Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average Hotel close by the city centre.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: We like the staff. Good Breakfast, good modern en clean restaurant. Good Dinner but expensive.
Cons: Rebuild the rooms anno 2017!!!
Location: Nice Castle. Nice Bay, good area around Cardiff.
We had big expectations from the name Holiday Inn. Absolute after the price for three nights with breakfast (393 Pound=463 Euro) When we entered our room it was a big disappointment. Small, outdated, dirty windows and dirty bathroom. Outdated and very used furniture. Can't open a window for a look around. Feeling of a Modern Jail. We are no children!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Great location opposite Bute Park and Castle area

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Good location, clean and spacious bedroom
Location: Hotel is 15 mins walk from Cardiff Station, in pleasant location opposite lovely Bute Park. Plenty of restaurants and bars in easy each.
Good location opposite Bute Park and Castle area, and River Taff. Modern spacious foyer, good staff and service. Bedroom was spacious with plenty storage space and large double bed. Bathroom was small but well appointed with bath/shower. Our room had windows to the back of the hotel looking over Stadium and River Taff. Room had TV and Tea/Coffee making facilities, and Air Conditioning, though opening window too. Breakfast buffet was very good with hot and cold choices, everything you could want.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ad

Event

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Stay often in Cardiff I was attending an event in Cardiff and was horrified that you take the opportunity to capitalise on that situation by ripping customers off because of this I would be reluctant to book in the future shame on you greed wins again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

just a one night stop but very good value.

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: parking. Wifi. comfortable beds.
Location: next to the castle and close to city centre with shops,restaurants.
straightforward, clean comfortable quiet room. Nice staff and good breakfast. very good value too.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

In need of modernisation

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: everything
While the staff were nice, the hotel and it's facilities were dated, the rooms were showing signs of age and lack of maintenance, we booked three rooms, all were shabby, none of us would stay there again. The beds and bedding were uncomfortable, showers didn't work properly, it's just old and badly maintained. The car park is inadequate and poorly laid out. Breakfast was not good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

No thanks

Posted May 4, 2017
Messed up my room at check in. The room they gave me has stains on the wall and a broken tub. There was a stain on the bed sheet and the room smelt damp. the plugs didn't work properly. Overall not a good time. The only good thing is the location.
4 out of 5
by Paul RGC from North Wales

Excellent value Hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Weekend stay to watch the Rugby Finals Day at The Millennium Stadium. Check-in was quick and efficient, room was fine and good value , large stain on the carpet but otherwise clean and tidy. No problems whatsoever. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are attending an event in Cardiff city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel, well located in the city centre

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Ebookers
I booked this room fairly last minute as a birthday treat away for my mum. The hotel was in a great location and the parking was easy and reasonably priced considering we werenin the city centre. The staff throughout our stay were always friendly and extremely helpful and polite. The breakfast was excellent, we will most certainly be visiting again next year!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Perfect location!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious and fresh
5 out of 5
by louisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels