Ratings based on 496 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Nice hotel that's close to the with a lovely staff

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Had a great time with my girlfriend. I can't wait to do it again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cyprus

Are changes always the best?

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The rooms were still comfortable with pleasant views, spacious and kept very clean!
Cons: The air condition was always on & I had to switch off, it should not be on in a country like Uk as saving energy is an environmental MUST!
Location: The location was very convenient for centre ,shopping , train station and places to visit, the castle and university as well as the bus to go around.
This is third time to visit and found many changes not always better than before! I liked the hotel as it was familiar to me & I had to cope with changes but I suppose this is modern trend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Decent hotel but too expensive.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
With a price of £225 for a night, I was expecting a lot more. I also left something behind and asked if they could have a look for it, they'd said they'd give me a call back but I'm still waiting 4 days on. Wasn't a great experience if I'm honest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Nice hotel in a good location.

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Location and room.
Cons: Breakfast - could be fresher and warmer.
Location: Great for city centre and all sporting occasions.
Stayed for the cricket. Good location (taxi service was a bit slow but that's not the fault of the hotel) for the city centre and all sporting events. Small car park but we managed to find a space with a reasonable overnight rate. Late check-in was good although at check-in discovered a 6th Form Prom and several hen and stag nights taking place - none of these disturbed us and we had a comfortable nights sleep. The room was very big, clean and all the expected amenities. Free wifi was quick although I had to join their loyalty scheme which I'm not keen on. Breakfast was reasonably priced (extra cost), although some of the food (served buffet style) was luke warm. Overall the hotel was good, great location and very comfortable. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Good welcome, only one night stay, room had all needed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Under staffed & shabby rooms

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Booked a twin - got a a double Room had disgusting black grime around the windows with putty stuffed into it, smelt of smoke , generally worn & shabby decor Robes were missing Decor depressing & basic Only room service sandwiches after 10pm & not all menu available - after ordering took 1.5 hours to arrive & wasn't right - the staff member was fabulous - just on his own trying to do all it all & was clearly not trained Also had to cash for room service !! At check-in was told breakfast included - at breakfast told it wasn't ! Staff were all very friendly & helpful but there weren't enough of them Shocking at £240 per night
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wolverhampton

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Everything apart from the delayed check in.
Cons: Check in time - if you say check in is at 2pm, the rooms should be ready. There were a lot of people hanging around with the same problem.
Location: Close to city centre, abundance of shops, bars & eateries, Cardiff Castle, water taxi, Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Bay fab - get no 6 bus
2 hours late getting checked in but apart from that everything was fab. Staff lovely and very helpful, room was amazing, a stark contrast to The Grand Hotel in Swansea where we stayed the previous night which was hideously overpriced. We got this hotel for a fraction of the price. Location great, approx 5 mins walk to city centre. On site parking too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

big rooms

Posted May 28, 2016
This stay wasn't possible as Expedia wouldn't entertain any changes. However an earlier stay in the hotel was pleasant with well appointed and comfortable large rooms.
5 out of 5
by Salome from Switzerland

Good value

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Surprisingly nice chain hotel, well renovated with a good breakfast (buffet and to order). Spa with swimming pool is a nice add on.
4 out of 5
by Jane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels