Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea.

A good hotel.

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Good Car Park
Stayed at this hotel New Years Eve.Expected some noise during the night,but some parents left their children run up and down the corridor at 01:30 in the morning,on the 3rd floor,not amused as we were trying to sleep at the time!!Managed to get to sleep eventually.Room was ok,looking over the Car Park,the quieter side.Facilities ok,Wifi signal was ok and free.Bed was ok,on the firm side.Having read reviews,didn't expect a lot from the breakfast,Continental ,with beans,sausage and scrambled egg and toast for those wanting something warmer.A pity some of the public decided to turn up in their pyjamas at 09:00 in the morning which cheapened the Hotel in my opinion.Would probably stay here again,perhaps not on New Years Eve.Book well in advance and you may get a better price.There is a Pub next door,independent of the hotel,where yo can have food and should you wish to have slightly better prices on alcohol. The Staff were very pleasant and booking in and out was good.Breakfast Staff coped well,with the hungry mouths,when the scrambled egg ran out!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Cons: No complaints.
Nice place, staff were nice. Good breakfast. Nice pub next door with good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon

Last minute booking - excellent choice

Posted Dec 5, 2015
We decided to book a last minute break so booked one night!! So pleased with cost, room and breakfast that we decided to stay another night! Reception guy was lovely!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2015
As we did not have a car getting to and from the hotel was expensive as we used taxis. I would not stay there again as it is too far from Newport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from Bedford

Close-ish to Cardiff and way cheaper

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Check in was very efficient. I'm hoping the room is in the process of an upgrade or the décor was a bit tired and holey.... A rather large damp patch on the floor had to be walked around to avoid soggy socks... Bar was comfortable and breakfast was good.. Could have done with some bacon and a choice of eggs... it was only sausage and scrambled on the morning we were there....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Musammil from Barnet

Great stay

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel...great service and great staff. Well done...keep up the good work Holiday Inn Express Newport!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great base for this part of Wales.

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
A last minute stay for my husband, son and I. Great base for exploring this part of South Wales especially the Cardiff area and we also went to Caerleon and Caerphilly Castle. A little road noise but not too much. As we booked on the day the sofa bed wasn't ready for my son but as soon as I called reception they came and organised this. Very friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble. For me the selection at breakfast was fine but my son and husband missed having bacon! Great to have a hotel with free Wi-Fi as this is a must for us as we need to keep a regular check on our business at home. Rooms were clean although for us personally the bed was a little too firm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Michael from Edmonton, AB

A drip in the night

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
There was a problem with the a/c dripping overnight which woke us up. When switched off no drip. One of the towels in the room had obviously been used before to quieten the drips /mop the floor and had not been changed. presumably the drip was not reported to the management by the previous guest
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England, Essex

Holiday Inn Newport

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Very modern hotel, rooms very clean and spacious, staff very polite & helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Anne from Wolverhampton

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Very comfortable, clean room. Basic breakfast.