Ratings based on 612 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Perfect hotel for a first time in Cardiff. Why stay anywhere else?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north wales

Posted Jan 2, 2018
The hotel was lovely, staff appropriate, waiting on staff much warmer then reception staff, the only negative in the 2 nights was the room temperature, freezing !!!!! Had to put coats and fleeces on whilst in bed. I was diagnosed with breast cancer this year and have recently finished my treatment, it was awful to be cold.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Shortcomings

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: close to town so okay
I stayed for one day, had to leave the next morning bright and early so paid for breakfast and placed the card outside my room by 11pm the night before asking to be served between 6- 6.30am. I woke up after my alarm went and checked if the card for my alarm was still there and as if not surprised, it was still there. I Went down to reception to ask when the main breakfast was meant to start and they said 7.30am which was no good for me. This is not the first time it has happened with my stay there, really should find a better hotel in this town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guernsey, Channel Islands

Hotel available for rugby match

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Good sized room
Cons: Housekeeping check all the beds, and bathrooms.
Location: Rather out of town but it was needs must at the time of booking.
We have stayed at Mercure Holland House Cardiff before - now the reception area looks cheap and like a DIY wallpaper pasting table. Twin bedded room - one bed comfortable the other noisy. Bathroom door handle creaky, water going down plughole extraordinarily noisy. Housekeeping had to be asked for on the first day, and then they removed all the soap but gave us an extra bathmat!! Not impressed with the continental breakfast - no fruit salad, only whole fruit.
4 out of 5
by Claire

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Excellent staff and great location.

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: The facilities, the friendly and helpful staff and the great breakfast selection.
Location: Very close to city centre, 10 minute walk to castle, stadium, train station and shopping centre.
Stayed only 1 night when in town for an event but good room, good facilities, helpful staff and great location near the city centre. Breakfast was also excellent.
2 out of 5
by More Deborah M Coath

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Good location and facilities

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Facilities staff and location
Cons: Obviously been a change of company ownership. Modernisation of the dining area effective. Rooms a bit dated, room service could be improved..delays
Location: Good location for shops and offices..plethora of things to do in city
Used the hotel many times before. Well located for the venues I have to attend in the city. Staff always helpful, facilities good and well managed and rooms are of good size with great views of Cardiff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good, clean hotel, great location, parking

Posted Nov 9, 2017
This is a grea5 choice for a short stay in a great location in Cardiff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

My room was clean, but a bit out dated

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Staff where very helpful and polite
Cons: Needs a bit of updating in the rooms in the near future
Location: I was there for a meeting which was held in the hotel. Good local shops if you have forgotten anythingn
I found it most odd that there was not a staircase all the way to the top of the building other than the emergency stairs, which I discovered by accident as I was on the 4th floor, and the main stairs finished on 3rd floor. You maybe should inform your clients in case they cannot go in a lift.