wifi was not the fastest but ok. My only complaint is, for it is - a slightly dated room and the basic quality bathroom products, small bathroom etc - the price I paid (79) should have included breakfast even if not a buffet breakfast. I booked a week in advance and hotel wasn't full so the price quite high for Cardiff.
Cons: The pillows were too large and no other choice/options. Same with duvets- too warm and no other options. If you don't like to have windows open at night, the rooms can be overheated - there is an ok conditioning if you don't mind the sound. I was happy with window open as it was a mild night.
Location: everything is very close. Much better than hotels in the shopping area/ by station as it's airy next to the river. Good Portuguese bakery on same road
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location... could do with a facelift.

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect for location to where I needed to be but you could tell from the décor of the room and bathroom that it had not been revisited since it was built. Breakfast was good but quality could easily be improved.