Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very close to railway station

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Very modern and clean. Value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bridgend

Great city views and lovely room.

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Cardiff is a lovely city to walk around in with lots of things to do within easy reach. The Mercure itself was lovely, nicely decorated with excellent facilities. Breakfast was awesome. If you do have an extended check out time, make sure you remind the staff. As they just came in to our room past 12pm. Quite annoying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Great hotel, well positioned near Queen St station

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: layout and style
Cons: I found the room slightly cold - there is air conditioning which I set to a higher temperature but it still felt a bit chilly.
Location: Very central to the city but not in a noisy spot - would recommend for anyone wishing to spend a weekend in Cardiff.
I live in the Cardiff area and would choose this hotel every time. I love the layout, the friendly staff and the spa/pool facilities. It is very close to Queen Street Station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from swansea

Good location. Helpful staff.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Parking available but included in price. .Excellent breakfast menu - choices for vegans & food intolerences.
Cons: Disappointed with spa facilities. Unable to book treatments. Sauna & steam room out of order.
Location: 10 min walk to shops, cinema etc. 15/20 min walk to popular restaurants & bars close to john lewis
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South England.

Nice hotel, close to town centre.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Comfortable stay only marred a little by lack of hot water one morning due to power cut in middle of night!! - soon rectified. Staff very welcoming, polite and helpful. Hotel very clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from haverfordwest

Friendly staff, close to City Centre

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Location: Close to Cardiff City Centre and Cardiff Bay. Lots to do
Good spa facilities, excellent lunch. Very good hotel stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea

GREAT CITY HOTEL

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: The rooms
Cons: Parking
Location: City Centre five minutes walk away
Extremely good hotel, modern, bright and welcoming hotel. Reception bit weird as looked like someone had put up a temporary pasting table with a couple of people on mini lap tops. Staff there were ok but not attentive, didn't take a card impression for purchases at the bar etc., offered me £10 breakfasts when they were in my package already. Car parking is £12 which is a bit steep - however all the spaces were either gone or "reserved" - not good, either allow everyone to reserve or be on first come first served - parked in the road for free, but had to feed the meter at 8am. Rooms were brilliant very spacious and comfortable. Bathroom excellent. Bulk standard Buffet breakfast. Did not use gym/pool but looked excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Place to Stay!

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Good facilities, nice staff, quiet atmosphere
Cons: Staff seemed to over-extend themselves and several small things were neglected. There was too much "Yes" and no reasonable time to get it done.
Location: Everything is nearby. Many of the attractions are within walking distance or the hop-on/off is also around the corner.
The hotel is very elegant and has wonderful amenities. The breakfast is delicious and the pool and spa are very nice. The rooms are quiet and the staff are very kind. The hop-on and off bus stop is next to the hotel and it is a short walk to a major downtown shopping area (near the castle). I would recommend taking a taxi to the hotel (from the train station) as it is confusing to find. However, as soon as you walk to the main shopping area (5 minutes), you will understand the layout and navigating the city is very easy. My only concern about the hotel is the steps in front. There is a lift for luggage/people, but I saw many people struggling to use the stairs. Also, there does not seem to be door staff. So, if you have mobility issues, this may be a problem. Inside the hotel, there are many lifts. Overall, I would recommend the hotel-just be cautious if you have mobility issues and be aware that the hotel is a short distance away from the "centre."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
The room was very nice and very comfortable at a reasonable price. Staff was very friendly and eager to be of assistance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Nice hotel that's close to the with a lovely staff

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Had a great time with my girlfriend. I can't wait to do it again