Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Charming hotel with fantastic staff

Posted Jun 27, 2017
We stayed at this lovely hotel whilst visiting Cardiff and Robbie Williams in concert. The staff and service was fantastic, with great food and surroundings. In particular the manager was just brilliant, going above and beyond by taking us into Cardiff centre when our taxi failed to turn up. He was genuinely interested in ensuring we had a great stay in Cardiff, enquiring about our night out, comfort at the hotel and our experience in Cardiff generally. Excellent approach and fantastic customer service. Thank you for a lovely time and we will definitely recommend your hotel to our friends and family. We'll be going back to stay for sure :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pembrokeshire

Good Hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location and not to far into Cardiff City centre.
We had a lovely time, staff and food all brilliant.Lovely hotel in lovely area.We will be use again in the future.XXXXXXXXX
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

A step back into an age of elegance.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The ambience is pleasing, the rooms are spacious, the location is quiet and restful, and the food is marvelous!
Cons: It was unclear why there were no facecloths in the bathroom. Their inclusion would have been welcomed.
Location: The location is in the country but within 6 km of the city center. The castle is only a couple of miles away.
This is a hotel right out of an Agatha Christie novel. From the crunchy manicured gravel driveway to the claw footed bathtub in our room we felt as if we had been swept back into the early 20th century.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LLANGOLLEN

Lovely place to unwind

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Beautiful location, lovely comfy lounge area, stunning building and particularly nice to sit outside in the sunshine with a fabulous view overlooking Cardiff. (Great wire if the light at night too) fabulous woodland gardens to stroll through too. Whilst the breakfast was plentiful I was disappointed that it was a self serve rather than freshly cooked. Evening meal was lovely. Would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views - very friendly

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The staff and the setting
Cons: The breakfast could have offered a little more choice/ perhaps cooked eggs to order?
Location: Stunning views over the city, within easy reach of Castle Coch and Caerphilly Castle.
We had a lovely night away at the New House Country Hotel which included an evening meal in their restaurant. We had a warm welcome and even though the hotel had a wedding and a retirement party all happening at the same time we were very well looked after and actually despite preparing ourselves for potential noise later on in the evening was not disturbed in any way. The restaurant food and service exceeded our expectations both in terms of quality, efficiency and sheer friendliness of staff and their attentiveness. I would highly recommend this hotel and would happily stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with fab views over the Severn estuary.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Cons: Bedroom lighting
Nice hotel with friendly staff and good food. Rooms were clean and the bathroom had recently been refurbed and was excellent. The room however had inadequate lighting which made ladies making up was a challenge. Overall apleasant one night stay and would come again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Impressive room

Posted Mar 13, 2017
We booked a bridal room, just for a one night getaway. The room was huge, well furnished and comfortable. The views across Cardiff were impressive. Thank you for a memorable stay.
4 out of 5
by David

Rugby weekend

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent views good around hotel Services good with breakfast and food very well presented
1 out of 5
by Ioan Julian

Not a 4 star hotel.

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
This is not a 4 star hotel. The food and general service was not good. They do not have enough staff. When you 'phone the hotel you are very lucky to get an answer as the person responsible is probably doing a number of other things. And make sure you have the right post code for the satnav - there are two. Not a 4 star experience I will not be returning! The wifi was good as was the view across Cardiff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel amazing views

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: na
Location: shops walkable
could not fault over all excellent staff helpful really comfortable