Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Excellent Location

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, food quality
Cons: Family rooms could be a bit roomier
Stayed here as we were watching a concert. We booked a family room which is basically a standard room with a sofa bed squashed in, the result was a very cramped room! Room was very clean and the staff were lovely. Breakfst is a serve yourself type buffet which we couldn't fault and the hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the middle of the shops and bars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Location.
Friendly welcome. Room good. Food also. 20 minute walk to city and to Cardiff bay. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Nice hotel by the lake.... but shabby inside

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Hotel was ok, staff were very helpful as reception let us check in half an hour early. The bathroom in the hotel room was very shabby... toliet handle was about to fall off and everything was very basic. No forks at breakfast so had to eat my bacon with a spoon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Holiday Inn - Cardiff Bay.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Excellent staff. Hotel feels 'tired'; breakfast a bit 'lacklustre'.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overpriced

Posted Jul 3, 2017
quite expensive for a really basic hotel. don't expect much!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

A good experience

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The staff exceptionally kind and helpful. he breakfast was included and was also fantastic, with hot and cold choices. Comfortable room.
Cons: The hotel is too far to walk from the train station or from the town centre. We had to hire a taxi --I guess a shuttle is not possible?
Location: The hotel is too far from the train station or from the town centre for walking. Train to Caerphilly. Local wildlife & Bill's restaurant Cardiff
We stayed for one night. The staff at the front desk and lobby and breakfast area were exceptionally kind and helpful. They went out of their way to assist us and to welcome us. The breakfast was included and was also fantastic, with hot and cold choices. I liked the latte machine. Our room was clean enough and comfortable, but very small. This might not be a good choice for a long visit. The hotel is beside an unusual reservoir. I walked along it with my young daughters watching the ducks. We spotted a couple of cormorants and a couple different species of ducks that we haven't seen in North America, as well as a number of enormous carp. Our big complaint is that the hotel is too far to walk from the train station or from the town centre. We had to pay a taxi five or six pounds for each trip. We did have a nice, brief trip to Caerphilly and to downtown Cardiff while we were there and would recommend that to families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cardiff Waterfront

Posted May 20, 2017
Close to Waterfront area, 10 mins walk. Safe car park, able to leave car there during day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint John, NB, Canada

hard to find

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: on canal, about 10 minute walk to Cardiff Harbour ant tourist area - beautiful!
Cons: Parking should be included in price ($$$) , large lot, 30% occupied
Location: nice walk to tourist area, great selection of restaurants
when mentioned at check-in hotel was hard to find, inferred it was my fault as signs "everywhere". WOW, didn't expect that to casual observation! Travelodge, others close by and enroute…. had I known…..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gateshead

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Clean, friendly hotel on the waterfront, nice breakfast.
3 out of 5
by justin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels